31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for dinner tonight and served it with broiled yellowfin tuna steaks and rice. It was really a very good squash casserole and I would give it a 4-1/2 rating if I could. The nutmeg is something that you notice but you can't define what it is that you are tasting. I never would have thought of adding nutmeg to a squash casserole but I like it. Thanks for posting a good recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TPubmgjbd April 06, 2003

This was pretty good, but not the best squash casserole I have ever made. However, it does have a little something different with the nutmeg. I would add a little more next time. I used regular cheese, and 2% milk instead of skim. It was a little runny...next time I will use half and half, and top the casserole with crushed ritz crackers and butter instead of more cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 27, 2006

In one word...YUM!! Equal parts of squash and onions balance the dish nicely. But you are right..it's that touch of nutneg that makes it special! Thanks so much for posting. This is one recipe that will served next Thanksgiving! =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook April 09, 2003

I didn't have any crackers, so I subbed garlic flavored bread crumbs. I didn't have paprika, so I skipped it. I was a little weary of the nutmeg, so I cut it down to 1/4 ts. Like others, I sauteed my onions in olive oil before adding the squash to steam. This came out so delicious. My husband said, "Make sure you keep this recipe," which is an amazing compliment coming from him. We both went back for seconds, and he doesn't even like squash. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe, I'm sure it will be a new summer favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka August 20, 2011

This was delicious! It tasted like a quiche. Even with all of the healthful substitutions, it still tasted rich. My DH requested that next time I add diced ham and serve this as a main course with a salad, he liked it that much. I have to agree.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook December 17, 2010

I was given some very large homegrown squash and needed a recipe for them. I tried this very simple recipe and my husband and I love it. We'll defintely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nogoodcook August 08, 2010

I used soy cheese and added some other veggies that I had on hand (fresh tomato, grated carrot, zucchini). Also didn't have ritz, so just used some canned breadcrumbs and sprayed some butter spray on top prior to baking. This is a fantastic recipe... I could eat this as a meal! Thanks so much for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee June 19, 2010

This was a pleasantly different vegetable side and puts abundant yellow squash to good use. To further reduce the fat in the recipe I used 4 oz low fat cheddar and 4 oz fat free cheddar with good results. I also halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 sqare pan without a problem. The only change I'll make in the future will be to not steam the squash, as I like a my veggies crunchy and the 45 minutes of baking time is necessary for the casserole to come together, but leaves the squash mushy. For variations, I bet a little green pepper or jalepeno added would be delish. Thank you BeachGirl for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ July 20, 2006

This does freeze beautifully! I didn't even thaw before baking, and it warmed up wonderfully. Love the nutmeg! This high note is even better after it's been frozen. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AwShucks July 05, 2006

I made the recipe as directed. My husband loved it. He said that it had more 'kick' than other, similiar recipes that I've tried. The nutmeg makes a difference. I also liked mixing low-fat & regular cheese for a healthier version that tasted the same as full-fat. And, it smelled wonderful while baking. Also made this recipe to go with Thanksgiving dinner. Mom loved it too--even though it was replacing her traditional version of squash casserole. This one is now #1 at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krp January 27, 2004
Charleston Yellow Squash Casserole