Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat's French Cassoulet - Crock Pot or Le Creuset Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat's French Cassoulet - Crock Pot or Le Creuset

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2011

      I have heart disease so converted this to a heart healthy recipe. I used turkey bacon (had to use a little extra olive oil), turkey sausage and boned skinless chicken thighs. I cooked my own beans (tinned are high in sodium) and used extra garlic (not only good for the heart but delicious!). Served this up with a fabulous salad and some crusty whole grain bread! We didn't feel like we were missing anything, this dinner felt like a "cheat nite".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This cassoulet was superb. I did do a few things differently. I had no bouquet garni so I use 1 tsp thyme, 1 tsp parsley and a bayleaf which worked out perfectly. After I was done browning the pork chops I deglazed the pan with the red wine mixture before putting it in the crock pot. Also, I used a tin of cherry tomatoes in place of the plain tomato. I used white kidney beans for the bean. The bread crumbs on top got mixed in during cooking in the crock pot, so I couldn't brown the top but it didn't seem to matterb because it was still delicious. Served it with mashed potatoes and "carmelized butternut squash" from this website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Fantastic! I did a lot of research before undertaking Cassoulet, and in the end I decided to base it on your recipe. The only thing I varied was the type of meat - I used a large ham hock, two duck breasts (browned in a pan beforehand to remove fat), some diced ham, and a chorizo sausage. I served it with sautéed savoy cabbage and a fresh homemade baguette. It was fattening, but soooo good! Thanks for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      It was my first time making cassoulet and this recipe made it easy. I used a 2-qt dutch oven and, hot Italian sausages, and chicken thighs. The recipe calls for about 1 lb of sausages, but I used three sausages instead (about 10oz) and about three chicken thighs (about 12oz) and it was plenty of meat. I cut the carrots in diagonal slices for nicer presentation. I also added quartered mushrooms, which I sauteed separately and added to the pot This recipe definitely tasted good (what wouldn't with all that meat, red wine, and herbs?), but I only wish it looked more appealing in color. It was all very brown and even the breadcrumbs were a dark brown, not a golden crust like I imagined. I made fresh bread crumbs by cutting 1-in cubes of a big loaf (including crust) and mixing with olive oil combined with dried herbs (oregano, thyme, rosemary, and/or basil). Then bake flat on a sheet at 400 degrees for about 10 mins or until crispy then smashing with a rolling pin in a ziploc bag with no air. I served the cassoulet with the rest of the bread from the loaf I used for breadcrumbs, as well as mashed garlic red potatoes. This recipe is worth the wait for it to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Delicious and worthy of presentation at a dinner party!! I used pork this time, but will try it with chicken or duck next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Delicious! A must try recipe. I used meaty fresh Polish sausage (what I had available), a can of great northern beans, canned diced tomatoes (due to the season), and used all other ingredients listed. I didn't make a bouquet garni, but added fresh thyme, parsley, bay leaf, and freshly ground pepper. It was the perfect seasoning. I made it in the oven. The breadcrumbs thickened the broth a bit. I just served with bread, but want to try it again with mashed potatoes. Can't wait to taste the leftovers tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I've used other recipes for Cassoulet before but I like this one for it's simplicity. However, I simply cannot use a recipe without playing around with it. I'd like to suggest the following variations, with all due respect to the author, of course. Finely diced Chorizo to replace the bacon. The addition of a finely sliced stick of celery. Herbes de Provence and a handful of torn flat leaved parsley instead of bouquet garnis. An extra squeeze of tomato puree. A handful of cocktail pickled silverskin onions. Demerara sugar. I used English pork and herb sausages, prefried and quartered and pork loin chops cut into three or four pieces. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This was part of our Menu #31774. I made 1/2 the which easily serves 4-6. I used turkey bacon, because that is what I had. I suggest go for the real thing. My DH heard what I was making and wasn`t enthusiastic about it! But I did put in his favorite Hot Italian sausage and he was very very happy! :) Slicing it before I browned it, to remove excess fat. I used chicken wishing I had duck, it wouldn`t have been out of this world with it! cannellini beans and fava beans was my choice. One of my last garden tomatoes went into this so deserving dish! Roasted turkey stock was used. I didn`t weight the crumbs just place a liberal layer on top. I wished I added more to thicken the sauce more. I must say this is no less then 5 stars. I We loved it! Made me wish for France! Loved the flexibility of this recipe. Karen you did great! Merci beaucoup mon ami français!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I made this using chicken thighs, italian sausage and tomato juice instead of chopped tomatoes. I skipped the breadcrumbs (okay I forgot the breadcrumbs), and passed on the potatoes and noodles, but did serve homemade artisan bread instead. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Well, first of all, let me tell you about the wonderful aroma in the kitchen while this was cooking. My poor husband kept coming in to ask if it was ready yet. I cooked the cassoulet in a 5 qt. Le Creuset pan in the oven and it only took 3 hours. I used some spicy, polish sausage,lean pork chops and canned cannolini beans. Your recipe was followed exactly and I wouldn't change a thing. I served this dish with a side of garlic smashed potatoes, sliced tomatoes and crusty, hard bread. Being only the two of us now, we have enough left over for tomorrow's lunch. Many thanks for a wonderful recipe and a definite keeper in this house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I substituted chicken for the pork and it turned out wonderful!
      I didn't add as much wine as called for (personal preference) , but the taste was still excellent. It may not be "traditional", but in today's life, you take the shortcuts where you can! I don't think it affected the flavor using said shortcuts.
      My grandsons loved it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This recipe sounds wonderful and easy! Will try it soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Oooh, we adored this, FT! I made in my crock pot w/ the following changes...my sausages were andouille for an extra kick and instead of pork chops, I used chicken legs. Sadly I didn't have confit de canard, but I really want to try it without the fancy ingredients and it was hearty, comforting and perfect for a Sunday dinner. I also added a few ribs of celery and an extra can of beans. After 6 hours, I stuck my crock pot insert into the oven like you suggest and did a panko, parmesan and parsley topping and let it get crusty for 30 minutes. Merci infiniment, FT, it was truly divine and will make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I made this last night with all the trimmings, mashed potatoes and your stir-fried cabbage. I made this in the oven with dried beans that I soaked over night. I didn't think to add more liquid to the recipe so the beans were a little dry, but still delicious. I used turkey sausage and chicken breast because I'm not really into pork that much. I did use the bacon for that smokey flavor. Next time I'll use canned beans and the crock pot method. My two-year old loved this. This is a wonderful recipe and the whole house had such a wonderful aroma. It's also nice because we have leftovers for tonight! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This was yummy! I used canned beans and tomatoes, italian sausage and duck breast. The smell as it cooked was heavenly, and my mouth was watering long before dinner was ready. I found that the dish had too much liquid in it, but I think that was operator error, rather than a flaw in the recipe. Next time I will drain the tomatoes if I have to use canned, and maybe use less broth, depending on how liquidy it looks before going into the oven. A wonderful recipe overall, and one I will enjoy playing with when winter weather comes back around! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I enjoyed this after coming home from a long day at work and still having a full evening of activities ahead of me. I liked the smoky flavor that the bacon gave and I liked that the bread crumbs thickened up the sauce. In the interest of calorie savings I used turkey polish sausage and seemed to do the trick just fine. This a good crock pot option!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I made this today to serve tomorrow. I baked in the oven on convection 300 for 3 hours. I used two large boneless chicken breasts, powdered chicken broth, and one slice of ready cooked bacon, using up odds and ends. This turned out wonderfully (I sampled!) and looks just like QueenDreagon's photo. I was impressed with the dark rich sauce. I am still deciding what to serve it over, as it looks like it would be equally good on noodles, rice, or mashed potatoes! Thanks French Tart, for posting! Update: I served it over mashed potatoes and it was excellent! Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      I made this on Saturday. Totally delicious, I used rosemary 'cause my plant needed pruning, and thyme, & sage, as well as parsley. Scrumtaculous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I recently made this dish and really enjoyed it! I also used Italian Sausage. My DH, which is not always excited about new dishes, commented: "Wow, you could sell this!" ... so it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat's French Cassoulet - Crock Pot or Le Creuset

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.6
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    57%
    Total Fat 35.4 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 84.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1002.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 23.0 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lardons

    lean pork chops

    beans

    bouquet garni

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites