10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I scaled this back for 2 serves and used Carisma potatoes (a low GI potato) and found there was plenty for 3 of us, made as per instructions to create a lovely smooth and tasty mash. Thanks to weekend cooker for the recommendation and Sydney Mike for posting, made for I Recommend tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 14, 2012

Loved this dish. The slight tang from the buttermilk gives it it's uniqueness. You get a nice crunch from the onions. I whipped mine till it was smooth but next time I think I will just mash them so there's a bit more texture. I threw them under the broiler for a few minutes to give them a nice brown color. Yum! Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas June 03, 2011

I believe that this was the first time adding onions to mashed potatoes, really enjoyed it. Also liked the idea of buttermilk added here too. It really gave this AN EXTRA ZING to it. Have to put this in my files. Would be great for that weeknight hurry up dish for us and the kids. Definately a Zaar Stars hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 04, 2011

Finally a recipe that is really Irish Champ. We always peeled the potatoes and also added some parsley. Thanks again for a great contribution.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 April 27, 2010

This was the first champ recipe I've tried that used buttermilk instead of regular milk. It gave a slight tang to the potatoes but the onions offset the flavors perfectly. Easy to make, too! PS I am much too lazy to peel potatoes unless they are russets. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Veg Swap 19-2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookgirl February 03, 2010

I loved this! I love onions, and I love buttermilk....so no doubt, I loved this. I particularly liked the touch of the green onions to break up the monotomy of the whiteness of the potatoes. Thanks for sharing your lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 27, 2010

Excellent mashed potato dish. I was unsure about the onions being cooked in the buttermilk as well, but it turned out fine. I used 4 large Idaho potatoes, a bit less than 1 1/2 cups low-fat buttermilk, and maybe one tablespoon butter. BF really liked this too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 07, 2009

Yummy! I love this stuff! I have never cooked the onion in the milk before but it seemed to work out well cause theywere delicious! Thanks, Syd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night August 24, 2009

I really like the flavors and texture of these mashed potatoes. I made my buttermilk with whole milk and vinegar.Thanks Syd :) Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 05, 2009

I enjoyed this potato dish very much. It was light and fluffy and full of flavor. The perfect ratio of potato, butter and milk. The potatoes had a nice tang to them, reminicent of sour cream. The potato dish was quick and very easy to make. A really nice comfort dish. I will make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 22, 2009
Champ -- a Mashed Potato Dish (Ireland)