154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

hi - sorry - me again! Just made this again, and wanted to say that I added some bok choy (the stems for the last three minutes of chicken-cooking time) and then the dark green leaves at the last minute. I also added some julienne red pepper strips when I cooked the chicken, garlic, ginger etc . .. anyway, i think that made this soup even better, so wanted to share! Oh, and one other thing - no one else mention it, so it may just be me, but i find this soup very salty - it might be the fish sauce or the stock i am using? I don't know! But definitely do NOT add any salt to this without tasting it first . . . having said all that, still five-stars from me, really REALLY good . ..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 April 08, 2009

I think anyone who is used to eating authentic vietnamese pho or Thai Guio Tiao would find this lacking in depth of flavor. However, the goal of this dish is quick and tasty and for that, it surely satisfies. I made this recipe "as is" the first time and thought it was okay. I had to add lime juice, palm sugar, lots of sriracha and fried garlic oil to punch it up. The second time I made this in the style of "pho" and added a cinnamon stick and star anise and topped noodles with fresh mint and bean sprouts in addition to the other ingredients and it was awesome. The third time I made this i added a little more fish sauce, lemon grass, lime juice, palm sugar and thai bird chilies to the broth, and topped it with thai holy basil, mint, and bean sprouts, in addition to the cilantro and green onions and it was quite tasty, even though I only simmered it for 10 minutes or so. Thanks for sharing an easy recipe that gives lots of room to add what each person likes individually.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk March 28, 2009

In agreement with the other reviews, this soup was wonderful and as promised, it is very easy to make. The fish sauce really does provide the "authentic" flavor and the balance to the dish that makes it so wonderful. I've made it twice now, once with rice noodles and once with mung bean noodles and both ways were equally delicious. I don't think you could possibly go wrong with this one. :-) The fresh herbs and onions that garnish the soup are also a wonderful touch and make it that much more "Vietnamese".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmf384 March 23, 2009

I've made this a countless number of times already! I didn't realize it was so easy to get such an authentic flavor from such normal ingredients. Although, I do find that the chicken is better when it's not cooked in the soup pot. I always managed to get little bits of chicken stuck to the bottom of the pot. So I usually just use leftover chicken. And I added a whole bunch of veggies last time, and the soup still tasted delicious (corn, carrots and celery)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatKatia March 18, 2009

This was delicious. I was able to make it quickly and when it was finished it was full of flavor as f it has been developing for hours I substitued the cellophane noodles with rice sticks and they worked well. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshPhile March 16, 2009

This was good. I added bok choy, carrots, red & green pepper and snow peas. Great balanced meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinkerpuppet March 01, 2009

Wonderful simple recipe full of flavor! I used rice vermicelli in place of cellophane noodles since that's what I had at home. I cooked the vermicelli for a couple of minutes first until softened, rinsed with cold water and set aside. We're not into hot and spicy food so we left out the red pepper flakes and of course no hot sauce at the end! Also added chinese leaf and carrots since I like lots of veg in my meals. Very good recipe, tasted very much like the real vietnamese noodles but without all the soup ingredients that I'm normally allergic to! Will definitely make again! Thanks Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsypatpat February 23, 2009

Wow that was a good soup! I did not add red pepper flakes because I can't eat too fiery, and I switch the cellophane noodles for instant egg noodles (3 packs of 3 on) and it was super delicious. And I ate it with chopsticks, of course!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dramatic plum-pudding February 07, 2009

Best. Soup. Ever. This is going to be my new chicken noodle. I used vegetable oil instead of peanut oil because I don't like the flavor. Also went a bit light on the fish sauce. Used hot oil instead of chili paste. And Chinese ramen-type noodles instead of cellophane. The best part is the broth and combo of flavors, though. Absolutely LOVE this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephee24 December 14, 2008
Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup