8 Reviews

I thought it was pretty tasty. My 3 year old loved it. I only used 1 cup of dry rice and 1 3/4 cups broth. I simmered for 20 minutes after it started boiling. I did not add tomatoes since I didn't have any on hand. I will be more careful with how much salt I use next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesa28 April 04, 2014

This was tasty, however I thought it smelled a lot better while it was cooking than it tasted. I think I too would marinate the chicken. I also used 1 cup rice and 2 cups broth. I added the broccoli when the rice was almost done cooking. I cooked the rice for 20 minutes. I realized I didn't have any cheddar cheese so I used mozzarella.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW August 24, 2009

The flavor of this dish is outstanding but I had to modify the directions in order for it to be edible. I realized that it was impossible to use uncooked rice and have it cooked completely in 10 minutes, plus the amount of liquid to rice was way out of whack so cut the rice to one cup and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups and increased the cooking time to 25 minutes and it was great. This was using white rice. If I had been using brown would have had to increase cooking time to 45 minutes. All in all this is a great and easy recipe to prepare and it will tolerate other veggies as I was out of broccoli so ended up using peas and carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 August 12, 2009

I wish I had read the suggestion from the other reviews before I made this, but I was in a hurry and didn't have the time. I used all two cups of rice and it was way too much. I think 1 cup would have worked out great. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth, and didn't have any more. This wasn't near enough liquid. To make up for that, I used water and Knorr Caldo de Tamate bullion (maybe 2 or 3 TBS?) I lost track of how much water I had to add, but I think it was about 3 or 4 cups. I did't have any tomatos but the bullion gave it a bit of tomato flavor. I added a bit of worsteshire sauce to the italian dressing and added onions with the chicked. I also used a frozen mixture of season broccoli and carrots. When I make this again, I will cut back on the rice and probably still add some water and Caldo de Tomate. I live at a high altitute and think I need a little extra liquid. With all that extra rice, it took 45 minutes to an hour to cook. Because I had to keep taking off the lid and stiring in more water, my rice ended up a little mushy, but the flavor was great! Recipe just needs a couple of tweaks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ash&AvesMomy October 29, 2008

Yum! My husband gobbles this up! It has lots of flavor. I give it just 4 stars because I don't think everything is quite accurate- I used 1 cup rice instead of 2, but with a little more than the listed amount of broth. Turned out perfectly, after cooking for 20 minutes. Thanks for sharing a different one-dish meal! For my personal tastes, next time I will try marinating the chicken in dressing beforehand for extra flavor. And I will leave out the tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 23, 2008

This was good. I used brown rice, so I only used a cup of rice with 2 cups of broth. (Still plenty for the two of us for dinner and lunch!) Also, had to cook for 45 minutes to finish the rice. Next time I will add more cheese because I am a cheese freak. Overall, a very easy, delicious dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbera007 October 22, 2008

This was easy and had good flavor. I used a balsamic Italian dressing and Italian-style diced tomatoes. My rice was cooked beforehand so I didn't use as much chicken stock. I also added a splash of white wine and some extra herbs and crushed red pepper. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 02, 2008

Husband loved it! I found that I needed to cokk it covered for 10-15 mins at 5 the rice was still hard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ec3642 October 01, 2008
Cheddar Chicken and Rice Skillet