Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2014

      This was pretty good and mighty easy. My son is a "Pho Ga" fan and he thought it was tasty. I used boneless thighs since we are all thigh fans. I also cooked recipe in the pressure cooker for 20 minutes which made a really nice and rich broth. Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I found this recipe after searching for lo-carb main dishes - I made it today and will add it to the menu regularly! A few changes I made - just because I hadn't thawed the chicken ahead of time: I used left over rotisserie chicken that I sauteed with the garlic, ginger & red pepper flakes; the package of cellophane noodles listed the carbs at 17 grams, so I replaced them with spaghetti noodles found in the health food section - these are called "shirataki spaghetti" and they have net carbs of 1g per serving. Honestly - it tasted GREAT! I'm thrilled to have a hearty, lo-carb noodle soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      the Lord have mercy this is good soup! I LOVE soups...I love making them, smelling them and eating them and this is one soup that I will have over and over again. Three things that won me over...1) it is very quick to make 2) the broth is extraordinaire 3) it is not expensive to make. I added shredded carrot and bean sprouts at the end to give me more crunch. thanks so very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I substituted with beef and long egg noodles and it came out delish! Quick and easy. Next time though, we'll double the recipe. We ran out of broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      Im wondering if this is an Cambodian/Khmer soup! Look at the photo and ingredents, it look like our Phnom Penh soup, people call it Ku-tiev.<br/><br/>In Vietnam (especially in South Vietnam Khmer called Kampuchea Krom mean Low Cambodia, where Cambodian/Khmer has been living here from the first time this land have humanity social), Vietnamese and Khmer are really like this soup and they call it is Hu tieu Nam Vang (Khmer only called Ku-tive of course), Nam Vang mean Phnom Penh that was translated to Vietnamese.<br/><br/>Anyway, it look nice, if you visit our Khmer community in Mekong delta, you can ask for this soup everytime, and it is better if you are in Cambodia kingdom, you can find this soup anywhere, a Ku-tiev, popular delicious soup for every one :D<br/><br/>Sorry for my bad English.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Amazingly delicious for how easy it is. It has a pho-like feel, although I would imagine it's closer to pho ga than to beef pho. At any rate it will soothe a cold and any craving you might have for Asian soup (I crave Asian soup often, myself!). I subbed sesame oil for peanut and super-thin rice vermicelli for the bean threads and it came out amazing anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      My boyfriend said he liked it better than the real thing! We garnished with bean sprouts and fresh lime juice in addition to what the recipe called for, and we put some enoki mushrooms in the broth just after simmering. I thought maybe some peanuts would be a nice addition next time too. So easy to make and fun to eat -- this is a real find! Thank you Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

    • on May 08, 2012

      Faux pho! Very tasty. Next time I'll double the recipe. Fresh cilantro, basil and green onions make it. Also, used a bit of chili paste with garlic at the end in addition to the garlic and hot pepper flakes. Thank for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This is the best chicken noodle soup I've ever had. And certainly head and shoulders above any I've tried to make at home. I halved the amount of fish sauce and tripled the amount of noodles. I LOVE the addition of the fresh herbs. DEEEEEEEEEEEEEELISH! Thanks for posting. So quick, too. THUMBS UP from our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I wouldn't use it as a pho replacement but it was delicious and very close! The ease will definitely make me make this more often than authentic pho. I would say that the serving for 4 was definitely cups and not bowls. Thanks Sue for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This soup was very tasty, but I was missing vegetables. Maybe some mushrooms or snow peas. Also it was a bit overly salty, so next time I will try using low-sodium broth. After tasting the broth, I added more fresh ginger, as the ginger flavor wasn't strong enough for me. All in all, a great recipe, and will be even better with a little tweaking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

    • on January 01, 2012

      I served this last night to my DDS they both loved it and want me to make it again, I added a bit of soy sauce and some sesame oil. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      so fast and easy and delicious no one at dinner knew it only took me 15mins to make thank you for the awesome recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I made this with tofu and enjoyed it very much! It doesn't taste anything like what my mom made for me growing up, but it kept my craving for Vietnamese food at bay. This is not meant to taste anything like pho, as the spices are noticeably missing, and cellophane noodles (usually made of mung bean) are not the same as the rice vermicelli noodles used in pho.

      In any case, I will be making this recipe again and again. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Excellent. I added leeks! Wow! My husband, who never gives many compliments on my cooking, said he LOVED it. Had 2 bowls full. I think I need to open up a noodle truck. I went to the Asian market and grabbed the Napa Cabbage (I lightly cooked that and threw it in w/ the noodles at the last minute). A super easy recipe though! Terrific. Next time, I will try the UDON noodles with it; I had the thin noodles, but overall I'm cooking this again. My daughter, 2 yrs old, just loveeed it! The chicken was great, and having the basil and herbs on the side at the last minute to dump in just as I ladled it out was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I was in a pinch for time and didn't have anything out for supper. I found your recipe and thawed a couple chicken breasts out and made this for our meal. I doubled the recipe and we ate it all. My kids kept coming back for seconds (and thirds)!!! DH and I really liked the green onions and cilantro for the garnish. They really added alot more flavor. Thank you for sharing this quick and delicious soup recipe with us. We will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      It does not get much more easy than this - the soup is very versatile and you could almost add whatever has your fancy or is in your fridge, but still not quite like Pho - but good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      We really loved this! I think it is as close to Pho as I'll be able to get at home. I made some minor changes - added 2 small, thinly sliced leaks, and didn't use cilantro (just because the cilantro at the market was old and wilty). I thought that the broth seemed a little too chickeny flavored - it was sort of overpowering the ginger - so I added some water (about a cup or so) and that really made it good. At the end, I added some napa cabbage. We also topped it with some sambal oelek and plum sauce. Loved the flavor, but I think it would be even better if I let it sit overnight, so I'm thinking that next time (probably later this week) I'll do a double or triple batch of the broth, then freeze half of it and other half in the fridge overnight. We'll definitely be making this a lot in the future! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    33%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1427.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites