Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chayote and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chayote and Onions

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2003

      I always said I never met a squash I didn't like -- well, I finally met one. First of all, I baked the chayote squash like I do any other. It was tasteless and horrible and I threw it out. I used the remainder with this recipe and the onions were very good. It was all right and eatable. I will never make it again. Chayote squash certainly needs a lot of help to give it taste. These are my thoughts and not reflective of the chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      This is very tasty and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      I really like chayote squash for a number of reasons- low cal, low carb, very versatile. This is an easy way to prepare the squash, but I do a few things differently: First, I halve and boil the chayote for about 15 minutes, to make them a little more tender. Then, I add the onions to a hot pan, with butter-flavor spray (to cut down on calories- no oil), saute them for about 3-5 minutes, then add the chayote. This is also good without oregano, or with a little shredded chedder cheese on top. I hope Darlene10 will try again, but if not, thanks for the recipe anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Each time I shop, I pick up a different fruit or vegetable that we haven't tried and this week it was the chayote squash. I came to this wonderful website to learn how to cook it. I wasn't even sure what it was. As a vegetarian who oftentimes steers clear of animal products, I made this for breakfast this morning (yes, breakfast) and it was delicious. I did not add the oregano to this because I did eat it in the morning and didn't think I could stomach organo that early. I felt the vegan margarine I used, along with the onions made this delightfully sweet. I love this recipe. I will continue buying chayote just to make it. I really like the crisp, crunchy texture and the sweetness of the onions. Yum. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I grow chayote so I am always looking for different ways to use them. I slice my chayote thinner so they cook faster. I also like to add a clove or two of garlic and some diced tomato. I also like to add some dried shrimp at the start to boost the flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Prepared as suggested and we loved it!! I put grated parmesan on the table so a sprinkle could be added, if desired. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was really simple, but good. I had to cook the chayote a little longer than the recipe says to get it to where it wasn't so crispy. Easy to prepare and a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I love how chayotes are mildly sweet and very flavorful....and this is a nice and simple way to prepare them. Growing up, my mother used to make this for me with the addition of ground pork. Thanks for reminding me about how much I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I'm working on adding a bigger variety of vegetables into our diet. I am not a squash person, but this was a pleasant surprise. DH and I really enjoyed this, the girls gave it one okay and one ng - but I'll keep trying!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I, too, have passed over chayote in my grocery stores until a new year's resolve to eat more veggies made me buy some. We tried this recipe and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      We both really like the carmelized onions contrasting with the chayotes ... very healthy, very easy, and very tasty. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      chayote is really a fruit, yes it is. I loved this recipe. I also par boiled the chayote and I added a crushed garlic clove. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      I used small patty pan squash instead of the chayote and also added some garlic for more flavor. Quick and easy way to prepare squash. Thank you, Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chayote and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.5
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    68%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 200.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes