14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a wonderful, flavorful chai recipe-great blend of spices that smelled and tasted heavenly!I made this for Best of 2010 cookbook tag-thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee February 05, 2011

Fabulous chai, well worth the effort. The only spice I had to leave out was the anise seed. I used to live in staff accomm with many Indian friends. Someone smuggled in a hot plate and they used to make chai using this method. I have made it many times this way since then, but never using this many ingredients, and what a difference, this hits all the right notes. Thanks Cookgirl! A definite highlight of ZWT6!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 26, 2010

Mmmm, this was so so nice. The flavors of all the spices can be picked out one by one with every sip you take, is just wonderful I used Assam tea bags, as they are my all time favourite. I didn't have saffron, and I used filtered water, I sweetened it with raw cane sugar. It's worth making for the aroma it fills your kitchen alone, but sitting sipping this and relaxing is just heavenly. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny May 30, 2010

FANTASTIC. I love chai and had no idea how much better this would be than what I already had. New favorite!!! Thank you for posting it. ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio May 26, 2010

An easy and aromatic morning drink. Especially if you have access to fresh bulk spices, this is a nice dress-up for plain old black tea. I used my usual tea leaf strainer, which left the liquid a little gritty, so I would use a coffee filter next time. I think you could probably mix up the tea and spices ahead of time, and just brew it in the morning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady May 23, 2010

This chai has taken over first place in the tons of chai recipes I have tried. I used bottled spring water as I hate our chemical-y tap water. For the milk I used freshly made today Almond Milk (Almond Drink Base) for the milk to be dairy free. I was afraid the black tea for which I used English breakfast would come through too strong but it was spot on. I crushed the cardamom pods and seeds with the side of a large knife. I did not have vanilla pod but I did use a vanilla paste which is alcohol free and very good quality in a small amount after simmering instead. I had to leave out the anise seeds because I didn't have any but I used nice full big star anise. I did not include nutmeg because we don't consume intoxicants even in small quantities, so I substituted allspice in it's place. I sweetened it with unpasteurised local cream honey. I will be making this as my only Indian chai from now on! ( Well I don't promise but I mean I know it will be my favorite;) ) Made for ZWT6 Asian region for my team The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 22, 2010

A wonderful recipe for chai. The spicing is so good and the house smelled divine as I was brewing it. I think I will take another reviewer's advice and make more and keep refrigerated. A must-try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 22, 2010

What a great complex mix of flavors! The only thing I didn't have was the saffron threads, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks! :) Made by a fellow Looney Spoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 20, 2010

I love this recipe! I quadruple it, make it weekly, and keep it in the fridge. Every morning I look forward to heating my cup-o-Chai in the microwave and all the wonderful flavors that float across my palette! This is divine and has me spoiled... no more Chai tea bags or boxed Chai.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen's Creative Kitch. January 09, 2010

I got home about 45 mins ago from a full day of major shopping. The first thing I did was to start this tea. It simmered while I tried feverishly to get everything put away. I didn't manage to make it all vanish to their own places by the time the tea was ready. The remaining things didn't need to go into the fridge so I decided that it was a fine time to take a tea break. I'm very happy with the Darjeeling and the wonderful mingled spices, none of which I would change or alter. I made a 1/2 amount and filled a mug that holds about 1 1/4 cup and when that was empty I refilled with what was left. I may not need dinner tonight buy I have a new favorite tea,. Oh. and I used Silk almond milk. Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 16, 2015
Chai Tea from Scratch