12 Reviews

Nice. I did use whole cardamom pods which I bruised but I didn't taste them much. Maybe it should be cardamom seeds in the same amount or even ground cardamom? I simmered Lipton Orange pekoe, Yellow Label tea bags less time as I would find it too strong for the full amount stated, I did simmer the spices in the tea for the full 10 minutes though. I used homemade almond milk to make this dairy free. Made for ZWT7 Africa, for my team, Food.Commandos

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 27, 2011

Chai lovers! This is a very easy and delicious to make your favorite drink at home. With the ability to control the sugar you add, this is a great recipe. Just the right amount of caramom. It's sweet, creamy and yummy. I'll be making my chai at home more often now that I know how easy it is. Thanks for posting, Jean!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendelina May 27, 2011

Very good. I cut the recipe in half and used a heaping measuring spoon of the cardamom because I love it. Added a bit of coarse black pepper to this while it simmered to give it a bit of the kick I like, as well as the changes I made to cut back on carbs, such as plain soy milk and Splenda rather than sugar. I'll make this again, but probably cut it back to a quarter recipe for just myself, or make it when there are other Chai drinkers in the house. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 16, 2013

It was my first time trying a chai tea and I loved it. I made it twice in 3 days. First time with sugar, and yesterday with splenda. I'll use splenda from now on. I used ground cardamom that I put in the small ball with the black tea leaves. I used 1% milk. It's delicious. Thanks Chef Jean :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 21, 2012

I think this is a recipe brought form the Indian settlers in Africa.
I've placed tea, cinnamon and cardamom in a paper teabag. In this way it was easier to boil them and I did not have to strain them. This is very convenient for me as the tea I used is almost a powder. The long boiling time is necessary to extract the flavor from the spices.
It turned out great and we enjoyed it with UmmBinat's #440139. Thanks a lot for offering this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde March 14, 2012

I'm so glad that I tagged this :D. I've made it twice now and am sipping on my tea as I type. This is wonderful. I used Darjeeling tea, Splenda and skim milk. The spice amount isn't too strong and all things play beautifully together. Thanks so much Jean for this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 22, 2012

This was is so good! My 8 year old and I gave it 5 stars, and my 10 year old and my hubby gave it 3 stars, so we settled on 4 stars for the overall rating! I did make it diet friendly by using skim milk and Equalaftificial sweetener. I enjoyed the spices, very soothing, especially nice for my Springtime head cold! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 September 05, 2011

Great Chai! I used Splenda (1/4 cup). Easy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here July 17, 2011

According to my wife and daughter this delicious. They are the Chai tea drinkers, I'm not. So on their recommendation this gets 5 stars. Daughter says I can make this again, I gave her the recipe!! Made for ZWT7 and the Saucy Silverados.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim June 08, 2011

I'm a huge chai fan. this is delicious! i used whole cardamom that i bruised & 4 cinnamon sticks. I fought the urge to add a vanilla bean. ;) i used 1/4c sugar which made it sweet enough for me. i strained it directly into a pitcher & put it in the fridge! thank you! made for zwt7, Emerald City Shakers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 08, 2011
Chai, African Tea