Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Challah Recipe for the Kitchen Aide
    Lost? Site Map

    Challah Recipe for the Kitchen Aide

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2003

      I am very tough to impress with bread recipes. I think I probably have to high of a standard the way a bread should look and taste. I have to say that this recipe is perfect. The texture of the dough was very easy to shape. I didn't need all 7 1/2 cups flour, but just 6 3/4 cups. I glazed the bread with the egg wash and baked it for just 15 minutes. It was hard not to attack the oven, but it was definetly worth the wait. I can't wait to see how my family enjoys it with their dinner tonight. Hat's off to you, Caryn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Great Challah! The dough didn't rise as much as I would have liked but I think thats somehow my fault... Everyone loved them anyway. I mixed toasted sesame seeds into the egg wash before glazing. They were really nice and made exactly 4 medium sized loaves, just as you said. Thanks Caryn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      Caryn, your Challah recipe is 1st. Rate! It's so easy...the KA does all the work! I did glaze the loaves before baking...that makes them pretty! Thank you for sharing...definitely a keeper! LC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Very good. This is my first time making challah. It was so fun! i think next time i might only make 2 large ones and have a longer second rise. i will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Wow! I have never had challah before and this was so good! It very easy to make and I will definately make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Everyone loves my challah, and it is so easy. i also take small strands, wind them, press down the center and put chopped onion, garlic and poppy seeds, a big hit

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Thank you Caryn Gale for posting a recipe so easy without sacrificing flavor. I'm a novice baker, but this was super easy. As my yeast was bubbling away, I mixed the rest of the ingredients in the mixer bowl, then added the yeast and mixed away. I adjusted the recipe for 2 medium breads, but really I think it was only enough dough for one decent sized loaf braided. I added all my flour at once and think I'll be a little more frugal with it as I was worried my dough was too dry when it was kneading, but all turned out well. It rose so beautifully after I had braided it...turned out nice and golden brown. I'm looking forward to making french toast bake with it for Christmas morning. I will definitely make this often as start to finish it took probably 1 hour. Who wouldn't want the satisfaction of feeding their loved ones home baked goods?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I made this exactly as directed and it was perfect! Definitely beats my own recipe, which I've used for years. Thanks so much for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Foolproof recipe! It turned out the first time I prepared it and it continues to be a wonderful recipe for Shabbos! My children enjoy helping me prepare challah every week! We have made extra loaves to give to friends with little time to make challah for Shabbos. We get rave reviews every time! On a side note, for Rosh HaShana I add 1/4 cup of cinnamon and 1 cup of raisins when I add the flour. The KitchenAid does the rest! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was a great recipe. I even gave it my sister in law who is new at baking and she loved the consistency of the dough and the easy ingredients. I halved the recipe once and it came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I used honey and butter instead of sugar and oil; and subbed about a cup of WW flour as well. This is great bread - I kneaded it by hand for about 5 minutes and it took approx. an hour for the first rise. The braids didn't rise much before they went into the oven, but came out nicely. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      So didn't want to end with a less than positive review. I had to try it again since I committed to making the bread with the students. Same exact recipe...lots of flour on the side just in case...flour all over my hands...and for some strange reason, it all worked out!! The students were so impressed with their efforts and the fact that they were able to make bread! We made four coiled loaves. And then I used the dough they mixed to braid a cinnamon sugar raisin loaf that was equally good and enjoyed by the entire staff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      This bread was so easy, and made great French Toast. It was so good and soft. My family really loved it. Thanks for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Fast, easy and cheap to make. Made four good sized loaves, very pretty too. Had I read the recipe more carefully, I would have made only half. But, as it is, for the four, I think it cost about 1.40$ in ingredients, so no problem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This recipe is great. Instead of oil, I added butter which makes it more delicate and yummier in my opinion

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Challah Recipe for the Kitchen Aide

    Serving Size: 1 (1648 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1076.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    15%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 918.2 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 195.5 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites