Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2007

      Made last week and my husband loved it. Was in a grocery store today, and their honey almond chicken salad was $9.99 per pound!!! And, not as good as this one - and this place has great salads. I bought some boneless skinless breasts for $1.99 per pound, and for a whole lot less have a better salad. Last time, I also added glazed slivered almonds to the recipe. I used recipe 15362 for Glazed Nuts. This time, since I didn't have Miracle Whip, I added about a tablespoon of honey. Delicious. Served on some pretzel rolls with arugula. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I made this for my daughter's bridal shower and everyone enjoyed it. I substituted scallions for the onion and mayo for the miracle whip. I'll make again, but for my own personal taste, I'll omit the worcestershire sauce, which I feel detracts from the flavor balance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Great salad! The Worcestershire sauce makes all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I made this for a Father's day picnic for my new father-in-law. He was impressed. Putting this recipe in a croissant adds a touch of elegance. Goes very well with a light fruit salad. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I used canned chicken and added some green onion and pepper. Besure to mix the Miricle Whip and Worcestershire with the chicken before adding the veggies and grapes. Also, forget the salt there was more then enough in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was great. I made it for a picnic tonight and I can't stop tasting it. I didn't use celery because we don't like it. I used green onions, pecans and canned chicken. I love the flavor of worcestershire and never would have thought of adding it to chicken salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Absolutely delicious. Fabulous on pita or croissants. I subbed mayonainse for the miracle whip, but did everything else the same. I think I could have eaten the whole bowl myself :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      We loved it. I had some chicken cutlets from Friday and didn't want to toss it... This was a hit. We had it for a hot day dinner - I had it with avocado, tomatoe in a pita pocket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      My Mom & I love chicken salad, especially when it has grapes & nuts in it. This had just the right combination of ingredients. This will be my go to chicken salad recipe from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Thanks for posting! This is a very traditional southern(USA) recipe. I dry roasted my pecans, which really brings out the flavor of the pecans. If you don't have miracle whip, try adding about a teaspoon of lemon juice and a half teaspoon of sugar to regular mayo. Thanks again. Great summertime recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Very nice!! I also crumbled fresh bacon bits to the "meat", omitted the onion, added spring onion rather, green pepper, cubed swiss cheese! Tossed with a shredded red lettuce. The dressing I improvised with 3/4 tsp poulty seasoning, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (there comes the garlic again) 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp black pepper, and 1 tbls lemon juice. Thank you for sharing this core recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This was very good! I made it with canned chicken and fat free Miracle whip. The grapes are a nice touch. This was very easy so I will be making it again soon! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      I used this recipe for an appetizer at a skin care party I held at my home...it was a hit! I used canned chicken instead of cooked chicken for convenience and I used fat free Miracle Whip and both red and green grapes. I served it inside a loaf of Hawaiian bread that I dug out the middle of to place the salad in. It was awesome! No one ever noticed I had used fat-free anything! I had to include the recipe when I delivered everyone's skin care orders!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This was pretty good! I think it needs a little more seasoning to make my 5-star list, though. I will probably make this again and follow seasoning suggestions from the other reviwers. Loved the grape and walnut addition! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I made some alterations to this recipe but after searching through all the chicken salad recipes posted this one was closest to what we like. I subbed slivered almonds for the nuts, left out the worcestershire sauce, used real mayo and added 2 teaspoons of Penzey's Balti seasoning. We loved the cool sweetness of the grapes, crunch of the nuts and the low heat of the Balti. Worked very well on big buns for a picnic while camping by the lake. I will make this again. It is very adaptable to personal tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Awesome and Thank You. I used cashews since I had them on hand. I remember this recipe from a deli in CT (or close to it). I found a need to add a bit more salt and some pepper, but that is for my taste. Again awesome, I doubled the recipe and stored some in vacuum bags so that it last through the week. Was so sick of the commercial sandwiches at work, what a nice change, will have some on crackers and a nice sandwich for lunch. Thanks again for sharing. The Worcestershire sauce was a great addition, just enough with over powering the salad. Very satisfied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I made this on Thursday, we ate it all up and on Friday I was making it again. :) An easy-to-prepare taste treat! I served mine on a crossaint and it was awesome! Tried it on pita the next day and wasnt as outstanding, but had a lot less calories on the pita. lol Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I have been searching for a recipe like this. It was good. I did add an apple. I think next time I will leave out the celery and cut back on the onion a bit (or use a sweeter one). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This is one of my favorite recipes! It is wonderful. When I am low carbing, I use real mayo and omit the grapes. It still tastes terrific, even without any bread. Don't leave out the worcestershire ... it is the secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Very good on an onion roll. I used scallions instead of regular onion because they are milder and skipped the celery. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.6
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    61%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 59.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 524.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites