154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious recipe. I made this for company and they were completely wowed. It's tasty with the addition of mint leaves and mung sprouts (as found at Vietnamese pho recipes). One of my faves on Recipezaar!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Memily Giraffe March 01, 2010

Very good soup. I used cooked chicken breast meat that I already had on hand, which made it very easy to make. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liliya_99 July 10, 2010

This is DELICIOUS, and very easy. I was surprised that I could get such good depth of flavor from a soup made this quickly. A little tip: I add about a teaspoon of roasted chili paste at the end. It's one of my favorite Asian condiments, and gives it even more depth of flavor without making it too spicy. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mclark May 26, 2010

We are big fans of pho but I wasn't willing to attempt at home. I've got to say, this is is great simple way to get that taste of it, and we all know it's not going to be just like pho. I served mine with a lot of cilantro, fresh basil leaves, and siracha rooster sauce. SO good!! I wish I had known about this sooner. With all the business trips my husband makes, this would be an excellent fast meal for one, because you can just adjust the amounts for how many you are cooking for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveMyFam in Alaska April 28, 2011

Wow! What a fantastic soup! We were impressed with how quickly, inexpensively and easily it went together and then The Taste :) I didn't have peanut oil and it was kind of expensive, so I used a little sesame oil and the rest olive oil. I only needed one chicken breast and it was plenty. I used jarred minced ginger and garlic for ease and the flavor was spot-on. I'm so excited to have found this, we feel full and healthy after a long month of heavy holiday food. I will make this often, thanks Sue Lau!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 16, 2011

For anyone hesitating to try this recipe because of the fish sauce I would urge you to leave it out. It may not be authentic but what you are left with is a lovely, flavor filled soup perfect for a week night dinner. I am going to add bok choy and mushrooms to mine along with some thin sliced onion. Yum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Garlic Bread January 15, 2011

I am actually giving this 5 stars because it is SO EASY to make. It is not as delicate as the pho from my favorite Vietnamese place, but the ease bumps it up from 4 stars to 5! Made as directed (except for cilantro because, well, bleck). Next time I might add a few veggies. But this is going to go into heavy rotation around here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeInOz August 20, 2010

Made this tonight, and will make again! I made it pretty much as written, except that I used a different oil for cooking as I didn't feel like buying $7 worth of peanut oil to get one tbsp, left out the chilies (too spicy for my girls) and used chives from my garden instead of the green onions that I forgot to buy. We added chili powder at the table to the adult's bowls to simulate the chiles. I didn't weigh my chicken and used two breasts, which ended up with a LOT of leftover chicken... it probably should have been one breast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicorn2 July 06, 2014

This was a great soup that the whole family loved. I even made it all backwards bc I started with frozen chicken. I'll write what I did so you can feel confident that it will still taste great even if you can't follow it to a T. I put my frozen chicken in the broth and boiled until nearly done. Added the peanut oil, garlic, ginger, and pepper flakes. I added carrots. I only had dried basil so I added that now and cooked until carrots were done. At the last minute I added the onions and cilantro, which I only had frozen and not fresh. Cooked them for a minute and added the fish sauce. Served over rice. Totally awesome fast pho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy #5 April 25, 2014

Excellent! I have made this soup at least a dozen times. So easy and so fast. The flavor is delicious. I usually add in lots of veggies, as its a way to get my family to eat them. Today I tossed in some dried shitake mushrooms, carrots matchsticks, and a little napa cabbage. I use homemade chicken broth for a deep taste. <br/> It's pouring down rain today, and this will be just perfect to feed my family. Thank you, Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJF in SF March 01, 2014
Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup