22 Reviews

I have a bowl of this soup in front of me even as I type this review. This is really good (it must be...this is my second bowl of it). Thick like a chowder. The flavors all blend together. It's not the most beautiful soup I've ever seen but it makes up for that in the taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TPubmgjbd December 27, 2003

I have got to hand it to ya, just looking at the recipe I was unsure of what the end result was going to be, but WOW!!! I had my Mom and brothere over for dinner and we loved it!! I wouldnt change a thing. I have a hand held mixer "wand" and so I just blended it still in the pot. This will be a family favorite from now on. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bri22 November 06, 2003

This was good, but It had a weird texture. I made a mess with my food processor, so I would not do that again! It was good, but not really what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover January 11, 2012

Great recipe that my family loved. I used a gluten free beer. Didn't blend the entire soup because I wanted it chunky. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmaiorana February 14, 2011

This was very good - I used a good pinch of red pepper, and added just a bit of salt, as I used my own chicken broth with this. I added just a bit of broth towards the end, I am sure it all depends on how big your potatoes are. I used white cheddar cheese and this was a pretty apricot color. I also added a good spoonful of mascerpone that I happened to have, which added just a touch of creaminess.I think a little celery leaf might be a good addition. I opted not to add the ham, and garnished with some chopped scallion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte February 13, 2011

Good stuff! I maybe would add a few more potatoes next time, hopefully to make it a little thicker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC April 27, 2010

This was a big hit with the kids and my dinner guest. I had to skip the carrots and onions because I didn't have time to go to the store. Also used bacon instead of ham. I put my favorite beer, Shiner Black in there...minus a drink...or two. The flavor held very well. Since the DH doesn't like my beer, he didn't like the soup, but the rest of us really enjoyed it. Only four stars because, no offense, but it didn't blow us away. I will be cooking it again, maybe with a beer more suited to DH's taste....and when he's away, my faithful Shiner Black! It's definitely going to be a staple recipe...for my guest as well, he stole my print-out! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salty817 December 25, 2009

Very good soup, with some adjustments as to what I had on hand. Doubled the recipe to make a pot of soup, suitable for leftovers. I didn't have any ham, so I cooked 4 pieces of bacon and added those at the end. I also wanted more protein so I added about 2 cups of shredded chicken. Just to sneak in more veggies I added 2 stalks of celery. I used 4 lg baking potatoes instead of redskins. I used one light and one dark beer (so good with Guinness). I used some Cajun spices and a seasoning salt for flavor. Cooked it for a bit longer and used my immersion blender. I used a 5 cheese blend so it was really smooth and not gritty at all. Very good soup without too much effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peejers October 28, 2009

YUM! Love this soup. Was out of carrots so made it without. I doubled the recipe so I could give some to the neighbors. As for the ingredients, I wish the amount of potatoes was more specific, as in lbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 October 04, 2009
Cheddar potato-beer soup with shredded ham