13 Reviews

This bread was so good. I took it to a friends house for "soup nite" and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as written and didn't have a problem at all with the butter running over as others have stated in their reviews. I didn't have any self rising flour so I made my own using the 3c. of flour, 4 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 3/4 tsp. salt. Turned out great, it was so easy to assemble. Will be making this again real soon. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking in Wis. December 19, 2007

This was super quick and easy to make. While it was tasty, the cheese flavor was very mild. Next time I will try adding a little extra cheese. Also, I did cut down the butter by half as suggested by other reviewers and it was still plenty. Both my DH and I thought that it could use a little salt thrown in before baking, but otherwise were quite happy with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook July 30, 2009

This was a nice change form the regular beer bread I make. Per other reviewers, I cut back on the butter when baking it, but added it to the warm sliced pieces as I ate it. Wonderful yeasty flavor and great with the chili I made to go with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes May 08, 2008

Tastes great and has a nice crisp crust. A yummy bread with dinner or a nice bowl of soup. I also had a problem with the butter. Even though my loaf pan is larger than 9x5, the butter ran over the sides and into the oven. I'll just brush with melted butter after baking next time. Other cheese like Jack would be delicious here as well. A nice change from plain beer bread. Thanks, Marsha, for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 01, 2005

Way too much melted butter, ran all over my oven-----but--------the bread turned out really good(after the smoke died down and I got the battery out of the smoke detector!!!!). Next time, and there will definitely be a next time, I'm gonna cut the melted butter in half. This was great warm out of the oven with soup and yummy toasted the next morning with eggs and bacon. Other than the fact that I had to clean the oven(probably needed it anyway), it was a great bread and I will be making again. Perhaps some pepper-jack cheese would be a nice change.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 February 15, 2005

This didn't get done in the middle even though I went to the 1hr for baking. Had to throw it away

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxie52 October 10, 2012

Very easy bread!! It could have used more cheese, and I cut the butter back to 4 Tbs and it STILL dripped in my oven - but I love the flavor it gave to the crust! I used Natty Light beer instead of Budweiser. Good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afredorap April 24, 2010

This bread had a great blend of flavors. I made a trough down the center top of the bread before baking to help keep the butter from spilling over which worked wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT April 27, 2008

This was my first attempt at bread. This was very simple. I didn't have any chilies so I used 2tbsp of horseradish sauce which still gave the bread a little kick. The bread was very moist. After looking at the other reviews I did reduce the margerine slightly and put the loaf pan on a cookie sheet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy-to-2 July 09, 2007
Cheddar and Chile Beer Bread