18 Reviews

OMG! I just made this chili and this is my new favorite chili! I agree with the other reviewer about cooking the meat with the spices brings out a wonderful flavor! I cut the recipe roughly in half and made it all in one pot instead of the three and it still came out GREAT! I cooked the beef in the oil and butter and then added the spices halfway through the meat being done then added the peppers, onions, garlic and parsley. I let that cook until the green pepper and onion started softening and then I followed the rest of the recipe adding all the other stuff in. (Except for the beans that went in after simmering for an hour) I used canned pinto beans so there was no need to precook the beans in step one. I just threw the can in after the chili simmered for an hour. Came out EXCELLENT! Very easy! Thank you for sharing this recipe, James!! I finally have a chili recipe that I actually really like now!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef of 5 February 17, 2008

I made this for company and it was a hit! Some of the kids didn't finish their portion and I caught their dad eating it up before he put the plate in the dishwasher! (He had already had 3rds!) I didn't put in the beans because I am the only one in the family that likes them and I did it in the crock pot, letting it simmer all day. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of Five May 12, 2003

This chili was a big hit! I have tried many chili recipes and this was the best by far! I substituted 1 lb of ground beef w/pork sausage-but everything else stayed the same. Perfect for a get together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica Dawson October 10, 2002

Apparently, legendary actress Elizabeth Taylor had this chili flown in from Beverly Hills while working on Cleopatra in Rome in the 1960s. After making this recipe, I can see why! This will be my go-to chili recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
commercesd October 20, 2014

This recipe is so close to the one I had used for 30 years. Then the last 15 years I kept trying new recipes. So, last night I made this. The only difference was I added (1) small can of tomato sauce, and (1) small can of paste, like I use to. My husband said this is the best chili he has ever had, and I remembered how good the chili was I use to make. This made me wonder why I ever swayed away from it. Wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhmlhill February 11, 2014

Chili is fantastic! I bought chuck and pork shoulder and ground half at home and cubed the rest. Texture is perfect and the flavor has wonderful depth. I used Gebhardts chili powder based on other reviews/recipes that said it was essential and used by the restaurant. The only other alteration was half the butter...a full stick seemed excessive. It's one of the nicest chili recipes I've had. I plan to serve with homemade bread. We will definitely make this part of the winter menu! I used this version of the recipe to make a smaller batch. http://whatscookingamerica.net/Soup/ChasenChili.htm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katekreitzer January 09, 2013

This chili is fantastic and incredibly easy. I bought pork shoulder and beef chuck and then ground half the meat and cubed the rest. The texture of the chili was perfect with this combo. I used Gebhardt's chili powder based on other recipes/reviews stating that was what the original recipe called for. My husband and I agreed this is one of the better chili recipes we've had. To make a smaller batch I used the following recipe and cut the butter in half: http://whatscookingamerica.net/Soup/ChasenChili.htm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkreitzer January 07, 2013

My family has been making this chili recipe since I was a small child more than 50 years ago. It's a recipe that stands up well. However, over the years, I've altered it a little. Here are my changes:

Instead of pinto beans, we use red beans. Red kidneys are okay but actually use red beans which are smaller and more tender.

Instead of parsley we use cilantro. When this recipe was first developed, cilantro was not commonly available in the US. Gives it a more authentic flavor.

Instead of canned whole tomatoes, use crushed tomatoes. makes the chili less watery.

Add chopped Chipotle peppers to give it a smoky, spicier flavor.



Now, we usually triple the recipe and don't add beans, and then freeze the chili in quart containers. Then when we thaw it out, we add the beans. Keeps them from losing their texture.

Hope you enjoy my suggestions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jheath53 October 05, 2012

We thought this recipe was awesome. I did add some Cocoa powder to the final dish. The result is a very rich and flavor packed chili. I will make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 19, 2009

We love this chili. I halved the recipe and added salt,drained the ground beef,used canned pinto and kidney beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danab36330 July 12, 2008
Chasen's Chili