Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar Cheese Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Cheese Scones

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      Irmgard, I must say you know your scones! These beauties are soooo yummy with a nice sweet savoury taste! The preparation was super easy and quick. The scones baked up beautifully in the stated time and made for a great breakkie! The only thing I did differently was to use spelt flour and a little less butter and milk than called for. I liked the play of salty and sweet, but if I was looking for a really hearty breakkie Id reduce the sugar by half to make the cheese come through even more. I made half the recipe ending up with 6 nice medium sized scones and 1 small. They were devoured! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us! Made and reviewed for Farm Cooking with Andi of Longmeadow Farm An Event in The Photo Forum May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Easy recipe! Took to a friends house to enjoy with soup - perfect accompaniment. Everyone enjoyed them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Followed your recipe right on down & even included the full measure of cayenne pepper, which I don't usually do, & these are definitely great tasting scones ~ Loved the sharp cheddar & the buttermilk! Thanks for this great keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      The flavor on these really is good with a nice balance of cheese. I added some garlic and it gave them a little extra oomph. The only issue I had with them was that it took closer to 3 full cups of flour to get it to kneading stage, but I always assume there's some leeway with recipes like this (depending on humidity, etc). Filled 16 mini-scones in a pan perfectly; I baked them at 400* for 20-25 min. Gorgeous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      YUMMY! I tripled the recipe and it turned out just fine. I also added chunks of garlic to these. Since it's Christmas time, instead of plain round cutters, I used snowmen, gingerbread men, and stocking cutters. They turned out cute and perfect for the party I was attending. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Wow, these were easy and yummy! I made them to go with beef stew, and it went well! I accidently added the egg instead of just brushing the scones with it, and it turned out great. Thank you for the great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      These scones are fantastic!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Great recipe! I added fresh chives to the mix, cut them into heart shapes, and baked them for about 15min. I can't stop eating them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      These scones deliver! Easy to put together. I cut mine into trianges after patting out. Skipped the egg wash and was delighted how sucessful these scones are. I will enjoy these over the next few days on my coffee break. Thanks Irmgard!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      I added green chile and a little prosciutto. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      These are really good - thanks for the recipe. If you're looking for diet scones these scones are not for you. Delicious - for a twist I crumbled a bit of blue cheese in with the cheddar cheese -turned out tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      I will make these again. They turned out terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Cheese Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (844 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.9
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    48%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 378.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites