Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Channa Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Channa Masala

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      Awesome. Very easy to make! The best Channa Masala we have ever had. Although, I used a variation for the Amchoor and added extra tomato. It was the very best recipe that I have ever found. Variations: 1) We used Jared "home packed" tomatos and added 1 cup (16 Tablespoons, whole Roma chopped "no liquid" and strained into a measuring cup until all the extra juice was extracted "about 40 minutes") 2)1 cup of the strained tomato liquid was used instead of the water. Add extra liquid if required. Water or juice. Thank you for the best dish ever. Your friends in Canada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      I enjoyed this meal immensely. So full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Sorry. I wasn't a fan. I found it too sour and under spiced. I prefer a deeper richer flavored channa masala with more "warm" spiced flavor of coriander, cinnamon etc. This recipe is a lighter tart version of channa masala.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Just made this fabulous Channa Masala recipe and it taste Awesome! Changes I made were: 1 tablespoon chili powder and instead of 6 tablespoons of tomatoes I added a can of chopped tomatoes and omitted the cup of water. I didn't have Amchoor Powder so I used some lime juice. Mmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Delicious and easy to make. Full of flavor and just enough spice. In my opinion it tastes exactly how it should. Made exactly as directed ,but omitted amchoor powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Fantastic recipe, the spices suggested are perfect and this defenitely tasted like chana masala from an authentic dhabba...as a suggestion...please use a tea bag while boiling Chickpeas in pressure cooker. It will give the chickpeas a dark colour...which goes well with over all colour of the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2014

      I have to say that i have attempted to make this many times with different recipes this was really the best one i ever tried. Loved it so much saved the leftovers for work! I really like the way that you can adjust the person serving and the recipe changes. RIGHT ON!! bring on the Naan! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      We liked this for dinner tonight. Had a lot of great spices and the appropriate amount of heat. Followed the ingredients and directions as posted. We felt that this was greatly improved with more salt and some Greek yogurt mixed into our individual servings. This was quite easy to make without a lot of prep. Served over basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This is good. Was excellent with miner changes. Just added 1 1/2 cup of yogurt and off-course added more chilies and cooked it in my pure clay pot. It was unbeatable. Served it with chapati,  I and my family enjoyed eating it. I got my pot from miriamsearthencookware.com (online). Most importantly it holds all the nutrients in the food and no metal or chemicals get into your food. It is made of 100% natural clay sourced and hand crafted in USA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Easy and adaptable. Made this even though I was missing a few spices and added a couple of my own and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      As an Indian, I have eaten Channa Masala all my life, and am happy to report that this is right up there with the best. Served it with rice and a cucumber raita, and enjoyed a wonderful meal. Followed the recipe almost exactly, but did garnish the final dish with coriander and went a little heavy on the cayenne. Will happily make this again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      WAY too much coriander. Tasted very bitter. Otherwise almost perfect amount of spice and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Enjoyed this recipe but will modify slightly next time<br/>- Less lemon juice - maybe just a squeeze, versus half a lemon... it was a bit tart/sour.<br/>- I used a tin of canned tomatoes and drained the tomato sauce - next time, will not drain the juices as there was little sauce in the end.<br/>- Will add spinach next time to add color <br/>- Will add 2 garlic cloves at the beginning, to add more depth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      Great recipe. Easy to make,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      AMAZING !! I followed it pretty much exactly how the recipe is written-- except I used amchar sauce (imli) instead of the powder since it was already prepared in my fridge. I also didn't garnish with ginger and chili at the end but the meal was just wonderful. My extremelllllly hard to please father in law loveddd the dish. I also just added 1 extra tpsn of garam masala and 1 tpsn of salt. I also just used lime because we were out of lemons. <br/><br/>Anyways, this is my GO to chana recipe so I don't have to use the desi food packets anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      This is a very basic recipe. Very easy straight forward instructions.(Note: saute the onions well add a few spoons of water if required to prevent it from burning!) I tried it out and was amazed at the results. I modified it a bit and used canned Hunts's tomato sauce (10 tbsps) instead of chopped up tomatoes. Easy, quick, healthy and tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      No. Sorry. Was very sour. Surely due to the amchoor. Yuck. Tried to save it by adding packaged curry powder and cream, but nope. Going straight into the green bin. Waste of time for me. Tasted nothing like the chick pea curry I get at my local Indian restaurant (they call it channa masala). Sad me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      Wow - toned down the spices (my wife only recognizes salt, everything else is "too spicy") did not have the amchoor, and no chili pepper (remember my wife). Awesomeness. Now, don't get mad...I served it...with...cheese grits. Holy Vegetarian Gluten Free Batman! I'm running for Secretary of State as this is a melding of cultures never seen in history.

      Hats off for an excellent and easy recipe. On my go to list for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Complete genius. As a vegetarian I've had my fair share of this dish - IMO this is by the best. Love the tangyness of the amchoor and the heat of the dish. Superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      I had this dish at an Indian restaurant a few weeks ago and loved. I have also been trying to eat vegatarian so I wanted to learn ro make this dish. I 'mostly followed the recipe, I only used 1 tbs of oil and I used 1/4 tsp Cayenne to cut back on the heat. I also added Fresh Cilantro at the very end. Result was great, very close to the favor I originally had at the indian restaurant. Serve over brow or while rice. It's amazing how many VERY different recipes there are for this dish but I'm sticking with this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Channa Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    17%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 678.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground roasted cumin seeds

    amchoor powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites