Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Challah I (Braided Egg Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Challah I (Braided Egg Bread)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2010

      A family favourite now and I have given it as gifts a couple times already. So easy and yummy. I only used 3.5 cups of flour though and 4 was too much. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Thank you, Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I made it on Friday just to see how it would turn out and it was amazing! So on Saturday I made 8 loaves. I made the dough and then I cut it in half then, from the half I cut it into thirds so I could braid, then I made 2 mini-challahs. I did add golden raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      My first Challah, and it came out so pretty! I added extra water as recommended and think I ended up adding a little extra flour too lol. I did add the flour a little at a time to the mixer until it formed a ball and pulled away from the sides. I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and it was fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      So it turns out that Spelt is NOT a good substitute in Challah. Still a delicious bread, but not the sweet, chewy bread I was hoping for. A good recipe all the same, as it looked lovely and rose beautifully, and smelled fantastic coming out of the oven:) Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will be trying it again with some lighter flour:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Steps 1 - 7 can be done in a bread machine, after that follow the instructions as usual and this bread turns out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Well, I thought this dough was just to easy to work with to be true. I forgot to add in the 1/4 cup water! Still came out very well, tad bit dry, but that's my oops certainly. :) The taste is lovely, only slightly sweet. Browned beautifully, with a nice crunch to the outside. I used this for my Ostara bread this year, braided into a circle and added whole eggs within the braid to bake with the bread. It's probably the best recipe I've found yet for this! And very pretty. Took a long time to double though! Thanks CardaMom!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      wow! easy to make and comes out great! i made a few changes first i use half whole weat flour and half white also i use light brown sugar which gives it more a hunny tast! i add a little oil to the egg/water on top to give it an extra shine and i always double the recipe for shabat - and never have left over for saterday night - french toast

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe, I doubled it and all went perfect. It is worth to double it because it freezes wonderfuly and my family will not devour it in one sitting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      I used this recipe a few months ago to learn how to make Challah bread. It was my first time baking any sort of bread from scratch, and I must say the results were wonderful. The bread was delicious and comes out perfect everytime. This is a wonderful recipe, and I cannot stop getting enough requests from my family to make it again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Due to the comments from others I added just a bit more water and was able to get all four cups of flour in. The bread turned out beautiful! I did not put any seeds or anything because of what I was serving it with but it still tasted wonderful. My kids especially enjoyed it toasted the next day. Yes it takes awhile to make but it is worth it. I ended up with a 15 inch 3 strand braid that was about 4 inches high in the center when baked. I think that it would make wonderful french toast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Egg bread is unknown in Finland. So this was surprise how wonderful this is! I have made now 4 bread and they all have been eaten in minutes! Thank you for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Great recipe, super easy with a great result. It does make a huge loaf so I will probably divide into 2 loaves next time. Thanks :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I made it in the bread machine. I followed the step in this recipe but putting the water, sugar and yeast in the bread machine recipient. And waited the 10 minutes. Then I added the ingredients in the order you wrote. But taking care to put all the flour on top of the bubble yeast. When the dough was working in the machine, I added a little bit of water because it seemed to be a little bit dry. I was afraid the dough would be too dense but the bread turned out perfect. When the bread was cooking after 15 minutes I had to put foil paper on it because the crust was already dark. So yummy fresh with butter or toasted this morning with butter again. Thanks Carda :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      I tried this at the weekend and was expecting a total failure. It didn't rise for first rise but I persevered, no different for the second rise but I braided it anyway and even though there was still no rising I baked it thinking the birds might like it but hoping something magical might happen and it did. It turned out lovely, quite dense but great taste and my husband liked it too. Will definitely try this again to see if I can get a lighter texture but knowing it will taste great regardless. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

    • on December 18, 2007

      This was excellent. I doubled the recipe - if you're going to bother to bake bread, might as well have 2 loaves. I did find the ratio of flour to liquid was off, as others have commented. For a double recipe, I used about 7 cups of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I have made many types of challah before and this one was excellent. I find that it is easy to proof the bread and then place in the refrigerator to cool, degassing occasionally in order to have greater easy of forming the loaves. I prefer to have cold dough to form the loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      My friend's mom is always making this bread, & I've been looking for a good recipe for it for a long time now. This bread was not only gorgeous, but delicious as well. Like others, I did have to add an additional 1/4 cup of water. Thanks for the recipe - This one is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Wow! I made this bread and it was beautiful and tasted good. This is going to be my Challah recipe from now and on, the best challah bread I have made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Long to make but a very pretty result. A more crumbly texture than I was expecting but a beautiful loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Challah I (Braided Egg Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (951 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2904.3
     
    Calories from Fat 827
    28%
    Total Fat 91.9 g
    141%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 538.0 mg
    179%
    Sodium 2496.9 mg
    104%
    Total Carbohydrate 442.3 g
    147%
    Dietary Fiber 16.7 g
    66%
    Sugars 56.3 g
    225%
    Protein 71.4 g
    142%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites