Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes

    Average Rating:

    186 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 186

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2007

      I did like this salad, but I think next time I make it I will use real mayo. I am not a big fan of Miracle Whip but did use it since the recipe called for it. The Worcestershire was a nice touch. I have been making chicken salad for a long time with grapes and nuts and love to change varieties of nuts. I used walnuts this time and roasted them before adding. All and all a very good recipe. Will make again but with mayo. Thanks Sherri35

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Definitely 5 stars all the way! I used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 Miracle Whip, added the pecans. Really good stuff! Next time I might try adding some sliced mango, but it surely doesn't need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      This is amazing! I've made it multiple times and always get rave reviews. It is totally my go-to lunch for friends. I make it as the recipe calls and put it on a croissant. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This is a great recipe!! I put in dried cranberries and since I like a little spicy, added red pepper flakes to taste. This is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Great chicken salad - I had been craving this for awhile and this hit the spot! I added garlic (about 2 T since I LOVE garlic) and omitted the nuts. Thank you for recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Fabulous chicken salad! There is definitely a reason this is a 5 star recipe by over 100 people! It had just the right combo of flavors and texture. I would highly recommend trying this before any others! The reason I'm lowering the stars after making it a second time is the added salt is just way too much, I think I'd cut it out all together next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      yes, this was really good. Just from reading the reviews alone made me run down to the store to get the ingredients needed to make this salad, and it was well worth it. Thanks so much for sharing. s/n: I followed the recipe exactly as written except I used used half pecans and half walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Wish I could give you 10 stars. This is the most requested dish for work. I have to double the recipe! I do cheat and buy a rotassire chicken in the store. I have tried all the different flavors and the taste does not change. We like it best with the black seedless grapes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Hi Sherri. Awesome recipe! I've tried it with many different fruits... apples, raisins, Craisins and red seedless grapes. All are wonderful. I do, however, cut the celery down to 1/4 c (just because I don't care for it) and only use about 1/3 c of diced onion (because I like to leave it sit overnight, and then the onion really takes over). I also add just a pinch of mustard (because that's how I've been making it for 40 years. I too love "Miracle Whip"!!! Thanks so much for dressing up a classic go-to sandwich (croisants rock!). P.S. I skip the nuts altogether... they don't work welll with false teeth! LOL. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Excellent chicken salad! I made the recipe exactly as posted the first time, then with mayonnaise and a touch of lemon juice the second: both were equally good (it's just that we don't generally have Miracle Whip in the house). This recipe is easy, quick, and delicious whether served as a sandwich filling, as a stuffing for tomatoes or green peppers, or even on its own with toast or crackers. A definite 'do again' for us, and an outstanding use for leftover baked chicken breast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is an amazing recipe, Sherri! The first time I followed the recipe, the second, I substituted mayo for miracle whip (my family prefers the former) and it turned out just as well! I bought some croissants from the grocery store, slit them in half and we ate them that way...my family could not get enough! Great for potlucks, too...if you dare to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Very good! Perfect for our day of drag racing. Ate with forks instead of on sandwiches, very hot at our race trailer this time of year so a cool salad is best, but now going to eat the leftovers open faced broiled with cheese on top. I made double the amount thus allowing for leftovers. Thank you Charlie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Superb!! I halved the onion amount and omitted grapes. It was soooo good on soft wheat bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      Very tasty. I almost forgot the Worchestershire, tasted the salad and then realized that I hadn't added it - It really popped the flavor. Great recipe to use up that bit of left over chicken

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      This is so good. Perfect in summer. Although I did change the Worcestershire sauce to Lea & Perrins for chicken. I liked that taste better. It is good both with and without the nuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      I really enjoyed this, it's a different and delicious way to prepare chicken salad. I left out the nuts because I don't care for them. I love the extra 'wang' that the grapes and Worcestershire add. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      If you want to make this so much better, toast the nuts before chopping. then use half REAL may & half sour cream in place of the Miracle Whip. Omit the Worcestershire sauce.<br/>Serve with lettuce on croissant rolls.<br/>You will think you died & went to heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      I used the Kraft squeezable mayo, and added a little bit of lime & some pepper. This was overall really good, I think the chicken needed a little something so next time I will lightly season it. I got crazy with red grapes, they are a nice touch. I omitted celery;although, it does have a nice crunch. I wanted to find something as good as Mccalister's and I think I just did! I'm letting all the ingredients settle overnight and putting them on a croissant w/ lettuce & tomato slices :) this is delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2014

      Great chicken salad. Wasn't sure I would like the worchestershire but was good flavor. A bit salty so may cut that a little. Served with potato sticks on top and apple crisp for dessert. Great for a warm day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      Great recipe but suggest using low-fat plain yougurt in place of the Miracle Whip/Mayo. It's healthier and lighter, a huge bonus during the dog days of summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.6
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    61%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 59.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 524.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites