Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar-Herb Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar-Herb Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2012

      This bread is delish! I added only 1 tbsp of melted butter and didn't miss the rest and added chives instead of green onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      This bread was out of this world delicious. The combination of herbs is outstanding. The cheese makes them over the top tasty! They went so well with "Slow Cooker Beef Bourguignon" #484132. Made for ZWT 8/France for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This is delicious! All of the herbs we used were fresh except for the dill (we didn't have any fresh dill). We shredded the cheese rather than cubing it and I substituted 1/2 c. whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of the white flour. I also used 2 T butter and 2 T unsweetened applesauce instead of 1/4 c butter to reduce the number of calories. We used fat-free buttermilk and we also used Splenda instead of sugar. These changes reduced the calorie count by about 53 calories per slice and it is still GREAT! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I made this recipe as muffins to go along with stew, Yumm!. I added about 1/2 a tsp of soda with the baking powder simply because I always add soda when using buttermilk, for me it was the right step, the muffins came up with a beautiful light fluffy texture. Dill is less that my favorite herb so I added basil and a bit of garlic powder instead. Used finely shredded old cheddar. They baked for about 16-18 mins and came out perfect. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Mmmmm, what a great bread!!!! The herb flavour is so great, very intense and balanced perfectly by the addition of the cheese! I opted for the cubes and thought they made the bread especially nice as they melted into little cheese islands inside of the bread. I used all whole spelt flour due to dietary reasons and left out the sugar. But other than that stuck to your recipe and liked it very, very much. Half of the bread I topped with Katzen's Everything Topping Mix for Bread and Bagels and thought that was a fantastic addition. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, loof! Ill certainly make it again! Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Definitely a great soup bread! We shredded the cheese rather than leave in chunks based on previous reviews. Also, next time we would omit the allspice and nutmeg altogether, and go lighter on the dill. There are wonderful spices in this bread, but the dessert spices did not seem to go well in it. If we have any leftovers, I think this bread will make wonderful breadcrumbs for a poultry stuffing. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Loved this bread. I should have shredded the cheese but even with chunks it was still wonderful. My husband had FOUR pieces for dinner! A wonderful savory bread that went well with the soup I made tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      hello loof, we made this breaad after I found it in Country Home. However, I did take the prior reviewer's comments about shredding the cheese - we used a very sharp cheddar, fresh herbs & it was delicous. Took it to a friends' house and there it was finished in no time flat! It was a great tasting bread! Diane :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      My family didn't care for the chunks of cheese in the bread. We decided that if they were smaller pieces, or if they had melted a little, we would have liked it much more. I'll definately be making this again but will probably use shredded cheese instead of cubed. Other than the cheese issue, we loved it! The flavor is great and the house smelled great while it was baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is a good bread. All of the herbs and spices blended very nicely together. No taste stood out more than the rest.I followed the recipe but all my herbs and spices were dried. Made for Newest Tag 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar-Herb Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.9
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    41%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 312.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes