38 Reviews

Agreed w/everyone else that the temp was too high. I even baked mine at 350 and they turned out great (my oven tends to get really hot). I also did put the remaining dough in the fridge in between batches b/c as someone else posted, the dough got soft really quick. The cookies themselves came out BIG, SOFT, DELICIOUS...PERFECT!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnaricke February 28, 2010

Charmie, this is my new, go-to sugar cookie recipe! I've made these three times with rave reviews! I made exactly as directed and the cookies turned out perfect! These cookies aren't overly sweet, making them great for icing and decorating. Thanks so much! (Note: If you have large cookie cutters like I do (Crate and Barrel), I would suggest doubling the recipe. The first time I made this recipe, I didn't double it and I only got 10 cookies! LOL!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne April 29, 2011

I made a batch of these last week to get a head start on holiday baking, and today I had to go back and make a second batch because these worked out really well! They're not too sweet, which is a good thing because the frosting I use is very sweet. The dough was easy to work with and the cookies retain their cut-out shapes after baking (they don't puff up so much that the shapes get distorted). I increased the vanilla to 1 teaspoon. I followed previous reviewers' suggestions and decreased the oven temperature to 375 degrees. Baked for 8 minutes and they turned out perfect. My 3 year old had a blast helping me decorate the first batch, and she's anxiously awaiting tomorrow when we get to put frosting and sprinkles on the latest ones. Thanks so much for posting!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts November 15, 2009

I recently made these for Valentine's Day using heart shaped cutters. I made jumbo sized ones and only had 14 cookies. So next time I will double the recipe. I iced them with a powdered sugar/white syrup icing. Really good and so fast and easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannaB March 04, 2010

This recipe is great. The cookies turn out very soft and fluffy. Also was a very easy dough to work with to roll out and cut cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lezlie B February 13, 2010

This a great buttery recipe! I made a double batch, added 1 tsp. of vanilla and baked at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. This is my new sugar cookie recipe - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoonRooster Chick November 27, 2009

Excellent recipe! I have never been a fan of sugar cookies, but these are nothing like the old family recipes I've been making! These are soft, and not too sweet, just melt in your mouth. Be sure to keep the dough very cold, it can get hard to work with. I did add 1/4 c. extra flour, just for easier rolling. I am now a fan, Thanks, Charmie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shedeviljessica August 20, 2009

LOVE THESE COOKIES! I made 3 batches the week of Valentine's Day. More flour makes a thick, cake like cookie. Less flour makes a soft fluffy cookie. I'll use this recipe for all of my future sugar cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Bear February 23, 2009

These were pretty good and came out decently- but they just didn't seem sugary enough for me(I have a huge sweet tooth!) However, everyone else liked them just fine and this recipe is pretty much idiot proof :) Thanks Charmie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsBritt December 16, 2008

Wonderful! I am not much of a baker, but these will make everyone think I am. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myownwings December 07, 2008
Charmie's Soft Sugar Cookies