Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Charishma's Very Tasty Bhindi Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Charishma's Very Tasty Bhindi Masala

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2011

      I printed out this recipe years ago and have been making it frequently ever since! My spouse and I love this dish. I cook it just as the author indicates, but with two exceptions. First, I cut the okra into small pieces (the same size of traditional southern fried okra). Also, for step 5, I cook the okra for longer than the author indicates - usually until it starts to shrink and turn brown around the edges. When it hits that point, it becomes very soft and absorbs the spices very well. We eat it hot over jasmine rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Very nice and tasty. I just added some curry leaves to it to make it even more aromatic. i love your recipes. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I made this yesterday and it came out delicious, with a very rich taste and great tangy aroma - very similar to the bhindi masala my aunty in India makes, which was the very taste I was trying to recreate. The only change I made was to add water to make it more like a gravy and adding fresh coriander leaves upon serving, which turned out very well. Thanks so much for uploading this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Soooo good. I will be making this often. Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Absolutely scrumptious! I've used other recipes for bhindi masala, and this one is the best by far... the bhindi stayed firm, not chewy, and had a wonderful flavor and aroma. I added a few more green chiles to up the heat a bit and served with homemade rotis and Basmati. Thanks for posting this fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      I've made this twice and my husband loves it, he's very fussy, highly recommended to others. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I really liked the bhindi masala dish, it was very scrumptious to say the least! I followed the recipe as is, but I think next time I would reduce the onions by half and increase the bhindi. Also, I would not cover while cooking otherwise it makes it slimy. Thanks for sharing your recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      This was absolutely the best okra dish I have ever had. I am generally not a big fan of okra. I am doing an around the world series of meals; this week I focused on India. So, I was looking for items that could be used as side dishes. I searched by food ratings. This dish had a high rating. It was just fantastic. When I was a child, my mom bought the frozen okra. She fixed it in a very plain way; therefore, I was never a fan of okra. This dish has really changed my mind. I bought fresh okra and used all the listed seasonings. This was a really great dish. I highly recommend it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This recipe is AMAZING! I can't even begin to describe just how delicious it was. I did make a few modifications because of what I had on hand: I used ground mustard (2x as much) and ground cumin (as called for) because I didn't have the seeds. I also used a can of green chilies (next time will add two!) and serrano peppers - b/c I bought them thinking they were what I needed (if buying fresh, you want Anaheim). The serranos added a really delicious kick to the recipe! =) I also used a large can of whole tomatoes which I then chopped. I'm sure fresh is better, but again, I used what I had on hand. The Okra looked a little slimy when I was cooking it, but the slime factor got cancelled out by the other ingredients. I left my okra a little bit crunchy because I wanted to avoid sliminess. The crunch was a really good contrast. Lastly, I had to add extra tumeric and coriander at the end. I had a lot of tomatoes, which mellowed out the flavors. This dish did take awhile to make - But I tend to be very leisurely when cooking. Bottom line: I cannot wait to make this again! Absolutely DELICIOUS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      The recipe is good. Very flavorful. I have made it about 5 times and am a firm believer in using fresh okra. The actual write-up of the recipe could be improved to list the ingredients in the order of the instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Charishma's Very Tasty Bhindi Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.6
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    77%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 453.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes