Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheating Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheating Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2001

      Cheating? Who cares!!...it tastes good...lol Didnt use the flour asked for, and it still tasted yum =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      This was really good Bergy! I have to admit, I added a lot of cheese on top, so it became Scalloped/Au Gratin! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      This was a very easy dish to make. Even my kids enjoyed it, and they are fussy eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      These are a winner! So easy to make! I added grated cheddar cheese in with each layer. Such a tasty potato dish! Thank you for sharing! I am going to make them again and again since they are a snap to make. I used a mandolin on the potatoes and onions, make quick work of it! Thanks Bergy! Great recipe as usual!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I've made this recipe several times since I first tried this on March 3th, 2006. And I have to tell you this, it still as good and easy as it was then.And as I said then " Scalloped Potato Puritans Be Darned !!! " :)Thanks again for such a great recipe, and " Keep Smiling : ) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      My husband's favorite, just like his Mom makes!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Just like mom used to make. I think the flour should be mixed into the soup or something because there was some dry flour on top that looked unappetizing. I added leftover ham and topped with slices of Havarti cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I thought this was just ok. I did make a few changes though so take that into consideration when you read this review. I used cream of celery because that is all I had, I left out the butter but added broccoli. I seasoned this with seasoning salt and pepper. I would have like to add ham but just didn't have it - I do think it would have been better with it as this alone was fairly bland - that may have been due to the soup change though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly as directed (added cheese on top too) and it tasted so good even two days later (even better). I ate them with Dijon Breaded Chicken Breasts and it was really good. Next time I will try with pork chops. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      This was a great way of making scalloped potatoes. My mom always made them with onion powder, bacon and WAY too much flour! I always thought I hated scalloped potatoes! Then, I tried these and they were delicious! Thanks for sharing - and who cares if it's "cheating" as long as it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Another winner Bergy. I made this the night before and stored in the fridge. Just pulled it out and cooked it up the next day as part of small brunch. Worked very well. I like preparing dishes the day before. Leaves time for visiting and cocktails!!! Thanks Bergs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      All things considered, quite tasty. Changed servings from 10 to 5, used Cream of Celery soup. Next time, will try to pump up the flavor by utilizing some herbs, cheese, or whatever strikes my fancy..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Lovely potatoes! I didn't put in onions because my husband hates them. I added 2 cloves of garlic and they got rave reviews from my family. They said I should have put some cheese in between the layers...maybe next time. There will definitely be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I was skeptical because I hate cream of mushroom soup. I added parmesan cheese on the layers and shredded mozzaralla on top. It was pretty good. My husband and kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Ah-mayyyyzing! I made these this last Sunday for a church potluck; I actually had no other ingredients in the house to make anything else! But as it turns out these are pretty much the best potatoes I've ever made. I didn't get to taste near enough of them at the church function, so I am making them again tonight for supper. BTW using a food processor to slice the potatoes (and onion, actually!) super thin works wonderfully well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I made this for afunction and had to adjust for 40 serrvings. I used pans twice the 9x13 size, made only 2 layers, added shredded cheese to each layer and threw on breadcrumbs with the cheese topping. I used 'pats' on butter on each layer and must have guessed right because there is another function coming up and have been asked to make 'those wonderful potatoes' again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      These turned out great. We will be making these again. We used 7 medium potatoes, 1/2 a small onion, cheddar cheese, fresh mushrooms, along with everything else listed. Great recipe!!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      These turned out very well. It was an easy side that took no time at all to prepare. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This turned out really good. I will use this as my base scalloped potatoes recipe from now on. Used low fat cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. Added some chili powder, garlic powder and parsley to the soup mix for extra flavor. Added some parmesan cheese to the cheese topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I come from a pretty big Mormon family and we do pot lucks for everything! I was wanting to try something different, so I made this and got many raves on it. Plus I didn't even get to try it because it was gone in seconds. I'll have to make it again so I can have some =) Thank you, great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheating Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.3
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    41%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 17.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 273.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites