Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2013

      Yes - this is a fabulous soup, and I was thrilled to find it already uploaded. I first came across this recipe in The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. Best corn chowder ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Very much enjoyed by all, I felt that maybe there was a bit too much corn, but my daughter thought that was the best bit :D Husband had seconds, so obviously really enjoyed it!I Halved the recipe and still had plenty. I didn't add extra salt, and was sparing with the stock cubes. Served with garlic/sweet chilli bread, all in all a very good dinner, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I halved the ingredients, and followed everything stated, except I omitted ollive oil and butter. The bacon fat smells very good. This chowder is yellowish because of the ground turmeric. If you would rather have the traditional white one, feel free to omit it. I used frozen white corn that tends to be sweeter. Also added some salmon in it. Great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      This was my first chowder/soup ever. It was a lot more work than I anticipated but it was worth it. It turned out great. I really liked the not too thick, not too thin consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Excellent corn chowder! I omitted the tumeric but followed the rest of the recipe. Served it with corn muffins, everybody loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Excellent soup. Made this today with frozen white corn that I put up this past summer. I really like this and the bacon on top is a must. Thanks for a great new soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Please add the 5 stars!!!! Thanks. I have been making this corn chowder for many years now. I was searching recipezaar to see if I could find a different variation. It was great to see this recipe here. This is the one that I made. There simply is no better recipe. My entire family enjoys this soup. And its been requested often. Fresh corn is simply the best way to go when it is available. Great leftovers!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      The receipe was very good tasting. I found that it was a bit too soupy. I would reduce the amount of water used for more of a chowder result. This is definately one for a big family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      This is just awesome. Had son and daughter-in-law over. They loved it also. Very easy to make; and the best tasting corn chowder I've ever eaten. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      This was tasty and filling - simply delicious. I too used the low-sodium chicken broth, didn't add the salt and, because of the bacon being salty, the soup didn't suffer one bit. Frozen corn worked very well, too. The recipe cut in half perfectly. Not only is it delicious but beautiful to look at!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      Fantastic! Made this for a pot luck at the office, not a bite left! Definitely a recipe that I will continue to made. Family loved it too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      a wonderful filling soup that we all loved. it was a bit time-consuming but worth it. i cut the bacon into little strips directly into the pan, but did not use the olive oil. the turmeric added a beautiful color. i used regular canned chix broth. i peeled the potatos (which took a long time to cook). i used fresh corn but didn't blanch it, just added the cut corn to the soup awhile before serving it. i didn't add any salt at all. this will be cooked again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      Excellent recipe that everyone loved! I used low sodium, canned chicken broth rather than bouillon cubes and water because of dietary restrictions in my family. I'm glad I did, because I added a little leftover ham, too, and it was plenty salty. Next time, I'll still add some ham but also cut back on some of the added salt. I didn't have enough fresh corn, so I added some frozen, and that didn't hurt the recipe at all. Excellent flavor; and a nice, thick chowder -- just the way we like it. This one is definitely a keeper for a cold, winter day. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (558 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 683.5
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    60%
    Total Fat 45.6 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 19.2 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 84.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1515.5 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes