Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      What a great, special soup! It'seasy and ever so tasty. I love hot 'n spicy and this hits the spot. The only thing I changed was the peanut oil I used chili oil (use what's on hand) Thank's SueL I'll be trying more of your recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      Great quick soup - I made this for a family dinner, and everyone loved it. Just the right amount of heat (as my mom put it, "Food that bites back a little"). Adding the herbs really changes the tenor of the soup and makes it a soup with a lot of flavor, and not just heat. If you're making this in advance, try steamed rice instead of the noodles - they won't absorb quite as much liquid. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      Can I only give this 5 stars?? This was so fast and easy to put together, and the flavor was FANTASTIC! I threw in a few bean sprouts at the end, and served it with sriracha sauce. The balance of flavors in this soup is incredible. I have long been afraid to make pho (or lazy, I dunno), and now I have absolutely no reason to go through the trouble! Thank you Sue, for another absolutely wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      I have been longing for Pho but never had the time or ingredients to make. This soup was heaven..fragrant..light and flavorful.. just a I remember it. Thank you.... thankyou..now on my best of soup list.. To the uninitiated..try this soup...wonderful Catherine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Very close to the real thing. In fact I like it better. Just to prove how versitile this recipe is here's how it came down the last time I made it. I used turkey stock plus 2 cups of water and 2 tablespoons of chicken stock base and the fish sauce. I did not add any meat, just chinese cabbage, the noodles and cilantro at the end. GREAT flavor. We will eat this many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Loved it, SueL, and it helped out my head cold, too. :) I added a bunch more basil (because I love the stuff and I had a lot of fresh to use anyhow). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      I tried this soup over at Canary Girls house yesterday and it was by far one of the best soups I`ve ever tasted and I am a soup lover. This one went directly into my cookbook! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Sue, this was indeed and good soup. Easy to prepare, and easier to eat. I did use the peanut oil, and used some pretty hot pepper flakes. It was just right for us, we loved it! Definately will be doing this one again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Don't normally eat any meat at all, but have the flu and you know the saying chicken soup is good for the soul. Really enjoyed this heaps, on tasting at first thought it wasn't quite right, might be because of not eating meat for a while, but when it was served up in the bowl with the fresh herb garnish, it was to die for. This is a keeper will definitely be serving this for friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      Delicious! This may not be quite the same taste as a traditional Vietnamese Pho, but it is still a great tasting soup. I love the method of cooking the chicken quickly in the broth and I thought flavor combination was great. Overall, it was really tasty and the directions are quite precise & accurate. Next time I will reduce the amount of fish sauce, as it was just a bit too salty for my liking, but not enough to alter my opinion of this fast, tasty, and filling soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Delicious recipe. I made this for company and they were completely wowed. It's tasty with the addition of mint leaves and mung sprouts (as found at Vietnamese pho recipes). One of my faves on Recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Very good soup. I used cooked chicken breast meat that I already had on hand, which made it very easy to make. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This is DELICIOUS, and very easy. I was surprised that I could get such good depth of flavor from a soup made this quickly. A little tip: I add about a teaspoon of roasted chili paste at the end. It's one of my favorite Asian condiments, and gives it even more depth of flavor without making it too spicy. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      We are big fans of pho but I wasn't willing to attempt at home. I've got to say, this is is great simple way to get that taste of it, and we all know it's not going to be just like pho. I served mine with a lot of cilantro, fresh basil leaves, and siracha rooster sauce. SO good!! I wish I had known about this sooner. With all the business trips my husband makes, this would be an excellent fast meal for one, because you can just adjust the amounts for how many you are cooking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Wow! What a fantastic soup! We were impressed with how quickly, inexpensively and easily it went together and then The Taste :) I didn't have peanut oil and it was kind of expensive, so I used a little sesame oil and the rest olive oil. I only needed one chicken breast and it was plenty. I used jarred minced ginger and garlic for ease and the flavor was spot-on. I'm so excited to have found this, we feel full and healthy after a long month of heavy holiday food. I will make this often, thanks Sue Lau!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      For anyone hesitating to try this recipe because of the fish sauce I would urge you to leave it out. It may not be authentic but what you are left with is a lovely, flavor filled soup perfect for a week night dinner. I am going to add bok choy and mushrooms to mine along with some thin sliced onion. Yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      I am actually giving this 5 stars because it is SO EASY to make. It is not as delicate as the pho from my favorite Vietnamese place, but the ease bumps it up from 4 stars to 5! Made as directed (except for cilantro because, well, bleck). Next time I might add a few veggies. But this is going to go into heavy rotation around here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Made this tonight, and will make again! I made it pretty much as written, except that I used a different oil for cooking as I didn't feel like buying $7 worth of peanut oil to get one tbsp, left out the chilies (too spicy for my girls) and used chives from my garden instead of the green onions that I forgot to buy. We added chili powder at the table to the adult's bowls to simulate the chiles. I didn't weigh my chicken and used two breasts, which ended up with a LOT of leftover chicken... it probably should have been one breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      This was a great soup that the whole family loved. I even made it all backwards bc I started with frozen chicken. I'll write what I did so you can feel confident that it will still taste great even if you can't follow it to a T. I put my frozen chicken in the broth and boiled until nearly done. Added the peanut oil, garlic, ginger, and pepper flakes. I added carrots. I only had dried basil so I added that now and cooked until carrots were done. At the last minute I added the onions and cilantro, which I only had frozen and not fresh. Cooked them for a minute and added the fish sauce. Served over rice. Totally awesome fast pho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      Excellent! I have made this soup at least a dozen times. So easy and so fast. The flavor is delicious. I usually add in lots of veggies, as its a way to get my family to eat them. Today I tossed in some dried shitake mushrooms, carrots matchsticks, and a little napa cabbage. I use homemade chicken broth for a deep taste. <br/> It's pouring down rain today, and this will be just perfect to feed my family. Thank you, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    33%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1427.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites