14 Reviews

This is very, very good. I cooked the balsamic vinegar on the onions down until it was reduced and syrupy, and added more chipotle and adobo, and didn't have tomatoes or spinach, but it was still excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Well-Aged Cooky April 25, 2014

this was soooo good.I made it after an awful nigth of of food i hated, including one of mine lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba September 02, 2009

I made these several months ago when I read the recipe in Bon Apetit -- delicious! I haven't made them again, but now the recipe is saved in my cookbook, so it looks like I'm havin' them again really soon! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Spice Guru May 19, 2009

I love a good burger, and this is a good burger. The chipotle ketchup was a great accent to the burgers. I made as posted except I added southern seasoning to the meat before grilling. I also used hamburger buns instead of English muffins. Thanks for a great burger recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 21, 2009

This is a great burger recipe! The grilled balsamic onions and the special chipotle ketchup help to put this burger "over-the-top". The ketchup has just enough spice and complements the burger very nicely. I LOVE the grilled onions. I didn't add all of the balsamic to the onions (I probably added about 1 T.) because I thought the onions were delicious even before adding the balsamic. I opted for whole wheat hamburger buns. I used my grill pan indoors because it's still winter. I can't wait to grill these burgers outside! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 18, 2009

We love a good burger, and this is one of the best we have ever eaten. Didn't change a thing. The onions and chipotle ketchup yield a wonderful blend of flavors. This was cooked on the stove top because of the cold weather. Can't wait to try it on the grill. Thanks for the great burger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids January 04, 2009

Made these burgers last night for dinner and loved the combination of the balsamic onions and the chipotle ketchup! I, too, like appleydapply, cooked the onions and burgers in my stovetop grill pan, owing to weather, and they came out wonderful. I am eagerly anticipating trying these on the BBQ. I halved the recipe with no problems, used hamburger buns (vs english muffins) and forgot the tomatoes and spinach (both of which I had on hand) because I was so eager to sit down and eat. We served the dish with home-made french fries, and like Kim 127, dipped our fries in the chipotle ketchup. This recipe is a keeper and one that I will make many times again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny December 19, 2008

This was a great burger. My husband called it a "Gourmet version of In-n-Out's Animal Style" burger! We have been having a major wind & rain storm for the last few days, so I cooked the onions & burgers on the stovetop griddle which worked fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply December 18, 2008

This is a first!!! DH said to rate it "25" stars. We just loved the flavor of this dish. I cooked the onions and the burger on the George Foreman Grill. The buns were toasted in the toaster oven, and the cheese was placed on top for the final melt down. I used frozen sirloin burgers. Excellent! I did use a very expensive balsamic vinegar. I also used baby spinach leaves. This is going in my "top 20 for 2008" cookbook. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas December 02, 2008
Cheddar Burgers With Balsamic Onions and Chipotle Ketchup