8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not thinking, I made these as a side dish for a main dish of chicken when they really should have been served with a good steak. But even so, I was thrilled with the outcome and even ate the extras for lunch the next day! I did add a couple splashes of soy sauce and some minced onion, and I substituted green onion for the parsley. Excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry117 June 23, 2008

This was quite good and I'll definitely be making it again. I used a dry sherry (never use cooking sherry -always the real thing. I was also surprised at how mild the flavour is in this considering the amount of garlic in it. I think next time I might add a splash of soy sauce? Maybe some fine chopped onion? This is definitely a wonderful base recipe that you can have fun playing around with. ***Edit June 26, 2007 - I took another visit to this recipe and changing my rating from a 4 to a 5. Added a splash or two of soy sauce (2 Tbsp)and some finely chopped onion - (1/4 cup) which didn't really change the flavour but did enhance it. Used Dry white wine this time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 26, 2007

Delicious, and so easy to prepare! The mushrooms had a great flavor. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 29, 2012

This is a great mushroom recipe, simple and delicious! The white wine is perfect with all that garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof July 25, 2012

This was SO good! It was easy to makeor was great. I'm definately making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmarie78 February 08, 2008

My husband and I both enjoyed these mushrooms! I used the white wine. and halved the recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 28, 2007

These are wonderful. I used green onion instead of fresh parsley because I didn't have any parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftymama June 21, 2007

I made these for ZWT3. The juices were nice, I served this with [recipe=22394]marinated steak[/recipe] and [recipe=230332]colcannon[/recipe]. It's hard to explain, I think they were just lacking that little bit of oomph. I know that sounds terrible, but they were lovely & I will make them again. I have had these when I lived in Europe, I can't define in words what the difference was, maybe it was the sherry (I used a fino). I wonder if flaming the sherry makes the difference? I will try that next time. Thank you for the recipe, I will make these again, the steak will be lonely without them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken May 27, 2007
Champinones Al Ajillo (Garlic Fried Mushrooms)