Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chard and White Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chard and White Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2012

      I loved this! At first I thought I had too much chard, but it wilted away and everything was in perfect proportion. I used red chard, and loved the color contrast. Delicious on the first cool night of the season. Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I was looking for a change from my usual chicken soup and I had some chard, so this soup really fit the bill and it was delicious!! My DH said it was a "winner". I used small white beans and orzo pasta plus I doubled the crushed red pepper. I also threw in some cooked chicken. Fabulous! Definitely going into my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Delicious, healthy, hearty, easy, fast, inexpensive and a complete meal in one! What more can you ask for? I love it and have made it twice in two weeks. My CSA has been giving us plenty of chard and so far this has been my favorite recipe to use it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      We don't care for chard, which is why I'm not assigning stars. That being said, this was a okay way to use up a disliked vegetable. Added chard before the beans, and used the stick blender to break the broth/chard into tiny pieces. Added cauliflower that I had to use up as well. Thanks for sharing. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This is made of awesome! I omitted red pepper flakes and nutmeg. Added leeks to the initial onions/garlic/bacon mix. And I added a whole lot more beans as I made a large batch. I used red chard AND instead of finishing with olive oil I finished it with parmesan. I only wished I'd had a parmesan RIND to put in it while it was boiling. SUPERB! This is an incredibly versatile recipe. PS I have NEVER used chard before this and it's wonderful like this; don't be afraid of it and skip it; it's a delight in this! Thanks so much for a "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      So good. It's taken a while to get my husband to enjoy veggies and this one he really loved (he was quite surprised). I added red cabbage and red wine. We had fresh local chard from the market we picked up today and made it in the afternoon. So nice to have a bean soup you don't have to cook all day. Thanks Hey Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. I used orzo and half a large bunch of red swiss chard. I'll definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      I made this recipe exactly as written although I used dried beans instead of canned. I was so surprised by the flavour. The sage is really subtle and beautiful and the chard paired well with the white beans. I have some good Tuscan olive oil that I drizzled over the top with some Parmesan cheese. I was so pleased to find a recipe to use up all the chard in my garden. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This is a great recipe! I actually ended up putting chicken in because I forgot to buy chicken broth, but this was also really tasty. I added more chard too. Excellent! Thank you so much. I'm also happy to see a new way to make chard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      What a fabulous recipe! Simple ingredients turn into a highly flavorful soup that nourishes body and soul. My DD, DH and I all gave it 5 stars. I had some swiss chard in my fridge that cried to be used in the next day or so and while looking for something to make, I found this recipe by one of my favorite chefs. Because of a shortage of a couple of the ingredients, I made substitutions that didn't harm the outcome one bit. I had 4 lonely slices of bacon and used it all. Then, much to my dismay I discovered that I neither little pasta or white beans in my cupboard. (I should be ashamed of myself.) Since I was determined to make this dish, I tossed in some cooked garbonzo beans and a 1/4 cup of wild rice. This recipe can be made quickly when the urge for soup strikes and doesn't need hours on the stove, yet the flavors are deep and satisfying. Thanks HeyJude for a wonderful recipe that I highly recommend and will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chard and White Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (515 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.4
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    22%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 14.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 210.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red swiss chard

    fresh sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites