14 Reviews

Irmgard, I must say you know your scones! These beauties are soooo yummy with a nice sweet savoury taste! The preparation was super easy and quick. The scones baked up beautifully in the stated time and made for a great breakkie! The only thing I did differently was to use spelt flour and a little less butter and milk than called for. I liked the play of salty and sweet, but if I was looking for a really hearty breakkie Id reduce the sugar by half to make the cheese come through even more. I made half the recipe ending up with 6 nice medium sized scones and 1 small. They were devoured! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us! Made and reviewed for Farm Cooking with Andi of Longmeadow Farm An Event in The Photo Forum May 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 01, 2010

These scones deliver! Easy to put together. I cut mine into trianges after patting out. Skipped the egg wash and was delighted how sucessful these scones are. I will enjoy these over the next few days on my coffee break. Thanks Irmgard!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FunkiMonki January 02, 2006

Easy recipe! Took to a friends house to enjoy with soup - perfect accompaniment. Everyone enjoyed them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug November 05, 2010

Followed your recipe right on down & even included the full measure of cayenne pepper, which I don't usually do, & these are definitely great tasting scones ~ Loved the sharp cheddar & the buttermilk! Thanks for this great keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 13, 2010

The flavor on these really is good with a nice balance of cheese. I added some garlic and it gave them a little extra oomph. The only issue I had with them was that it took closer to 3 full cups of flour to get it to kneading stage, but I always assume there's some leeway with recipes like this (depending on humidity, etc). Filled 16 mini-scones in a pan perfectly; I baked them at 400* for 20-25 min. Gorgeous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki December 28, 2009

YUMMY! I tripled the recipe and it turned out just fine. I also added chunks of garlic to these. Since it's Christmas time, instead of plain round cutters, I used snowmen, gingerbread men, and stocking cutters. They turned out cute and perfect for the party I was attending. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealRacMT December 18, 2009

Wow, these were easy and yummy! I made them to go with beef stew, and it went well! I accidently added the egg instead of just brushing the scones with it, and it turned out great. Thank you for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeeMaya January 27, 2009

These scones are fantastic!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilidog1 December 23, 2008

Great recipe! I added fresh chives to the mix, cut them into heart shapes, and baked them for about 15min. I can't stop eating them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dutcheke May 12, 2008

These were awesome! I did reduce the sugar to 1 tablespoon & made a nine inch round of the dough which I cut into eight pieces. My family really loved them & it was a very easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quill123 July 14, 2016
Cheddar Cheese Scones