Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Champurrado (Chocolate Atole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Champurrado (Chocolate Atole)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2012

      Utterly delicious! The masa harina makes such a special flavour and texture. For the milk I used almond milk, and I used a piloncillo for sugar which I dissolved in the hot milk. Really easy, and soooo goood :) Thanks for posting!!
      Made for ZWT 8 /Mexico for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I live 5 minutes away from Mexico and so I have high expectations for champurrado. I like this, but couldn't give 5 stars. I changed things up a bit here, so it might be my fault that it wasn't superb. First of all, I used4.5 c nonfat milk and 1.5 c. half and half. I upped the masa and water accordingly and I used 2.3 tablets of abuelita chocolate. I upped the brown sugar after tasting, but later regretted it b/c it was too sweet (next time I will put the indicated amount!) I didn't know what translucent masa is supposed to look like so when I thought it was thick enough I added it to the milk. It was super lumpy after lots of stirring so I blended the lumps in the blender and it is nice and smooth now. I really do like it, it's just too sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I have been looking for the right recipe to make this and this one looks the best I would be making it know if I had the masa or corn flour but I don't so I have to wait but about the Mexican chocolate Ibarra why not use abuelita it is exactly the same and I love it they have it in a boox just like Ibarra or you can get it in a bag already course or even in a syrup and it already has the cinnamon and sugar so it may help lessen ingredients but I am just going to follow this and add in my abuelita and I may buy the brown sugar cones and use those since that's what most use!! thanks for posting this I crave it all the time im 3 months pregnant and this is my sweet, hot, filling drink!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Soooo good, I usually buy Champurrado in the morning but the place I buy from has been making it more and more watered down, this was perfect, I'm making my own from now on....thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      This had a really good flavor, but not as good as those made with Mexican Chocolate (Ybarra bars in the yellow box). I scaled this back for two and it might have made a difference in that mine came out a bit too thick and I had to whisk and then pass thru a sieve to get the lumps out. Next time, I'll probably incorporate the cinnamon and sugar in the chocolate milk part of the process, then add the masa harina paste directly to the warm chocolate milk until thickened. All said and done, this WAS very good and brought back memories of childhood in Mexico and hispanic barrios in San Diego.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      So thick and delicious! A keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Mhh! This was a delicious chocolate for my children ... and a small portion for me as well.
      The preparation was very easy, but I had to use the blender to have a homogenized cream as the cornflour I had was not very finely groundet. In any case this was not a problem and was ready in a few minutes.
      Really delicious filling and comforting chocolate. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Oh Elmotoo, this is so good. I loved it, a nice thick, dark, velvety, rich and decadent cocoa. Really enjoyed the brown sugar and cinnamon in the drink. Made exactly as written, the corn flour thickens it beautifully. Quick and easy to make, a dangerous combination. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe which I will be making again. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - Mexico

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      I scaled this down to one serving and somehow did this in the microwave, and it turned out quite nice. Instead of the cinnamon stick a added a pinch of cinnamon, and I used maybe 1/8 tsp cornstarch in place of the corn flour. Its nice and thick :D However, its very dark. I like it this way, but milk chocolate lovers beware. This is not the drink for you(: Thanks Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    • on June 01, 2009

      Gorgeous - I made this when I got home from work today and it is pretty wonderful. I did use skim milk and cornflour and consumed much more than I should have !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

    • on June 22, 2007

      Absolutley delicious - we both loved the addition of the cinnamon - and the chocolate was thick and comforting! Made for a rainy June evening when it should have been sunny!I used pre-grated drinking chocolate that was a gift - and UK style cornflour, but only 1/3 cup to 3 cups milk, this was made for two greedy people in mugs! Thanks for posting Bethie! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Great! Made a perfect breakfast drink! mmm Chocolate! Thanks for a great recipe buddy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      This was good. I served it with tamallies for breakfast. Nice balancing of flavors. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Wow, brings back memories of my childhood when Grandpa took us to Mexico for a vacation, and we stopped at this little Restaurant for breakfast and had chocolate milk. Mexican chocolate milk not at all like ours but still pretty darned good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Wow, this was a treat! I was so skeptical of using flour in a drink, but to my delight, it turned out wonderfully. It was not as thick as I would have suspected it to be, and the flavour was divine. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This was weird! Never had a hot cocoa with flour in it before, but I love it! I think this would be a great breakfast drink, although I had mine at night. I did use part dark bittersweet chocolate, since I ran out of the unsweetened. I think it tasted very good, very filling. My kids will like this too, but they're not getting this at night or they won't sleep! Thanks for expanding my horizons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Champurrado (Chocolate Atole)

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.4
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    33%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 18.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 91.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 36.0 g
    144%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites