8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So excited for success the first time I tried to make challah bread! I used two extra tablespoons of oil to make up for the lack of eggs as suggested by another reviewer. But my picky allergen eater loved it, and the rest of his classmates gobbled it up as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllergenChef October 14, 2010

I made this bread as my first attempt at bread making and as my first attempt using a bread machine, and it came out pretty darn good! My braiding skills, on the other hand, left a little to be desired. I added 1/2 t. turmeric for color. It didn't add any flavor, just color. Next time, I'll cut it back to 1/4 t. because it looked a little too yellow. Check out my photos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dena Jo July 31, 2010

This recipe is wondeful!!! It is a tiny bit dry without the eggs but I added a little extra oil and I am going to try some applesauce in the dough to add a little mositure. The maple glaze is fabulous! My litte one is allergic to eggs and she loves having her own challah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elenadavis555 February 05, 2010

My father-in-law is allergic to eggs. I made this recipe for my daughters Bat Mitzvah, so that my father-in-law could do Motzi. It got rave reviews from all that had it. They especially liked the slightly sweet crust from the Maple gaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy D. June 04, 2007

I made this the other day. It tasted good. I have never had Challah breads before so I have nothing to compare it to. I gave some to my mother and she liked it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longtime veggie January 31, 2007

Really good. My daughter has an egg allergy and its wonderful to be able to eat challah again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cra.ys.mla May 02, 2006

Wonderful challah! We used a honey glaze, as the maple syrup had run out, but sure this was as tasty! The texture is really light and there won't be much left pretty soon! Yummy! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave January 16, 2006

Mixed this in the breadmaker with no problems whatsoever and then plaited and baked the dough. My 4 year old loved helping with the plait and then painting on the maple syrup. Very nice taste and great texture. Definitely worth trying!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 11, 2005
Challah II With Maple Syrup Glaze (Eggless Version)