11 Reviews

I made these non-gluten free about 10 times now, and they are delicious! I play around with the amount of spice each time, depending on how I'm feeling, and have yet to find the place where I have too much cinnamon and ginger. ;)

I do have to add a splash of milk to make the dough workable, perhaps because I'm living in a pretty dry client.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulGirl April 13, 2011

Yum! I found these a melt in my mouth kind of treat. I love the blend of the chai-like flavors. and truly loved how easy they are to make! Unfortunately, I must share with others. Thanks for posting this recipe. I'll be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 January 20, 2011

These are heavenly! Made gluten free and used erythritol instead of sugar and they were so fragrant. Will definitely make them again! Thanks for posting!
Made for National Diabetes Month.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany December 01, 2010

Who knew that finding ground Cardamom is hard? I finally found some but they were not ground. It's like crunchy potent bites of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica December 14, 2014

This recipe was a big hit! I made them with Bob's Red Mill GF All-Purpose Flour and they turned out really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
withaneff February 11, 2014

What a treat!! Loved the flavor of the chai tea spices within the cookies - really great spicy taste (not hot spicy but cinnamon-y goodness spicy !) I made with the normal all-purpose flour and they worked great! They have a nice texture - I did not find them crumbly at all. The powdered sugar was a nice touch but I did make some without rolling in the sugar too so I could dunk them in my coffee without having leftover sugar floating in my coffee! Perfect for a crisp fall afternoon treat! Congrats on your win in the Football Pool Week #2. (edited to add the stars back to my review Jan'11)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 19, 2011

really good flavour!! I only made 10 cookies with this though. For gluten free I gave it the extra star-otherwise I would say 4 stars I used bob mills all- purpose gluten free . I must admit I put a little egg replacement in it too.I will def make again The spice mixture was amazing.It was a great cup of tea dunker!!!!!!!! The children devoured them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cardamomstars January 19, 2011

These were amazing! I made these on my day off y'day and really enjoyed. It only made 15 cookies for me. The dough was really stick but not too bad to work with. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 January 18, 2011

Mmmmmmmm! I made these gluten-free for a work friend with celiac and after tasting, I'm going to have to make more tomorrow (regular this time) for two more work friends that are not celiac :) They are so tasty! I used salted butter (didn't have any unsalted) and did not change anything else. I ended up with 25 cookies and baked them for 14 minutes. Thanks for sharing FN! - Dec 18, 2010. Update: I just finished making a double batch of these with regular flour - I must have made them slightly larger this time as I ended up with only 44. I baked for 15 minutes this time. They are just as yummy with regular flour as with gluten-free! Thanks again FN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 14, 2011

I made these with gluten-free flour and they were just okay. Not sure how they taste with regular flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexsummer123 December 29, 2010
Chai-Spice Cookies -- Gluten-Free or Regular