Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chao Ga - Vietnamese Rice Porridge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chao Ga - Vietnamese Rice Porridge

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      I'm so happy I found this recipe. I used regular jasmine rice and 2 cups of chicken and added a little more fish sauce. The only thing I would change would be the poultry seasoning (I used McCormick Chicken rub). I forgot to taste before I added and a tablespoon was WAY too much for my liking. I set the water on high til it boiled and then put it on the low/1 setting on my stove. I let it sit for 45 minutes but I would check it the last ten minutes next time.
      I am definitely using this recipe again but w/out the poultry seasoing and maybe adding green onions.

      ***(9/26/10)
      I made this again and simplified the process. I reduced the rice to only 2 cups of jasmine rice (next time I will try 1 1/2) and let it simmer for only 20 minutes, not the full 45. I added a little more fish sauce to taste and with the chicken, I added a bunch of green onions and seasoned with white pepper. Great as leftover with a poached or fried egg. Perfect for when you're under the weather. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      I love this recipe. I use 1/4 cup sweet brown rice and 2 cups long grain brown rice. It's wonderful to make at the beginning of the week and then I can eat it for lunch all week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This is pretty good! It really makes rice last a lot longer. I've made this a few times. I still haven't tried adding egg to it, so I might give that a try next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Very good. We added a little more fish sauce and no sugar. Also garnished with coriander before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Delicious! No chicken meat, but I topped with fried shallot, pork floss and chopped green onion, and poured a little fish sauce over the top. Mmmmm yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      How about 10 stars??? This is absolutely over the top delicous, easy, filling, comfort food. Next time I'm sick, I'm making THIS not chicken soup. I did poach the eggs on top. Divine. Now I'm ready for another serving.....made for PAC 9/07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      this is delicious! thank you so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chao Ga - Vietnamese Rice Porridge

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    19%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 785.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken meat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites