100 Reviews

Awesome. Very easy to make! The best Channa Masala we have ever had. Although, I used a variation for the Amchoor and added extra tomato. It was the very best recipe that I have ever found. Variations: 1) We used Jared "home packed" tomatos and added 1 cup (16 Tablespoons, whole Roma chopped "no liquid" and strained into a measuring cup until all the extra juice was extracted "about 40 minutes") 2)1 cup of the strained tomato liquid was used instead of the water. Add extra liquid if required. Water or juice. Thank you for the best dish ever. Your friends in Canada.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R. Donaldson April 10, 2002

I enjoyed this meal immensely. So full of flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Peterson February 24, 2002

Sorry. I wasn't a fan. I found it too sour and under spiced. I prefer a deeper richer flavored channa masala with more "warm" spiced flavor of coriander, cinnamon etc. This recipe is a lighter tart version of channa masala.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari September 26, 2010

Just made this fabulous Channa Masala recipe and it taste Awesome! Changes I made were: 1 tablespoon chili powder and instead of 6 tablespoons of tomatoes I added a can of chopped tomatoes and omitted the cup of water. I didn't have Amchoor Powder so I used some lime juice. Mmmmmmm

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenborcic June 24, 2010

This is good. Was excellent with miner changes. Just added 1 1/2 cup of yogurt and off-course added more chilies and cooked it in my pure clay pot. It was unbeatable. Served it with chapati,  I and my family enjoyed eating it. I got my pot from miriamsearthencookware.com (online). Most importantly it holds all the nutrients in the food and no metal or chemicals get into your food. It is made of 100% natural clay sourced and hand crafted in USA.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Safecook February 13, 2014

As an Indian, I have eaten Channa Masala all my life, and am happy to report that this is right up there with the best. Served it with rice and a cucumber raita, and enjoyed a wonderful meal. Followed the recipe almost exactly, but did garnish the final dish with coriander and went a little heavy on the cayenne. Will happily make this again !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xvpyhidj January 31, 2014

Enjoyed this recipe but will modify slightly next time<br/>- Less lemon juice - maybe just a squeeze, versus half a lemon... it was a bit tart/sour.<br/>- I used a tin of canned tomatoes and drained the tomato sauce - next time, will not drain the juices as there was little sauce in the end.<br/>- Will add spinach next time to add color <br/>- Will add 2 garlic cloves at the beginning, to add more depth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ros A. November 02, 2013

Delicious and easy to make. Full of flavor and just enough spice. In my opinion it tastes exactly how it should. Made exactly as directed ,but omitted amchoor powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka December 20, 2010

Fantastic recipe, the spices suggested are perfect and this defenitely tasted like chana masala from an authentic dhabba...as a suggestion...please use a tea bag while boiling Chickpeas in pressure cooker. It will give the chickpeas a dark colour...which goes well with over all colour of the dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anjali Raj March 20, 2010

After reading all the ratings for this dish I thought it would be exceptional. I scouted around for all the ingredients and made it exactly as stated. I wasn't very impressed at all. It's an okay dish but not one I would make again. The reaon being that to me, none of the flavors were outstanding but one of the reviewers said it wold taste better the next day. So, if my opinion changes I will post again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trick February 01, 2010
Channa Masala