22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful. Just what I have been looking for. I halved the recipe and used up all of the wonton wrapers and still had filling left over so I used small tortillas and rolled them up like cigars! I may never go back to Taco Time again, it kicked their crisp meat burrito's a**!!!! I thought they needed a little more crunch to the filling so I added 1/4c finely diced raw onion and 1/4c finely diced red pepper after the cooling stage. And i found the cheese strings kept sticking out of the wrappers so I just mixed the cheese right into the filling once it had cooled. Can't wait to see the boys reaction tonight, bringing it over to my boyfriend's brothers house for the UFC fight tonight! Thanks Charmie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic May 23, 2009

I really loved these little wonton bites. The flavors were really great. I wrapped them into more of a wonton shape and served them with salsa, sour cream and Easy Guacamole (#314831). This was part of my Mexican Fiesta night in which I also served Corn and Black Bean Quesadillas (#293349) and Cheesy Salsa Rice (#161522). Made for ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 17, 2009

Decided to make these into mini tacos when I worried how long the assembly/cooking would take, since I was making a double batch of these for a party. So, put the wonton skins into mini muffin cups, baked at 350 until lightly browned, added the meat/bean mixture and topped with the cheese. Back into the oven until bubbly. I swear, I have never seen anything disappear so quickly. I made them two weeks later for another party and again, they disappeared faster than anything. (I had to act quickly to get one of the last ones to taste test it for the review!) Oh, and this is without any sour cream/salsa/guacamole on the side...if I had done that, this would be 10 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tokyoshoes July 26, 2008

OUTSTANDING! Made these today to take to a party and they were fabulous! I did deep fry these rather than in the frying pan as suggested. One word of caution, don't seal them too tight, as they will 'bubble' when you fry them. Served with sour cream - YUM!!! :) Well worth the time. Great recipe, a real keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve August 11, 2007

These were excellant, but I also made some with a fajita-esque filling. I used ground chicken and sauteed some onions, green and red peppers, fajita seasoning and chipotle powder. Like mini chicken fajitas. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SabastionCole May 04, 2007

Great little won tons for snacks on the go. I had a half package of won tons left and was looking for a recipe to use them up. Just happens we made tacos this weekend and had some meat mixture left. I did use ground chicken in place of beef. These little devils turned out great. My DH will have these for a snack when he gets home from work today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook March 07, 2011

These were really good! I also halved the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC August 17, 2010

These were delicious! I stuffed the wontons a lot and ended up using only one of the wonton wrapper packages.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny February 19, 2010

Yummalicious! I've never used won tons before, but this recipe looked too good to pass up. I used Morning Star recipe crumbles (soy hamburger) and only 1 can of vegetarian refried beans. I fried 8 of them for our taste testing and will make the rest Sunday. My family is going to love this!! Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louisville Mimi October 06, 2008

These were really nice. My little brother fell in love with them, he kept calling them litte Krispy tacos. They are a bit time comsuming because the frying takes a some time, but the end result is very plesant. I wonder if I can spray some spam on the won toms and bake them to make them healthier? Has any one ever baked a wonton before? I saved a few from frying, so I will try to bake them and report back tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spyce April 02, 2008
Charmie's Won Tons Ole!