Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2013

      I made this for our dinner last night to serve with steamed broccoli. It was fantastic! It is almost identical to the way I normally make cheese sauce, but I never thought to put egg yolks into it. I think that is what made it so velvety. I shall do that from now on when I make cheese sauce. Thank you for posting your recipe. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Worked great! I used it as the cheese sauce for homemade tuna helper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      What a great recipe!!! Very versitile. We used this sauce to top chimichangas. It was excellent. I left out the nutmeg and I added a can of rotel. I cooked it just a little thicker so that I could add the juice from the can of rotel and it still be the right consistency. My husband used the leftover sauce like queso dip. He said it was much better than a velvetta based recipe. It has to be better for you than the processed velvetta! It reheated very well in the microwave. I just reheated it slowly, in 30 second intervals and stirred it in between.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I was looking for a sauce to put on broccoli; this was perfect. I substituted the egg white for about 2 tablespoons of sour cream (added a nice zing) and I used whole milk. Very easy and smooth, but only if you whisk pretty much non-stop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I have tried so many cheese sauces and this is by far the best that I've found! I did try using whole milk to make it thin enough for macaroni and it was wonderful! Thank you so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I made this for my broccoli while my DD enjoyed it with Frito's. Super easy and yummy. Thanks for sharing KITTENCAL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was great along with some corned beef and vegetables. Nice flavor and a good smooth consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      This was a good way for my children to eat their green veggies. It was so good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Delicious and EASY! I added a dash of worcestershire sauce (as suggested in one of the other reviews) and a dash of ketchup. I needed a cheese sauce recipe last minute, and this was perfect for an oven-roasted potato/cauliflower/broccoli mix! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      YUMMY! I used whole milk in place of the half-and-half and it worked fine. My family and I enjoyed this sauce on baked potatoes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was great, even without the pepper and nutmeg (which I didn't have at hand). I halved it and added a few dashes of worchestershire sauce, and it was deeeelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Excellent cheese sauce recipe!!! it made a wonderful compliment to the bacon crepes filled with scrambled eggs...thank you so much for sharing! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Great cheese sauce recipe. I seriously do not like Velvetta cheese anything. And brought broccoli today and came home and wanted cheesey broccoli. So I came to the fool proof recipe zaar,, and wah lah. I had everything in my pantry, perfect cheese sauce. Will be making this for all sorts of dips, soups, veggies, lol anything. Ty so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This was easy and quick o put together! I made it along with a baked potato and a porterhouse steak for my hubby and he DROWNED both in this sauce, I halfed the recipe and not a drop left! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Extremely easy and extremely tasty. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Great cheese sauce! Poured over some broccoli to get my family to eat something green! This did the trick! Thanks kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (793 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 544.4
     
    Calories from Fat 416
    76%
    Total Fat 46.3 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 28.5 g
    142%
    Cholesterol 231.2 mg
    77%
    Sodium 1184.3 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites