Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2009

      My family absolutely loves this recipe. My brother can't take spicy foods but even he loves this! We do find it a bit too spicy but I'm sure it's because I don't really measure ingredients, I just throw them in :). A definite 5 star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Super easy but super tasty!!!! Love the combination of hearty and fresh flavors! Will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

    • on June 30, 2009

      This is my new favorite soup. It's so easy to make, especially considering how authentic it tastes! I serve with sri racha and hoisin sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Have made this several times and it's really good. I tend to add veggies to the broth to make it more filling and nutritious and also cut back on the fish sauce because originally it was too salty for us. Thanks for a great, quick, yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I have a pretty awful cold and I automatically thought of this recipe I had been meaning to make. I used leftover chicken kabobs so it was even quicker to make. Unfortunately, I did not have any fresh basil on hand, but I loved the cilantro garnish. I wasn't in the mood for noodles, so I tossed in some shredded cabbage for more substance. I can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Yummy thank you! The basil really added a fresh taste to this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      truly amazing. Try with beef and beef stock. If you like the beef rare, slice think and pour boiling stock on raw beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Wow i'm the 100 reviewer and i have to give this a big 5 stars. I cannot believe how easy this was, my DH was very impressed. Lucky for us its the start of winter for us in Australia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      What a great find! A really delicious soup and so quick to make! :) Thank you, Sue L! For our taste preferences, I omitted the red pepper flakes and increased the garlic, and I also halved the amount of ginger and the amount of fish sauce as, judging from other recipes I've used it in, it is - as Michaelk69 commented - rather salty. Otherwise I made this exactly to the recipe, although I did follow Michaelk69's suggestion and added some bok choy (which is always so delicious) and some bean shoots, both towards the end of the cooking time, the beanshoots just before serving. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      hi - sorry - me again! Just made this again, and wanted to say that I added some bok choy (the stems for the last three minutes of chicken-cooking time) and then the dark green leaves at the last minute. I also added some julienne red pepper strips when I cooked the chicken, garlic, ginger etc . .. anyway, i think that made this soup even better, so wanted to share! Oh, and one other thing - no one else mention it, so it may just be me, but i find this soup very salty - it might be the fish sauce or the stock i am using? I don't know! But definitely do NOT add any salt to this without tasting it first . . . having said all that, still five-stars from me, really REALLY good . ..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I think anyone who is used to eating authentic vietnamese pho or Thai Guio Tiao would find this lacking in depth of flavor. However, the goal of this dish is quick and tasty and for that, it surely satisfies. I made this recipe "as is" the first time and thought it was okay. I had to add lime juice, palm sugar, lots of sriracha and fried garlic oil to punch it up. The second time I made this in the style of "pho" and added a cinnamon stick and star anise and topped noodles with fresh mint and bean sprouts in addition to the other ingredients and it was awesome. The third time I made this i added a little more fish sauce, lemon grass, lime juice, palm sugar and thai bird chilies to the broth, and topped it with thai holy basil, mint, and bean sprouts, in addition to the cilantro and green onions and it was quite tasty, even though I only simmered it for 10 minutes or so. Thanks for sharing an easy recipe that gives lots of room to add what each person likes individually.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      In agreement with the other reviews, this soup was wonderful and as promised, it is very easy to make. The fish sauce really does provide the "authentic" flavor and the balance to the dish that makes it so wonderful. I've made it twice now, once with rice noodles and once with mung bean noodles and both ways were equally delicious. I don't think you could possibly go wrong with this one. :-) The fresh herbs and onions that garnish the soup are also a wonderful touch and make it that much more "Vietnamese".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I've made this a countless number of times already! I didn't realize it was so easy to get such an authentic flavor from such normal ingredients. Although, I do find that the chicken is better when it's not cooked in the soup pot. I always managed to get little bits of chicken stuck to the bottom of the pot. So I usually just use leftover chicken. And I added a whole bunch of veggies last time, and the soup still tasted delicious (corn, carrots and celery)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was delicious. I was able to make it quickly and when it was finished it was full of flavor as f it has been developing for hours I substitued the cellophane noodles with rice sticks and they worked well. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This was good. I added bok choy, carrots, red & green pepper and snow peas. Great balanced meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Wonderful simple recipe full of flavor! I used rice vermicelli in place of cellophane noodles since that's what I had at home. I cooked the vermicelli for a couple of minutes first until softened, rinsed with cold water and set aside. We're not into hot and spicy food so we left out the red pepper flakes and of course no hot sauce at the end! Also added chinese leaf and carrots since I like lots of veg in my meals. Very good recipe, tasted very much like the real vietnamese noodles but without all the soup ingredients that I'm normally allergic to! Will definitely make again! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Wow that was a good soup! I did not add red pepper flakes because I can't eat too fiery, and I switch the cellophane noodles for instant egg noodles (3 packs of 3 on) and it was super delicious. And I ate it with chopsticks, of course!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Best. Soup. Ever. This is going to be my new chicken noodle. I used vegetable oil instead of peanut oil because I don't like the flavor. Also went a bit light on the fish sauce. Used hot oil instead of chili paste. And Chinese ramen-type noodles instead of cellophane. The best part is the broth and combo of flavors, though. Absolutely LOVE this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    33%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1427.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes