Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar Cornmeal Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Cornmeal Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      I honestly though these were abit dry, but the kids scarfed them down, which is all that matters as a mom to picky kids!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I think a tablespoon of baking powder is too much. Mine came out tasting soapy. Not sure if I would try these again but if I did I might halve the baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Loved these! Don't know why others thought they were dry, although I guess I didn't really measure the cheese and just kind of grated into the bowl until it looked like there was enough :) They're a beautiful compliment to the potato soup I made! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      These were fine, but a little too chewy for my taste. I guess I was looking for something lighter? I did find the ones without cheese sprinkled on top rose a little higher and were less greasy than the ones I topped with cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This turned out very well, especially using skim milk. The sides were nice and crunchy and the top a golden, cheesy brown. Honey and butter are the perfect topper to this muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made these to go with Kartoffelsuppe (Potato Soup) Kartoffelsuppe (Potato Soup). The cornmeal texture made it a welcome accompaniment to the soup. I will make these again and try to add a little more zing, maybe upping the amount of cayenne as per Soldier Girl's suggestion and/or adding garlic powder as Chef #62829 did. Thanks, T-Reed, for this addition to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Fabulous! The only thing I had changed was to add a table spoon of garlic powder to the mix. Came out like Red Lobster biscuts and everyone went crazy over them. Definately keeping this recipie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I made these muffins to accompany ham and beans and they were fantastic! Very moist and tasty. Thank you for such an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      I made these as a side with a Mexican-style rice and bean dish. It's not often the main meal gets overshadowed by the side-dish, but these muffins were moist, cheesy and delicious. I intend to add more cayenne, though... I added about 1/4 tsp the first time but couldn't taste it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      These were perfect to pair with a big pot of soup on a cold night. The whole family decided we all like these better than traditional cheese muffins because the cornmeal gives it such a nice texture and fullness. I was a bit short on milk so subbed a bit of sour cream for about 1/3 cup; made for a very moist muffin. These are definitely going into our regular menu rotation ~ thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      I served these muffins with Easy Red Beans and Rice with Sausage Easy Red Beans & Rice With Sausage for a very easy, delicious meal. The muffins were perfect with the spicy rice. This meal was given the highest ratings by the whole family. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2003

      Easy to make. Adults liked it better than kids (they like a sweeter muffin). I might add a little sugar and reduce the salt next time. Otherwise, pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This doesn't take 20 minutes to put together - at least not for me! Of course, because my husband is lactose intolerant I left out the cheese so that cuts down on time. I substituted lactose free milk for regular milk and they turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Cornmeal Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (758 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.6
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    47%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 81.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 625.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites