12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best bread ever

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joecalli_15 June 03, 2015

I recently moved away from home, and was missing all the traditional Rosh Hashana stuff. This is the first chalah I've made that was not from my mother's recipe which she used at home. The loaves turned out beautifully and I was very excited about how nice they looked, but they're not as sweet or rich tasting as the chalah I grew up with. I think next time I would add more honey, or some sugar, especially for the new year. That, or get my mom's recipe. It's a wonderful bread, but as mosma said, just not quite "chalah".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blanks September 30, 2011

Another update: Rick has made this many times since finding this wonderful recipe. We took it to his family reunion, making 2 batches for 4 loaves. Brought 3 there, and it was the most talked about item on the buffet table. Over 100 people there. Can't thank you enough for sharing this recipe. :) 12/30/09 - This recipe made it into our Book #242923! 11/18/09 - Awesome. I had a request (from a friend of Bird's) to make a Challah bread. Though I've never tasted one before, Bird has had Challah many times. Upon tasting this one, her words for your recipe: "This is the best Challah I've ever had!" I loved it as well; though I've nothing to compare it for authenticity. The recipe was quite easy to read. I made 1 loaf with exactly 1/2 ingredients. The only thing I would change next time is to increase my rise time just a little. I did use honey and the recipe was not overly sweet as anticipated (Bird's biggest complaint about Challah bread). Thank you very much for posting this wonderfully delicious bread. Recommended by Chef #383346 in TYM tag game. ~Buddha

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu September 05, 2011

Very easy and yummy! I will definitely make this again. I usually use this as french toast bread once it's cooked but I am thinking of using the dough to make cinnamon rolls or sticky buns. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Capsaicin Jen December 07, 2010

beautiful and delicious! I will try to post pictures...the loaves were so pretty, I had to take them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms.KittyBiddles November 29, 2010

Beautiful loaf of bread! It was so delicious! It was also my first time attempting to make a challah, so I was a little concerned. Thank you so much for the clear instructions, it really helped. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ObsessiveCompulsiveBaker October 24, 2010

I've grown up eating challah, and this recipe made a good bread recipe, but it didn't really taste like challah. That being said, the dough was easy to make and great to work with and braid. I would make this again as a bread recipe, but not for challah, hence the 4 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma October 12, 2008

This is very, very good. I only made a 1/2 recipe for one big loaf. The only change I made in the recipe is that since I had medium sized eggs instead of large eggs I used 2 eggs instead of the 1 1/2 egg amount which would have been exactly 1/2 of the recipe. Originally I thought I would just make a long loaf similar to the shape of french bread but the last minute changed my mind and divided the dough into 3 long logs and braided them together. This was the first time I had ever made Challah or for that matter eaten any of it either. It is very Good! My DH has been back at least 3 times for an extra slice! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ September 30, 2008

I wanted only 1 loaf so I change the serving to 0.6 and that way I got the perfect measures with 1 egg. I tried until it gave me 1 egg LOL For the flour it was 2 1/8 cup or 2 1/2 cup. I used 2 1/2 cup. I put all the ingredients in my bread machine : water, salt, oil, honey, egg, flour, yeast. At the end of the cycle, I removed it and on a lightly floured surface, I divided my ball in 3 sections. And made a braid. I think this is one of the best bread I made. I love challah bread. I took a slice and it was moist. Not too sweet. It has a very good taste. Thanks Susiecat. Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 21, 2008

Very good! This was my first attempt in braiding dough....not that hard but I hope to get better (as you can see from my picture). Thanks for sharing. Made for 1-2-3 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff September 02, 2008
Challah