Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chai Tea Gift Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chai Tea Gift Mix

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2003

      Ok Sarafish, I thought I had reviewed this back in December, but I guess I forgot. I made this to give away as gifts, and to keep in my house. I am on my second batch, I have it at least once a day. This is the closest that I have come to the stuff you buy at the store premade. The only thing different I added was a pinch of powdered ginger. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      A delicious and very easy gift mix. Great taste. I did put all ingredients in food processor and blended to a fine powder (so you coudn't see the powdered milk). Thanks for a very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      I made the recipe as is only I left out the powdered sugar. I also used fat free French Vanilla flavored coffee creamer. After tasting it I thought it was too sweet and it had too much spice taste to it so I added another 1/4 cup of tea and 1/2 cup of powdered milk to the mixture and it tasted better to me. If you like really sweet stuff... make the recipe as is.. if not, adding the extra tea and powdered milk helped to cut down on that sweetness. I would certainly add a jar of this to a home-made gift basket. Thanks for the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I can't rate for taste, as I'm not a Chai Tea person, but I can rate on a super duper cute and super duper easy recipe! :) I made this for gift giving this season. My only complaint is it did not make as muc as I wanted to fill my little container, and I made FOUR times this recipe. But it is cute and smells good. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      I'm sorry but this recipe didn't work for me...the tea flavor wasn't strong enough against all the milk in it. I had to add extra tea to make it stronger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Sarah, this is GREAT! I was thinking of making these for Christmas gifts for the office and I just had to give them a try ahead of time! I followed your directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing! And they are good iced too! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      I made this just as the recipe directed -- it was awesome! And not too high in calories. Portion wise this is great! Thanks for posting/1

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Love Love this gift idea. Made some for myself and will make my mom a jar and put it in her stocking! Thanks for posting Sarafish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      the best...used splenda for the sugar came out wounderful..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

    • on December 30, 2004

      I have to admit, I was pretty disappointed in this recipe. I had a delicious Chai at Borders Cafe yesterday, which the girl said was made by adding hot water to a mix made with non-dairy creamer. I quickly looked for similar sounding recipes and decided to try this one, but I thought it came out very blah, even when I added a bunch of extra mix to my mug. Not at all like the creamy stuff at Borders. I guess I'll have to keep trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      This was just ok for me. I used nonfat creamer and decafinated tea. I needed to add extra powdered tea to strengthen up the tea flavor. What I really didn't like was the spices all sank to the bottom of the cup creating a spice "mud" that I found unapealing. Tried the whizzing in the blender as someone suggested, both in dry form and after adding the water, but it didn't help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      Originally gave this recipe a four star review because I thought it should be given a whizz in the blender... Well.. it probably should be whizzed in the blender but that didn't keep me from scarffing down almost the whole batch w/in 2 weeks. Gift mix my eye... I'm keeping it allllll for me !! (Maybe I'll give away some away next time...=) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I added nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon and cloves. For an even creamier texture I make mine with hot milk. This comes very close to what I buy at Trader Joes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      This is delicious, I made it for holiday gifts and kept a jar for my family because it was so good. Nice gift. Great chai. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I like to thank you for posting this recipe.I have to friends who buy chai tea,so I made them as gifts and they loved it,it is very close to what they buy.Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I made a batch of this exactly as printed and sampled it...thought it was a tad to spicy. I made a second batch following luvmybge's suggestions...thought it was a tad to dull. I made another batch exactly as stated and combined all 3 batches into one. Somehow, it was perfect. I also ran this through the blender in order to produce a finer blend that completely dissolves in the hot water. I plan on giving this as Christmas gifts to a few friends. Thanks for the recipe...I won't mess with it next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      This is YUMMY and every bit as good as the expensive mixes found in the coffee shops. Several of my friends will be getting a small jar of this mix with their holiday gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I made a quadruple batch of this. The only change I made was using NUTMEG instead of the cardamom (because I don't have any!) It still turned out delicious! I have 3 pairs of matching tins (one small and one medium-sized), and I'll be putting the chai mix in the small tin and tie it with ribbon to the top of the larger, cookie-filled tin. Thanks for the unique gift idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chai Tea Gift Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    16%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 82.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    powdered vanilla coffee creamer

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites