186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did like this salad, but I think next time I make it I will use real mayo. I am not a big fan of Miracle Whip but did use it since the recipe called for it. The Worcestershire was a nice touch. I have been making chicken salad for a long time with grapes and nuts and love to change varieties of nuts. I used walnuts this time and roasted them before adding. All and all a very good recipe. Will make again but with mayo. Thanks Sherri35

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tess #2 October 07, 2007

Definitely 5 stars all the way! I used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 Miracle Whip, added the pecans. Really good stuff! Next time I might try adding some sliced mango, but it surely doesn't need it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrtfan July 11, 2010

This is amazing! I've made it multiple times and always get rave reviews. It is totally my go-to lunch for friends. I make it as the recipe calls and put it on a croissant. YUM!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamandlisag August 19, 2010

This is a great recipe!! I put in dried cranberries and since I like a little spicy, added red pepper flakes to taste. This is definitely a keeper!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pianoplayer February 23, 2012

Great chicken salad - I had been craving this for awhile and this hit the spot! I added garlic (about 2 T since I LOVE garlic) and omitted the nuts. Thank you for recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Kansas May 26, 2010

Fabulous chicken salad! There is definitely a reason this is a 5 star recipe by over 100 people! It had just the right combo of flavors and texture. I would highly recommend trying this before any others! The reason I'm lowering the stars after making it a second time is the added salt is just way too much, I think I'd cut it out all together next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny November 21, 2010

yes, this was really good. Just from reading the reviews alone made me run down to the store to get the ingredients needed to make this salad, and it was well worth it. Thanks so much for sharing. s/n: I followed the recipe exactly as written except I used used half pecans and half walnuts.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Healthy and Happy May 24, 2010

Wish I could give you 10 stars. This is the most requested dish for work. I have to double the recipe! I do cheat and buy a rotassire chicken in the store. I have tried all the different flavors and the taste does not change. We like it best with the black seedless grapes. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazynthekitchen July 07, 2009

Hi Sherri. Awesome recipe! I've tried it with many different fruits... apples, raisins, Craisins and red seedless grapes. All are wonderful. I do, however, cut the celery down to 1/4 c (just because I don't care for it) and only use about 1/3 c of diced onion (because I like to leave it sit overnight, and then the onion really takes over). I also add just a pinch of mustard (because that's how I've been making it for 40 years. I too love "Miracle Whip"!!! Thanks so much for dressing up a classic go-to sandwich (croisants rock!). P.S. I skip the nuts altogether... they don't work welll with false teeth! LOL. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 29, 2012

Excellent chicken salad! I made the recipe exactly as posted the first time, then with mayonnaise and a touch of lemon juice the second: both were equally good (it's just that we don't generally have Miracle Whip in the house). This recipe is easy, quick, and delicious whether served as a sandwich filling, as a stuffing for tomatoes or green peppers, or even on its own with toast or crackers. A definite 'do again' for us, and an outstanding use for leftover baked chicken breast!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Marie B. September 24, 2011
Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes