190 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Finally made this recipe. Loved, loved, loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom April 20, 2011

Absolutely delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes April 18, 2011

Too easy and so delicious!! Due to laziness, I used a store bought rotisserie chicken and just shredded it with my hands. I bought the grapes, but did not put them in as I wasn't sure if my boyfriend would like it with them. (But I did make a couple spoonfuls for myself with the grapes on the side and it was just as with and without them.) I am sometimes hesitant to use nuts, but the taste of the walnuts I chose to use were not overpowering. It was just right. I am living overseas and they do not have miracle whip so just used lite mayo. I added the salt, but I would suggest trying it without it first and then adding to taste. So easy and so good. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobynTF April 10, 2011

I hosted a wedding shower and my guests raved about this chicken salad. I served it on croissants with curly green lettuce to give it a burst of color. I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written. Next time I will add a few chopped apples and some dried cranberries to see how they work out. This is definitely a recipe I will use many more times in the future. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhioBobbi September 23, 2010

Great recipe. The following tips are not meant to detract from original recipe, it was great, just a few tweeks for me personally. I left onions out due to personal taste as they seem to overpower delicate tastes for me but a little onion powder and pepper gives a little flavor without overpowering. I will cut back on salt next time, I had rotisserie chicken seasoning on my boneless skinless chicken breasts that I baked, and didn't figure the salt in the chicken breasts adding to overall the saltiness. So use caution if using heavily salted rotisserie chicken or maybe add to taste at the end. I have previously been a strictly mayo user, but had bought miracle whip for another recipe and was looking to use it up. This will keep me buying miracle whip, I think that is what adds that little extra tanginess. Also worcester sauce really added a zip and I loved the recipe! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Top of the Hill September 11, 2010

Good Chicken Salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janieintn August 26, 2010

Ok so AWESOME salad! The only reason I only gave it 4 stars is because I felt like the worcestershire sauce (while I beleive vital to the recipes flavor) did not balance out the sweetness of the grapes enough; so I added a pinch (a rough 1/4 tsp) of garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, and mustard powder. It was GREAT! This will definatly be my GO TO chicken salad recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsironchefnot August 20, 2010

What a fantasic recipe. I used Worcestershire sause with tobassco and it gave it a little kick. I also used a rotessire chicken from Wal-Mart. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JULIERN #1257720 June 14, 2010

Yummylicious and easy! Thanks to another reviewer, I substituted the Miracle Whip w/ 1 C. of real mayo, 1 tsp. lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp. sugar. I poached three chicken breasts on the stove after brining them for 1 hour in 2 C. of water and 1-1/2 Tbsp. of salt in the refrigerator. Be sure to thoroughly rinse them b/4 poaching. This makes them nice and tender. I omitted the onion and salt (personal preference). Everything else is the same except that I added 1/2 tsp. dill, too. Tasted just like the chicken salad at a tea room here in St. Louis!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simplifying Things May 17, 2010

Delicious! I used a mix of pecans and walnuts and they were delicious in this recipe. I also added a few dried cranberries as I had a few on hand. This was exactly what I wanted, and so easy to make! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I finely chopped some baby carrots and used them instead. They added nice crunch and some sweetness. I ate mine with pretzels for lunch, but I would have loved to eat it as a sandwich on a croissant. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two May 03, 2010
Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes