Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chasen's Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chasen's Chili

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2008

      OMG! I just made this chili and this is my new favorite chili! I agree with the other reviewer about cooking the meat with the spices brings out a wonderful flavor! I cut the recipe roughly in half and made it all in one pot instead of the three and it still came out GREAT! I cooked the beef in the oil and butter and then added the spices halfway through the meat being done then added the peppers, onions, garlic and parsley. I let that cook until the green pepper and onion started softening and then I followed the rest of the recipe adding all the other stuff in. (Except for the beans that went in after simmering for an hour) I used canned pinto beans so there was no need to precook the beans in step one. I just threw the can in after the chili simmered for an hour. Came out EXCELLENT! Very easy! Thank you for sharing this recipe, James!! I finally have a chili recipe that I actually really like now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      I made this for company and it was a hit! Some of the kids didn't finish their portion and I caught their dad eating it up before he put the plate in the dishwasher! (He had already had 3rds!) I didn't put in the beans because I am the only one in the family that likes them and I did it in the crock pot, letting it simmer all day. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2002

      This chili was a big hit! I have tried many chili recipes and this was the best by far! I substituted 1 lb of ground beef w/pork sausage-but everything else stayed the same. Perfect for a get together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      Apparently, legendary actress Elizabeth Taylor had this chili flown in from Beverly Hills while working on Cleopatra in Rome in the 1960s. After making this recipe, I can see why! This will be my go-to chili recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      This recipe is so close to the one I had used for 30 years. Then the last 15 years I kept trying new recipes. So, last night I made this. The only difference was I added (1) small can of tomato sauce, and (1) small can of paste, like I use to. My husband said this is the best chili he has ever had, and I remembered how good the chili was I use to make. This made me wonder why I ever swayed away from it. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      Chili is fantastic! I bought chuck and pork shoulder and ground half at home and cubed the rest. Texture is perfect and the flavor has wonderful depth. I used Gebhardts chili powder based on other reviews/recipes that said it was essential and used by the restaurant. The only other alteration was half the butter...a full stick seemed excessive. It's one of the nicest chili recipes I've had. I plan to serve with homemade bread. We will definitely make this part of the winter menu! I used this version of the recipe to make a smaller batch. http://whatscookingamerica.net/Soup/ChasenChili.htm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This chili is fantastic and incredibly easy. I bought pork shoulder and beef chuck and then ground half the meat and cubed the rest. The texture of the chili was perfect with this combo. I used Gebhardt's chili powder based on other recipes/reviews stating that was what the original recipe called for. My husband and I agreed this is one of the better chili recipes we've had. To make a smaller batch I used the following recipe and cut the butter in half: http://whatscookingamerica.net/Soup/ChasenChili.htm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      My family has been making this chili recipe since I was a small child more than 50 years ago. It's a recipe that stands up well. However, over the years, I've altered it a little. Here are my changes:

      Instead of pinto beans, we use red beans. Red kidneys are okay but actually use red beans which are smaller and more tender.

      Instead of parsley we use cilantro. When this recipe was first developed, cilantro was not commonly available in the US. Gives it a more authentic flavor.

      Instead of canned whole tomatoes, use crushed tomatoes. makes the chili less watery.

      Add chopped Chipotle peppers to give it a smoky, spicier flavor.



      Now, we usually triple the recipe and don't add beans, and then freeze the chili in quart containers. Then when we thaw it out, we add the beans. Keeps them from losing their texture.

      Hope you enjoy my suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      We thought this recipe was awesome. I did add some Cocoa powder to the final dish. The result is a very rich and flavor packed chili. I will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      We love this chili. I halved the recipe and added salt,drained the ground beef,used canned pinto and kidney beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I was a little skeptical with using 3 pots to cook this chili, I usually throw it all in one but followed the recipe with the execption of no parsely, I didn't have any, and this was really really delicious. I think the cumin and green peppers really made a difference. What ever it was, this is a keeper!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Love it, love it, love it! I have used chili beans when we are in a hurry. I have also used red kidney beans. This is our favorite chili recipe... It's going to be 28 tonight and we have it simmering now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Our church has an annual soup supper after church. I brought this chili and made it exactly as the directions said and it was wonderful. I brought it in a 7 and one half qt. crock pot and it all went. Thank you so much for this recipe. I will make it again and again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Wow! I have tried several chili recipes and this is, by far, the best!!! The entire family enjoyed it, especially my four-year-old and eighteen-month-old who still have chili stains on their faces. It is not a spicy chili, but a very aromatic and flavorful chili. I also want to mention that I enjoyed the method used to cook this chili as much as I enjoyed eating it. Most chili recipes direct you to add the chili powder and cumin to an already soupy mix; this recipe directs you to "cook" the chili powder and cumin with the ground beef. In my opinion, this method seems to really bring out the full flavor of the chili. Thanks for a great recipe, James! It has become my standard chili recipe and, as a result, has earned a special place in my personal cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Fantastic!! I have never liked chili, but it is my husband's favorite. I made this recipe, and he said it was the best he had ever had! Best of all, I liked it, too. I cut the recipe in half since it is just the two of us, and it still made a lot of soup (my husband says he will eat it for lunch all week). Instead of the pinto beans, I simply added a can of hot chili beans after the hamburger was browned. Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Very good chili! I can't believe I actually used that much chili powder and didn't need milk to cool my mouth! It was perfectly blended with peppers and onions to create a splendid chili! Thank you for the post! My son said it was more filling than any of the other chilis we have made. Yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      While eating his bowl of this chili, my husband said, "This is good! What makes this so much better than other chili recipes we've tried?" I personally think it is the green pepper and extra cumin, which we don't usually put in our other chili recipes. Chili powder usually has cumin as an ingredient but this bit of extra along with the sweetness that green peppers add make this recipe the one we will use from now on! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      Too cool if this really is Chasen's Chili recipe- either way, my family loved it and requested more more more. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chasen's Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (5208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1864.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1117
    59%
    Total Fat 124.1 g
    191%
    Saturated Fat 52.6 g
    263%
    Cholesterol 441.1 mg
    147%
    Sodium 1576.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 25.8 g
    103%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 116.2 g
    232%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites