Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2007

      Simple and very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      My husband and I really liked this. It was easy to make. I followed the recipe but added more noodles. I thought the soup was spicy enough as is. The only negative thing I have to say is that the soup is very salty mainly due to the fish sauce. Next time I plan on trying it with low sodium chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This is definitely a keeper. Made it last night for dinner and will do so many times in the future. I did increase the pepper flakes to 1/3 tsp and used 2 ounces of bean thread noodles. Next time will use 4 ounces. We do like noodles. Think I'll also add some paper thin slices of carrot to give the soup more color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I liked the flavor very much, but the cellophane noodles were a little to 'light" to make this a filing soup for me. The guys ate it up, but we've tried it again with ramen-type noodles instead and scarfed it down. VERY quick and easy. We used the fish sauce and no, it doesn't taste fishy! The Romans sued 'garum', which was rotted fish sauce - and Worcestershire has anchovies in it and doesn't taste like anchovy sauce! It just adds a 'yum' dimension! Use the fresh herbs if you can- even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Terrific, super quick, super healthy soup. This tastes similar to the soup I get at my favorite Vietnamese place. I left out the oil, and unfortunately we did not have fish sauce. I subbed a tiny bit of soy sauce but it is not the same thing. Fish sauce is made from fermented anchovies and has a nice flavor perfect for Asian cooking. Next time I will for sure use it. The little extra (cilantro, green onion and chili oil) really add something special to it that gives it that unique flavor. I can't imagine this soup without cilantro or the chili...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Great soup and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This was wonderful! I substituted with soba noodles & used chili oil. I added more red pepper flakes (love it a bit spicy!) and fresh basil and bean sprouts. It was very yummy and as DH said - 'this is great faux pho'! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This soup is delicious! I did not use any oil; I sauteed using chicken broth. I also used precooked grilled chicken but next time I will use my own chicken breast because the former added way too much salt. I also used sliced garlic cloves and added sliced onion to the mixture. I did not even use noodles and it was still great. The fish sauce really added that special something. I had a cold and felt so much better eating this. This is a new comfort food! Thanks so much for a great recipe that is so adaptable. And healthy too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Our family is huge fans of Vietnamese food. I made this wonderfully quick, easy and light recipe last night and we gobbled it up! It was better than the Pho we eat at a local restaurant. I made a stock out of chicken thighs and seasoned with bouillon and kosher salt, and proceeded with your directions. We added the fish stock to taste at the table. We made a platter of garnishes that you suggested, but added fresh limes and bean sprouts to the platter. We also used fresh rice stick noodles from a local Asian store. Thank you so much Sue for submitting this recipe which will become a regular addition to our family menu for years to come@

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Outstanding recipe. I added 1/2 can of bamboo shoots to the recipe. All who ate it, loved it. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Was very good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      I loved this! It tastes like the Pho they serve at the Mama Fu's chain. Next time I would add red pepper to it though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      My kind of recipe...super easy. I can also see how it has so much potential for variations. The changes I made were: cut recipe in half, added a can of cooked chicken, and used dried cilantro, onion, and basil (threw it in the broth to simmer a couple minutes). I'm not a big soup eater, but I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      So many levels of flavor! Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Love, love, LOVE this recipe!! My whole family has been eating pho at a restaurant for years! Not anymore!! We were all impressed at how quick, easy, and wonderful this recipe is! I made without chicken and it was still great. I heartily recommend adding sriracha chile sauce + hoisin sauce for the full pho experience. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      I skipped the noodles and just had chicken soup. It was great and just what the doctor ordered. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      OH BOY, I'M IN TROUBLE NOW! Have been making Pho Ga for over four yrs. having been taught by a wonderful vietnamese lady. I am going to her home in Vietnam in early May'o5.How do I tell her I have a NEW recipe!.That says it all about this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      FANTASTIC!! Very seldom have I eaten something this tasty that was this quick to make. I followed directions exactly and was treated to a fantastic lunch! The aroma when the herbs and green onion hit the hot soup is heaven. The spice is right on as well. I will make this time and time again. Thanks Sue for sharing this scrumptious soup with us all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2005

      The soup was good, but the canned stock ruined it for me. Perhaps if I could get a better stock I would try again, but I do prefer to make my own, even made in advance and frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Quick as a wink to make, and gone just as fast! I've never had pho before, so I can't judge on that, but this is goooooood! I didn't have the green onions on hand (they're rather pitiful and pricey in the dead of winter), so we just added a bit of shallot with the garlic and ginger. I used more than 1 ounce noodles- my package says it is 16 ounces and I used half (so that would be 8 oz) and ended up with only a little leftover. Just based on my noodles, I would say that that seems like a very small quanity of noodles... Anyhow, followed the rest of the recipe- I used homemade broth, 1 breast and a little more pepper flakes than called for. My broth was unsalted and I found this plenty salty from the addition of the fish sauce, so be careful! I didn't have any sriracha or chile paste, but since I added a little extra pepper flakes, we found this plenty spicey. We did add a dash of organic shoyu to our bowls, though. We also added a couple sliced mushrooms, which were really yummy. I think this would really be great if you added other veggies too- straw mushrooms, baby corn and bamboo shoots immediately came to mind. The flavor was great, and I think the garnish really adds a lot. I wish I'd had the green onion, but this was so easy and tasty that I'm sure I'll make it again! Thanks Sue, for another winner. I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone! A real keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    33%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1427.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes