11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, made this tonight and it's SO good. The flavors really complement each other well. I had ingredients for another bean and chard soup recipe but it didn't seem very appetizing, so I searched food.com and found this one. I didn't have any pasta, and I used a tablespoon or two of real bacon bits instead of bacon (which made it less fatty but still delicious). Note: don't forget the nutmeg! It really goes well with the chard and beans. Like another commenter, I used an immersion blender and blended it about 30% before adding the chard, and I added a little Parmesan as a garnish instead of olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moochoux January 24, 2015

I loved this! At first I thought I had too much chard, but it wilted away and everything was in perfect proportion. I used red chard, and loved the color contrast. Delicious on the first cool night of the season. Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 30, 2012

I was looking for a change from my usual chicken soup and I had some chard, so this soup really fit the bill and it was delicious!! My DH said it was a "winner". I used small white beans and orzo pasta plus I doubled the crushed red pepper. I also threw in some cooked chicken. Fabulous! Definitely going into my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca December 06, 2010

Delicious, healthy, hearty, easy, fast, inexpensive and a complete meal in one! What more can you ask for? I love it and have made it twice in two weeks. My CSA has been giving us plenty of chard and so far this has been my favorite recipe to use it in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wistaria March 07, 2010

We don't care for chard, which is why I'm not assigning stars. That being said, this was a okay way to use up a disliked vegetable. Added chard before the beans, and used the stick blender to break the broth/chard into tiny pieces. Added cauliflower that I had to use up as well. Thanks for sharing. Diane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower February 12, 2010

This is made of awesome! I omitted red pepper flakes and nutmeg. Added leeks to the initial onions/garlic/bacon mix. And I added a whole lot more beans as I made a large batch. I used red chard AND instead of finishing with olive oil I finished it with parmesan. I only wished I'd had a parmesan RIND to put in it while it was boiling. SUPERB! This is an incredibly versatile recipe. PS I have NEVER used chard before this and it's wonderful like this; don't be afraid of it and skip it; it's a delight in this! Thanks so much for a "keeper"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callinectes Sapidus September 26, 2009

So good. It's taken a while to get my husband to enjoy veggies and this one he really loved (he was quite surprised). I added red cabbage and red wine. We had fresh local chard from the market we picked up today and made it in the afternoon. So nice to have a bean soup you don't have to cook all day. Thanks Hey Jude!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christine_c_jones August 29, 2009

Very good and easy to make. I used orzo and half a large bunch of red swiss chard. I'll definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W June 02, 2009

I made this recipe exactly as written although I used dried beans instead of canned. I was so surprised by the flavour. The sage is really subtle and beautiful and the chard paired well with the white beans. I have some good Tuscan olive oil that I drizzled over the top with some Parmesan cheese. I was so pleased to find a recipe to use up all the chard in my garden. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonchef June 18, 2007

This is a great recipe! I actually ended up putting chicken in because I forgot to buy chicken broth, but this was also really tasty. I added more chard too. Excellent! Thank you so much. I'm also happy to see a new way to make chard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhantomLeafEffect June 11, 2007
Chard and White Bean Soup