Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheap Homemade Furniture Polish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheap Homemade Furniture Polish

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2011

      I use 2 cups of olive oil and 1 fresh squeezed lemon. Same thing, works like a charm and soooo much cheaper! Go Green!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      Works GREAT! I used lemon juice because I didn't have a lime and it worked just fine. My DH and I bought an antique dinning room table and china cabinet and it needed some cleaning. Pledge was expensive and still left the wood dull after it dried. Char, your polish did the trick!!! My furniture looks beautiful now! I will NEVER buy the commercial furniture polish again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I just did my kitchen cabinets...Lookin' Good!! Will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Thank you for the recipe. This is a lot cheaper than pledge...what is a bottle of that stuff now around $5? Yea enough said. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This works really well, has a nice clean smell and has no chemicals! What more could you ask for? Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      What a find! I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I thought it would leave the wood feeling oily. Boy, was I wrong. It worked great! I love using natural products whenever I can. I hate the smell of artificial fragrances and chemicals.This not only smells good, but it worked better than other store bought products I've tried. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      At first I thought I wasn't going to be happy with this as my table was streaked and I had to go back and dry it - but then I realized what was happening was the old wax I had on it was coming up and as it dried it left a lovely shine with no sticky residue left behind. Works wonderful, much better than my expensive spray can - l'll be using this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Works better than the stuff I paid over $10 a small bottle for. Thank you...my parents antique desk looks way better, and I wont have to refinish it until summer. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I just tried this on some wooden dining chairs from the thrift store...they look fantasic! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I have a lot of furniture with very very dark wood. I would clean it with Pledge and always get streaks. I was a little scared to try this at first. All of my dark wood furniture is less than two years old. I had nothing to worry about. It worked great and now my furniture looks amazing!! I used lemon juice instead of lime juice. I didn't have lime juice at the time. It still turned out beautiful!! I will never use another kind of polish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      EXCELLENT!!!! I just bought a a 16 ounce bottle of Holloay House Lemon oil for $ 3.79 a week before I saw this yesterday~~~~~~~~ made some up last night just to try it out( I used lemon juice) I'ld gotten quite a few 16 ounce bottles of Crisco oil for $ 1.49 ( after coupons) using the crisco oil & a store brand lemon juice($ 1.19 for 32 ounces) I figure this cost about $2.00 to make up now I'll never be out..like how it works as good (maybe even BETTER) so a BIG thank you to you for sharing this with us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I'm so glad I found this. Store bought furniture polish is totally inferior! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This is the BEST. I couldn't believe the beautiful results I got. I used it on every stick of furniture in the house. Also on some Danish wooden trays that were looking pretty shabby and now look brand new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Worked great on my table and sideboard. The table had a lot of scratches, which are almost completely unnoticeable after polishing. Everything shines like new. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      This worked awesome! I actually didn't have either ingredients so I used olive oil and lemon juice. The true test was 12 hours later. It was perfect, no streaks!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Nice non toxic alternative. I substituted lemon in place of the lime juice...Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Great recipe - worked better than any of the expensive furniture polishes we've used. I used light olive oil and bottled lime juice and my Tasmanian Oak table now has a mirror finish plus the polish has really brought out the grain. I'm going to make up a larger quantity and keep it in a spray bottle. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      For some strange reason I can NEVER remember to buy furniture polish. This recipe is great because it is stuff most people have on hand. I mixed 1/4 cup of each and went to town polishing every peice of wood in the house. Everything looks shiny & new. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I gave this to my next door neighbour, and I saw the results. Works like a charm. Thanks for sharing. hope it's OK that someone else made it, but I did see the before and after results. Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I certainly agree with all the other reviewers. This is a great recipe. Really does the job extremely well. I have lovely clean and shinning furniture. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheap Homemade Furniture Polish

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    98%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites