54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Cheating? Who cares!!...it tastes good...lol Didnt use the flour asked for, and it still tasted yum =)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 05, 2001

This was really good Bergy! I have to admit, I added a lot of cheese on top, so it became Scalloped/Au Gratin! Thanks for a great recipe!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 July 17, 2002

This was a very easy dish to make. Even my kids enjoyed it, and they are fussy eaters.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike B. January 22, 2002

These are a winner! So easy to make! I added grated cheddar cheese in with each layer. Such a tasty potato dish! Thank you for sharing! I am going to make them again and again since they are a snap to make. I used a mandolin on the potatoes and onions, make quick work of it! Thanks Bergy! Great recipe as usual!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dissie October 30, 2010

I've made this recipe several times since I first tried this on March 3th, 2006. And I have to tell you this, it still as good and easy as it was then.And as I said then " Scalloped Potato Puritans Be Darned !!! " :)Thanks again for such a great recipe, and " Keep Smiling : ) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 10, 2010

My husband's favorite, just like his Mom makes!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy-Lynn December 31, 2001

Very nice & creamy. I doubled everything to try to get rid of some potatoes I had. I cooked the potatoes 1 1/2 hours and then added the cheese for 10 minutes more. Prep time goes fast using a food processor. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy August 24, 2014

Just like mom used to make. I think the flour should be mixed into the soup or something because there was some dry flour on top that looked unappetizing. I added leftover ham and topped with slices of Havarti cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc December 20, 2013

I thought this was just ok. I did make a few changes though so take that into consideration when you read this review. I used cream of celery because that is all I had, I left out the butter but added broccoli. I seasoned this with seasoning salt and pepper. I would have like to add ham but just didn't have it - I do think it would have been better with it as this alone was fairly bland - that may have been due to the soup change though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie July 07, 2011

Delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly as directed (added cheese on top too) and it tasted so good even two days later (even better). I ate them with Dijon Breaded Chicken Breasts and it was really good. Next time I will try with pork chops. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grossen's Girl Chef March 24, 2011
Cheating Scalloped Potatoes