8 Reviews

Yum! This was really simple and very tasty. Thanks for sharing. Congrats again on your football win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 21, 2013

DH could live on ham and he loved this ham steak. While grilling he was basting enough that the flavor was perfect for us. Anyone who likes ham should give this recipe a try. Made and reviewed for Family Picks during ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 31, 2012

Since I had thinner ham slices, I made less of the glaze. I used half a cup of brown sugar and about 1/8 cup of lemon juice. And 1 big tablespoon of horseradish. Great taste. It goes so well with the ham. Thanks Maryland Jim :) Made for ZWT8 for Diners, Winers and Chives

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 12, 2012

I have to say that I was surprised and delighted to enjoy this ham! I thought I might *like* it, but I LOVED it! I will fix it again and again! I used extra-hot horseradish, too, as it is what I had on hand. I also reduced the recipe by half so we just shared a big slice of ham for dinner. There is a piece that I hid away for biscuits, but don't tell! The heat is tempered by the sweet, which is cut by the lemon, which is enhanced by the salt (ham). PERFECT! Thanks for sharing, Maryland Jim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl August 09, 2012

Picked this recipe to make for ZWT8 the Australia/New Zealand leg and so pleased with the results. I used extra hot horseradish (which I don't usually like on anything) and it was just that extra flavor that you didn't quite recognize, but knew it was something you did like. Sweet glaze with a slight kick to the salty ham. The biggest WOW for me was that my VERY picky DGD kept asking for more - that alone makes it more than 5 stars for me. FINALLY something that she'll eat, and everyone else loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 02, 2012

OMG...What a fantastic and simple dinner. I made ham kabob's alternating each piece of ham with a chunk of fresh pineapple. It's all in the glaze. My wife & kids loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trapper May 24, 2009

Yummm...this is good stuff! The glaze is just fantastic - sweet and savory. This time I had to broil instead of grilling but I used the same timing and basting and it came out great. We'll be trying this again soon on the grill - thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 12, 2008

This is soooo good--love the sweet, hot, salty combination. Little to no effort required. Thanks, Jim!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 October 12, 2007
Charcoal-Grilled Sugared Ham