Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2008

      Thank you so much Sue. I grew up in "Little Saigon" (Garden Grove, CA) and have recently moved to NJ. I had several Vietnamese friends and we would always go for Pho Bo Vien (I think that's how you say Beef Ball noodle soup) and cafe sua da. This recipe is simple enough for my husband, who rarely cooks. The first time we had this amazing soup was when I was under the weather a few weeks ago and he made this for me. Somehow I ended up helping "a little." I just made it again and we loved it. I improvised since both times we didn't have chicken broth. I substituted 2 organic vegetable bouillons (Rapunzel brand is great) with 32oz of water and threw that in when it said to add the broth. I also added a couple of dashes of Chinese 5 spice powder the second time. Lastly, I used rice noodles instead of bean thread. We are addicts. This is a perfect invaluable recipe for our family and can't wait to make it when my mom and sister visit! Thanks again! We LOVE it. Best of all it is easy!(I know because my friend's mom used to make pho at home and it was a PROCESS!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I've already made this 3 times in the last few weeks. It's so addictive and yummy. I tried it once with beef broth, and I think I prefer that. I also add a bit of water to cut out some of the salt. Plus, extra rice noodles and instead of chicken I add chunks of firm tofu. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I love this soup! I was just telling my husband that it might be one of my favorite meals. I usually double the noodles and I use a lot more cilantro and green onions than it calls for. Also, I really like lots of Viet chili garlic sauce- it adds a nice spicy flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This is so good!!! Especially on a cold winter's day. So yummy and it warms up your tummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This soup was excellent! My 8 year old son helped me make it but I figured he wouldn't eat it. But, to my surprise, he actually ate and enjoyed it! Just looking at the ingredients I couldn't figure out how this recipe got so many 5 star ratings, but it truly deserves the favorable reviews! We added some veggies, which I think this recipe lends itself to very well but, other than that, I made the recipe as written. Thank you, Sue!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      EXCELLENT soup! I love noodle soups, and this one is really yummy. I have made it twice this week. I added bean sprouts while the chicken was simmering for some crunch. I grated the ginger instead of slicing and forgot the green onions completely. I am going to try it with baby corn next time too, just to add some veggies. Excellent recipe,thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Wow!! Who knew you could make such a tasty soup in under 20 mins?? Noodle soups are my ultimate comfort food, so I was excited to try this. I skipped the chicken b/c it was frozen solid :( but I'll try it next time. I used Knorr Chicken Broth, which has a bit more fat than Swanson's, but super tasty in soups! I also added sliced red onions & sliced bok choy. I'm pretty picky with ginger, so I sliced coins, rather than mincing it, for easy retrieval. The fish sauce is a must! Thank you for sharing this quick & easy recipe with the world! I wish I made MORE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Super yum yum! My boyfriend and I love going to Vietnamese restaurants to eat pho, and now we don't have to. We used a lot more basil, cilantro, and green onions than the recipe called for - we love veggies. We also added sprouts, mint, and jalepeno for the kick. This recipe is definetly a keeper - thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Really fast and tasty. I made it with roast pork strips, as that was what I had and we only got two servings from the recipe--huge dinner servings though. I will certainly make it again, chicken, like it reads, and I thik shrimp wuld be good in it. I used more green onions and I can't stand cilantro, so none of that. I think I used the whole package, small, of noodles too, the slippery thinks got away from me and into the pot and we ate them all. The fish sauce is necessary, but don't be afraid of it. Really nice soup. Great recipe for everyone to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

    • on October 14, 2007

      This was very quick and easy; and it was a really nice change from my traditional chicken soup. The only thing I added was a can of chinese vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I made this for my boyfriend who had a cold. I didn't skip the 'rooster sauce' as we call it. Both absolutely loved it, and it had a medicinal quality as it cleared his sinuses-- Bonus! Great recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      It's simple, it's filling. If it's made right, it's something everyone should enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

    • on July 23, 2007

      My chicken breast was over a lb., and I used the bones to make a fresh broth. The extra meat made this more of an entree soup for us. I happen to have some Thai basil in the garden this year so used that. This ended up as two main-dish servings. Love all the textures and flavors, and the fact that is fast to make is a real bonus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      I have impressed chefs with this soup!!! It is the easiest and quickest and tastiest soup that I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Very good dish. Easy to make and tasty. I've never used fish sauce before; glad I discovered it. It gives a nice flavor. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Good-very lite. I made them with some dumplings and potstickers. Even my picky husband liked it and he's a meat and potato guy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I really like the flavoring of this dish, I used the wrong kind of noodles, and they tasted funny, I am anxious to try again with the right kind though. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Not like this needs another rating, but this was awesome. It was a very easy dish to serve with my shrimp spring rolls, which took some time. I'll be making this again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    33%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1427.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites