16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our dinner last night to serve with steamed broccoli. It was fantastic! It is almost identical to the way I normally make cheese sauce, but I never thought to put egg yolks into it. I think that is what made it so velvety. I shall do that from now on when I make cheese sauce. Thank you for posting your recipe. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 May 09, 2013

Worked great! I used it as the cheese sauce for homemade tuna helper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* February 24, 2012

What a great recipe!!! Very versitile. We used this sauce to top chimichangas. It was excellent. I left out the nutmeg and I added a can of rotel. I cooked it just a little thicker so that I could add the juice from the can of rotel and it still be the right consistency. My husband used the leftover sauce like queso dip. He said it was much better than a velvetta based recipe. It has to be better for you than the processed velvetta! It reheated very well in the microwave. I just reheated it slowly, in 30 second intervals and stirred it in between.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daynarw June 27, 2011

I was looking for a sauce to put on broccoli; this was perfect. I substituted the egg white for about 2 tablespoons of sour cream (added a nice zing) and I used whole milk. Very easy and smooth, but only if you whisk pretty much non-stop!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAMNANNY September 08, 2010

I have tried so many cheese sauces and this is by far the best that I've found! I did try using whole milk to make it thin enough for macaroni and it was wonderful! Thank you so much for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonnata March 04, 2010

I made this for my broccoli while my DD enjoyed it with Frito's. Super easy and yummy. Thanks for sharing KITTENCAL!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel January 28, 2010

This was great along with some corned beef and vegetables. Nice flavor and a good smooth consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J January 17, 2010

This was a good way for my children to eat their green veggies. It was so good and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkrihel April 06, 2009

Delicious and EASY! I added a dash of worcestershire sauce (as suggested in one of the other reviews) and a dash of ketchup. I needed a cheese sauce recipe last minute, and this was perfect for an oven-roasted potato/cauliflower/broccoli mix! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrah March 04, 2009

YUMMY! I used whole milk in place of the half-and-half and it worked fine. My family and I enjoyed this sauce on baked potatoes. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoJoStar November 04, 2008
Cheddar Cheese Sauce