Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheap and Easy Homemade Window Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheap and Easy Homemade Window Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2014

      Admittedly, I kind of scoffed (on the inside) when I read the recipe for this window cleaner...mostly because I really dislike the smell of vinegar. Doubts aside, I whipped up a batch and and started squirting away. I LOVE THIS...the vinegar smell dissipates very quickly and is worth the few minutes of smell. You do have to really "rub this out" but I will likely never use anything else again...even my husband is impressed and using it. I'm back here today to mix up my second batch....thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Excellent & so easy! I purchased a 32 oz "all purpose sprayer" at a local home improvement store (very inexpensive there), and filled it to the brim with the 1 to 3 mix. I also filled an empty window-cleaning bottle I had under the kitchen sink. I use this cleaner all of the time now in my kitchen, esp. after reading that the cleaning properties of vinegar match those of bleach, etc! For hard-to-remove spots/stains on my counter & stovetop, I spray it on liberally, and leave it for a while. It all wipes off easily, and leaves the room smelling vinegary and fresh:) The solution works well on my stainless kitchen items (sink, trash can, dishwasher front, etc.), and on the windows/mirrors around the house. The kid-friendly mix makes it chore-friendly as well, so put an old rag or paper towel in their little hands & put those kidlets to work! YAHOO!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Dog noseprint remover!!! After figuring my windex was never making the return trip from hubby's car, I thought I'd give this a go. Works great!! I used the newspaper too, and no streaks at all. Did I forget to mention cheap? Thanks so much for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      This worked so well that I will not go out and buy a commercial brand, seeings how I ran out and forgot to buy more. I used it to clean my patio sliding glass door and mirrors in my home. Not having a spare spray bottle I just made one cup worth and dipped a small rag in and squeezed it out, went over the area to be cleaned with moistened rag and dried with a paper towel. Will use this anytime. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      This works awsome!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I love this!! This does not leave streaks on mirrors either!!! I love that it is no chemicals though it does have a vinegar smell. My previous soap and water left streaks. I have never seen my cabinet glass doors and mirrors so clean!!!! I used a clean old shirt to dry and it worked fine. I will use this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Great recipe. Works well, and I don't feel guilty having my kids help me wash windows. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I'll never buy Windex again. This is how my granny use to clean windows, can't believe I forgot how easy it was to make. No more breathing in those nasty chemicals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Works great! I use to use this years ago when I was first out on my own and didn't want to spend the money for commercial glass cleaner. If you're out of white vinegar, apple cider vinegar will work too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      OK, I think I've found the best recipe so far from this site for me. This stuff worked wonders on my mirrors and china closet mirrors. I used to use windex and paper towels. After I sprayed and wiped, I'd have to go over the area with a totally dry paper towel to get the streaks and smears off. But this stuff and the newspaper works like a charm. I haven't tried it on my shower door yet but that's next. You've made my day!! I may even start to like cleaning mirrors. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      When I was young, I was the only one who would (or could) sit out on the window sill and wash the windows. My Mom made up this solution, so I am very familiar with it. But.....I could go 2 steps further with this recipe. Take a window wiper and wipe off the excess water, then polish the glass with newspaper. The newspaper, for whatever reason, will polish the glass alot better than papertowel. Forget Windex....this is also very effective on shower doors, mirrors and glass tables, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Ironically, like the last reviewer, my hubby wanted to wash his car windows. Being a devoted "blue window cleaner" fan, he was very skeptical. Between this and the microfiber mitt (that doesn't leave lint), he was completely convinced this was much better and it wasn't even close! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      easy and works great, doesn't streak! DH insisted on buying windex to do the car windows, and I challenged him to use this instead. The heated windows from the warm weather and bright sun made the 'streaks' he THOUGHT it would leave completely vanish, and now he is a believer too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

    • on February 07, 2006

      I also use this to clean my glass shower doors. Works wonders, although as my DH says, the shower does smell like a salad for a day or so! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      I have used vinegar and water for years. This ratio not only takes the guess work out when it comes to the mixing, but makes for shiny streak free windows! I also like to use newspaper in the shining but a soft cloth works well too. Thank you for a vinegar/water mix that really works, making for shiny streak free windows.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      We use this window cleaning method a lot. The only thing we do differently is to use old glass towels instead of newspaper, because our newspapers always seem to have colored print--which leaves marks! The trick to cleaning windows is to never clean with ammonia--which streaks if it dries too fast--and never clean the window if the sun is shining on it. Another super easy way to clean windows if you don't like the vinegar smell is to add 1 teaspoon (about 1 fast squirt) of dishwashing liquid to a gallon of hot water. Using a soft cloth, wipe the windows with the soapy water, then buff dry with another soft cloth. Old Tee-shirts work great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      This is a great recipe!! I'll never buy glass cleaner again. I did add 3 or 4 drops of blue food coloring so that it looks like the store bought stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      Worked great!!! Can\\\'t beat the price.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      I have this "thing" about clean windows & I've been using vinegar & water for years - the results are fantastic! I've always guessed at the ratio but now I don't have to. Thanx Char!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheap and Easy Homemade Window Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (950 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes