155 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great, special soup! It'seasy and ever so tasty. I love hot 'n spicy and this hits the spot. The only thing I changed was the peanut oil I used chili oil (use what's on hand) Thank's SueL I'll be trying more of your recipes

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 18, 2002

Great quick soup - I made this for a family dinner, and everyone loved it. Just the right amount of heat (as my mom put it, "Food that bites back a little"). Adding the herbs really changes the tenor of the soup and makes it a soup with a lot of flavor, and not just heat. If you're making this in advance, try steamed rice instead of the noodles - they won't absorb quite as much liquid. Thanks for the recipe!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisMc July 07, 2002

Can I only give this 5 stars?? This was so fast and easy to put together, and the flavor was FANTASTIC! I threw in a few bean sprouts at the end, and served it with sriracha sauce. The balance of flavors in this soup is incredible. I have long been afraid to make pho (or lazy, I dunno), and now I have absolutely no reason to go through the trouble! Thank you Sue, for another absolutely wonderful recipe!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl October 30, 2002

I have been longing for Pho but never had the time or ingredients to make. This soup was heaven..fragrant..light and flavorful.. just a I remember it. Thank you.... thankyou..now on my best of soup list.. To the uninitiated..try this soup...wonderful Catherine

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakesle June 04, 2002

Very close to the real thing. In fact I like it better. Just to prove how versitile this recipe is here's how it came down the last time I made it. I used turkey stock plus 2 cups of water and 2 tablespoons of chicken stock base and the fish sauce. I did not add any meat, just chinese cabbage, the noodles and cilantro at the end. GREAT flavor. We will eat this many more times.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff January 13, 2003

Loved it, SueL, and it helped out my head cold, too. :) I added a bunch more basil (because I love the stuff and I had a lot of fresh to use anyhow). Yum!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong June 05, 2002

I tried this soup over at Canary Girls house yesterday and it was by far one of the best soups I`ve ever tasted and I am a soup lover. This one went directly into my cookbook! Thanks Sue!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peeps October 31, 2002

Sue, this was indeed and good soup. Easy to prepare, and easier to eat. I did use the peanut oil, and used some pretty hot pepper flakes. It was just right for us, we loved it! Definately will be doing this one again. Thanks for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 28, 2002

Don't normally eat any meat at all, but have the flu and you know the saying chicken soup is good for the soul. Really enjoyed this heaps, on tasting at first thought it wasn't quite right, might be because of not eating meat for a while, but when it was served up in the bowl with the fresh herb garnish, it was to die for. This is a keeper will definitely be serving this for friends.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie May 28, 2002

Delicious! This may not be quite the same taste as a traditional Vietnamese Pho, but it is still a great tasting soup. I love the method of cooking the chicken quickly in the broth and I thought flavor combination was great. Overall, it was really tasty and the directions are quite precise & accurate. Next time I will reduce the amount of fish sauce, as it was just a bit too salty for my liking, but not enough to alter my opinion of this fast, tasty, and filling soup. Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 24, 2003
Cheat n' Eat Vietnamese Chicken Soup