Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Channa Dal (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Channa Dal (Curried Chickpeas)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2008

      I adore chickpeas and this makes a wonderful change from a standard dal that is based on lentils. I bypassed the soaking process by using two 400-gram tins of chickpeas (3 cups when drained). This let me streamline the rest of the recipe. I simmered the ingredients in step 2 (minus the chickpeas) in 2 1/2 cups of water for about 20 minutes. I then did step 3 (using peanut oil rather than margarine) in a separate saucepan, and combined everything in that pan for step 4. At this stage, I left the mixture to cook uncovered, and just above a simmer, so some liquid would evaporate. Also added salt (about a 1/2 teaspoon) which gave a perfect finish. Thanks for a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Another 5 stars from another dal lover. I used the optional cayenne and it added a kick without being too hot. I used 3 (15 oz) cans of chickpeas in place of dried. Since I used canned chickpeas, I only used 3 cups of water. I cut the margarine down to 1 tbsp of butter to save on fat calories. The long simmer really allows the flavors to develop. Definitely worth the wait. Thanx for posting; I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      I love this recipe. I use canned beans so I don't consume too much gas cooking raw ones. I do step 3, then add all the spices that would be cooked with the beans from step 2 and dry-fry them until everything is very aromatic. Then I add 2 cans of beans with the bean liquid. I don't add any water. I simmer for about 30 minutes, but keep an eye on the liquid. I want it to thicken, but not completely evaporate. It is usually nice and thick. I also garnish with a little raw onion. It reminds me of my favorite fast food Indian place in California.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

    • on May 26, 2010

      Wonderful chickpea preparation! I used the optional cayenne, and it provided an enjoyable little kick to the dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Great! I didn't have cumin seed, and opted to leave out the cayenne pepper. I also used canned chickpeas because that's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was so good! I used canned chickpeas and let everyone decide themselves how much cayenne to use. We loved it and there were no leftovers, darn! I'll be adding this to my list of family standards. Thanks, BB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I also love dal, and this fit the bill perfectly. I left out the optional cayenne pepper for the family, and added some to just my own serving. I smashed some of the beans to make the dal thicken. I'm taking the leftovers to work tomorrow for lunch, sure to be the envy of my colleagues. Thanks, Enjolinfam! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I love dal. This has a nice warmth and subtle flavours. The coriander (cilantro) really brings it alive. I had it for lunch the next day, with rice, and the flavours were improved (IMO). I'd like to make this with chana dal next time as my chickpeas didn't break down as much as I'd prefer. Thanks for the recipe. Made for Aussie Forum Swap #18.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Channa Dal (Curried Chickpeas)

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    43%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 251.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites