13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes - this is a fabulous soup, and I was thrilled to find it already uploaded. I first came across this recipe in The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. Best corn chowder ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 November 16, 2013

Very much enjoyed by all, I felt that maybe there was a bit too much corn, but my daughter thought that was the best bit :D Husband had seconds, so obviously really enjoyed it!I Halved the recipe and still had plenty. I didn't add extra salt, and was sparing with the stock cubes. Served with garlic/sweet chilli bread, all in all a very good dinner, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth March 07, 2011

I halved the ingredients, and followed everything stated, except I omitted ollive oil and butter. The bacon fat smells very good. This chowder is yellowish because of the ground turmeric. If you would rather have the traditional white one, feel free to omit it. I used frozen white corn that tends to be sweeter. Also added some salmon in it. Great soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich December 22, 2009

This was my first chowder/soup ever. It was a lot more work than I anticipated but it was worth it. It turned out great. I really liked the not too thick, not too thin consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SNagel August 09, 2009

Excellent corn chowder! I omitted the tumeric but followed the rest of the recipe. Served it with corn muffins, everybody loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 April 01, 2009

Excellent soup. Made this today with frozen white corn that I put up this past summer. I really like this and the bacon on top is a must. Thanks for a great new soup recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim January 24, 2009

Please add the 5 stars!!!! Thanks. I have been making this corn chowder for many years now. I was searching recipezaar to see if I could find a different variation. It was great to see this recipe here. This is the one that I made. There simply is no better recipe. My entire family enjoys this soup. And its been requested often. Fresh corn is simply the best way to go when it is available. Great leftovers!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mulhall July 12, 2008

The receipe was very good tasting. I found that it was a bit too soupy. I would reduce the amount of water used for more of a chowder result. This is definately one for a big family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheerkerry September 04, 2005

This is just awesome. Had son and daughter-in-law over. They loved it also. Very easy to make; and the best tasting corn chowder I've ever eaten. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misspris923 March 10, 2005

This was tasty and filling - simply delicious. I too used the low-sodium chicken broth, didn't add the salt and, because of the bacon being salty, the soup didn't suffer one bit. Frozen corn worked very well, too. The recipe cut in half perfectly. Not only is it delicious but beautiful to look at!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine October 05, 2004
Cheddar Corn Chowder