Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Champ -- a Mashed Potato Dish (Ireland) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Champ -- a Mashed Potato Dish (Ireland)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2012

      I scaled this back for 2 serves and used Carisma potatoes (a low GI potato) and found there was plenty for 3 of us, made as per instructions to create a lovely smooth and tasty mash. Thanks to weekend cooker for the recommendation and Sydney Mike for posting, made for I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Loved this dish. The slight tang from the buttermilk gives it it's uniqueness. You get a nice crunch from the onions. I whipped mine till it was smooth but next time I think I will just mash them so there's a bit more texture. I threw them under the broiler for a few minutes to give them a nice brown color. Yum! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I believe that this was the first time adding onions to mashed potatoes, really enjoyed it. Also liked the idea of buttermilk added here too. It really gave this AN EXTRA ZING to it. Have to put this in my files. Would be great for that weeknight hurry up dish for us and the kids. Definately a Zaar Stars hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Finally a recipe that is really Irish Champ. We always peeled the potatoes and also added some parsley. Thanks again for a great contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This was the first champ recipe I've tried that used buttermilk instead of regular milk. It gave a slight tang to the potatoes but the onions offset the flavors perfectly. Easy to make, too! PS I am much too lazy to peel potatoes unless they are russets. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Veg Swap 19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I loved this! I love onions, and I love buttermilk....so no doubt, I loved this. I particularly liked the touch of the green onions to break up the monotomy of the whiteness of the potatoes. Thanks for sharing your lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Excellent mashed potato dish. I was unsure about the onions being cooked in the buttermilk as well, but it turned out fine. I used 4 large Idaho potatoes, a bit less than 1 1/2 cups low-fat buttermilk, and maybe one tablespoon butter. BF really liked this too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Yummy! I love this stuff! I have never cooked the onion in the milk before but it seemed to work out well cause theywere delicious! Thanks, Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I really like the flavors and texture of these mashed potatoes. I made my buttermilk with whole milk and vinegar.Thanks Syd :) Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I enjoyed this potato dish very much. It was light and fluffy and full of flavor. The perfect ratio of potato, butter and milk. The potatoes had a nice tang to them, reminicent of sour cream. The potato dish was quick and very easy to make. A really nice comfort dish. I will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Champ -- a Mashed Potato Dish (Ireland)

    Serving Size: 1 (567 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 431.6
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    14%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 199.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites