Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chappatis (Roti) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chappatis (Roti)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2008

      I've been making chappatis for years but this is the first time I've added milk to the dough. Earlier, I used to use clarified butter to knead the dough and for frying, so the oil and butter were changes too. Instead of rolling it out in a circle, I rolled it out in a square shape for a different look. If you're going with the circular shape, just remember to keep the pressure light as you roll out the dough and, with practice, you'll find the dough goes in a circle on its own. While frying, after flipping it once, I applied a little pressure at various points on the roti (concentrate on the edges) with a spoon or thin spatula to help it puff up a little. For those of you who are hesitating to try this recipe based on the long set of instructions... it's lengthy only because Rani has taken the time and effort to give very detailed instructions for those who have never tried making this flat bread before, and I must say the procedure is explained in PERFECT detail. Follow them to a T and it'll be really difficult to mess up. Once you get the hang of it, making rotis will be as easy as 1-2-3. These go very well with any Indian curry (I've served it with Indian Kadai Chicken). Or just eat them plain! My 10 year old cousin loves it that way. TY for posting Rani.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Great! Time-consuming, but worth it. The recipe doesn't say when to add the milk, so I added it after the water. I also needed considerably more flour than the recipe called for to make it workable. Still, they're great, and we'll definitely make them again. We served them with Chicken Tikka Masala (#25587)and Aloo Matar Ka Pulao (#172775). **Update** I made these again, this time leaving out the milk altogether. I think they were better without it! I also didn't need any extra flour without the milk. I've changed my rating from 4 to 5 stars after this experiment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I made this to go with dinner tonight (Red Lentil-Cauliflower Curry from Veganomicon) and it was yummy. I made a few minor changes. I used half WW flour, half AP. I also used soy milk and margarine instead of butter. I found the directions to be a little confusing honestly, but since I had made Roti before (another V'con recipe), I think I did it right. I will definitely be making these again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I've tried many different roti/chappati recipes and I think I'm sold on this one. It's really easy to work with, nice and soft unlike other variations I've tried. I used light spelt flour and soy milk and things worked out really well. I didn't have time to let it sit, but will certainly do that next time. Thanks very much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was my first attempt at any kind of Indian bread & I was very pleased with the results. I used a cast-iron pan & followed your excellent instructions to a t. thank you so much for the time you took posting this! Recommended! (^o^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      was yummy - thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      These were good and fairly easy to make - will be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

    • on July 03, 2007

      i've used this recipe twice now & have sent it to south africa & switzerland, absolutely stunning & easy compared to others i've heard of. thanks thanks thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was terrific. I made these to take to a dinner party last night where Indian food was on the menu. Everyone loved them. I used only a couple of tablespoons of the milk and added it with the water. I used both a non-stick skillet and a cast iron skillet to speed up prep time and found that I actually got better results with the non-stick. These are definitely labor intensive, but worth it for authentic taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      I was a bit timid to try this as my previous attempt was a disaster years ago. But this is a great recipe with very easy to follow instructions! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      This was my first attempt at chappatis and your instructions were so easy to follow. I didn't, however, brush with butter while frying, I did that on one side after they were done. I did mine on an electric skillet and when the brown flecks appeared, pushed down gently with a clean towel to get them to puff. They turned out so soft and chewy, yum. Thx for the easy and tasty recipe Ranikabani! I'll be making these often. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Perfect. My husband must have had a half dozen himself in a sitting. I used stone ground whole wheat flour instead of the suggested and I forgot the salt. I was out of milk so I used plain yogurt. Your recipe is perfect, I just used what I have on hand. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe, you can tell by the time you took to give such clear directions that this recipe came from the heart. I served them with illaichi keema and thought I was in heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      These were wonderfully soft when served right as soon as they were made. I used melted ghee in steps 12 and 23 instead of butter{dad's request for Father's day}. He enjoyed these and infact, did something sweet by spooning some semolina halwa {recipe number :34316} in the middle of the chappatis, rolling them and eating them. Boy, did he enjoy his meal today for Father's day! Thank you thank you Thank you very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2004

      These are perfect chappatis. Very wonderful texture, and lovely flavor. Your directions are very easy to follow! Thank you SO much for helping me discover an easy recipe for these. I have made chappati for a while now, but none like this! I plan to try incorporating wheat flour into these gradually ;) Thanks again for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chappatis (Roti)

    Serving Size: 1 (1418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.3
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    18%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 470.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites