Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar potato-beer soup with shredded ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar potato-beer soup with shredded ham

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2003

      I have a bowl of this soup in front of me even as I type this review. This is really good (it must be...this is my second bowl of it). Thick like a chowder. The flavors all blend together. It's not the most beautiful soup I've ever seen but it makes up for that in the taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I have got to hand it to ya, just looking at the recipe I was unsure of what the end result was going to be, but WOW!!! I had my Mom and brothere over for dinner and we loved it!! I wouldnt change a thing. I have a hand held mixer "wand" and so I just blended it still in the pot. This will be a family favorite from now on. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This was good, but It had a weird texture. I made a mess with my food processor, so I would not do that again! It was good, but not really what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Great recipe that my family loved. I used a gluten free beer. Didn't blend the entire soup because I wanted it chunky. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This was very good - I used a good pinch of red pepper, and added just a bit of salt, as I used my own chicken broth with this. I added just a bit of broth towards the end, I am sure it all depends on how big your potatoes are. I used white cheddar cheese and this was a pretty apricot color. I also added a good spoonful of mascerpone that I happened to have, which added just a touch of creaminess.I think a little celery leaf might be a good addition. I opted not to add the ham, and garnished with some chopped scallion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

    • on April 27, 2010

      Good stuff! I maybe would add a few more potatoes next time, hopefully to make it a little thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a big hit with the kids and my dinner guest. I had to skip the carrots and onions because I didn't have time to go to the store. Also used bacon instead of ham. I put my favorite beer, Shiner Black in there...minus a drink...or two. The flavor held very well. Since the DH doesn't like my beer, he didn't like the soup, but the rest of us really enjoyed it. Only four stars because, no offense, but it didn't blow us away. I will be cooking it again, maybe with a beer more suited to DH's taste....and when he's away, my faithful Shiner Black! It's definitely going to be a staple recipe...for my guest as well, he stole my print-out! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Very good soup, with some adjustments as to what I had on hand. Doubled the recipe to make a pot of soup, suitable for leftovers. I didn't have any ham, so I cooked 4 pieces of bacon and added those at the end. I also wanted more protein so I added about 2 cups of shredded chicken. Just to sneak in more veggies I added 2 stalks of celery. I used 4 lg baking potatoes instead of redskins. I used one light and one dark beer (so good with Guinness). I used some Cajun spices and a seasoning salt for flavor. Cooked it for a bit longer and used my immersion blender. I used a 5 cheese blend so it was really smooth and not gritty at all. Very good soup without too much effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      YUM! Love this soup. Was out of carrots so made it without. I doubled the recipe so I could give some to the neighbors. As for the ingredients, I wish the amount of potatoes was more specific, as in lbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was so tasty! I used Grolsch for the beer. Cooked the vegetables for about 20 minutes rather than 12, because I wanted to be sure my hand-blender could handle them. Also garnished with bacon instead of ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Hey Jude, this is a great recipe! I did do things a bit differently, I used about 4 cups of chicken broth, added the chopped ham while it simmered away and I used my immersion blender to get it nice & thick. Once it was all blended together it was so thick I ommited the cheese and didn't even miss it! I love the beer in it, I really think it gives the soup depth. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I used leftover honey baked ham, and only pureed half of the recipe as we like chunky soup. This had pretty good flavor. I felt that something was missing just dont know what. Next time I may play with some spices. I added the ham into the soup as I felt it needed to be in the soup. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      SO hearty and good! I had some leftover ham from a honey baked ham to use up, so I give this a go. I subbed regular sliced carrots for the baby, white taters for the red, and used 2 cups of cheese and about 2 cups of ham. I followed other suggestions and pureed a little more than half of the ham with the soup. I used a food processor and just strained out about 2/3 of all the veggies and such and pureed, leaving behind some of the stuff for chunky teture, I dont like a fully creamy soup. I let it simmer for at least an hour on very low before mixing in the cheese and serving to really cook in the flavors. So great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Full of flavor soup! I mashed the carrots and potatoes instead of putting them in the blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I added about a cup of chopped ham before pureeing and another cup after and probably a little more cheese than recommended (2 handfuls). Great flavor - consistency & so very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Just a great soup, thanks! I'm not a huge carrot fan, so added mushrooms instead. Other than that, followed the recipe (used Stone Pale Ale) and it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      This was also posted in the St. Louis newspaper. I have made it several times and we love this one. My family prefers soup with "chunks" so I do not puree before adding the cheese. Also, my boyfriend is a vegetarian, so I leave out the ham. The soup is always delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      Hey Jude, thanks for a great recipe. Using German hefeweizen (wheat beer) I added a little celery, no ham, and used the potato masher to puree the soft vegies. Great hearty comfort soup. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      Definately a good hearty soup. I put 2 cups of cheese in and would probably add an extra 6 oz. of beer becasue it is really thick and I like the taste that the beer gives this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar potato-beer soup with shredded ham

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.7
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    41%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 60.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 818.7 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes