Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chai, African Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chai, African Tea

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      Nice. I did use whole cardamom pods which I bruised but I didn't taste them much. Maybe it should be cardamom seeds in the same amount or even ground cardamom? I simmered Lipton Orange pekoe, Yellow Label tea bags less time as I would find it too strong for the full amount stated, I did simmer the spices in the tea for the full 10 minutes though. I used homemade almond milk to make this dairy free. Made for ZWT7 Africa, for my team, Food.Commandos

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Chai lovers! This is a very easy and delicious to make your favorite drink at home. With the ability to control the sugar you add, this is a great recipe. Just the right amount of caramom. It's sweet, creamy and yummy. I'll be making my chai at home more often now that I know how easy it is. Thanks for posting, Jean!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Very good. I cut the recipe in half and used a heaping measuring spoon of the cardamom because I love it. Added a bit of coarse black pepper to this while it simmered to give it a bit of the kick I like, as well as the changes I made to cut back on carbs, such as plain soy milk and Splenda rather than sugar. I'll make this again, but probably cut it back to a quarter recipe for just myself, or make it when there are other Chai drinkers in the house. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      It was my first time trying a chai tea and I loved it. I made it twice in 3 days. First time with sugar, and yesterday with splenda. I'll use splenda from now on. I used ground cardamom that I put in the small ball with the black tea leaves. I used 1% milk. It's delicious. Thanks Chef Jean :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I think this is a recipe brought form the Indian settlers in Africa.
      I've placed tea, cinnamon and cardamom in a paper teabag. In this way it was easier to boil them and I did not have to strain them. This is very convenient for me as the tea I used is almost a powder. The long boiling time is necessary to extract the flavor from the spices.
      It turned out great and we enjoyed it with UmmBinat's #440139. Thanks a lot for offering this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I'm so glad that I tagged this :D. I've made it twice now and am sipping on my tea as I type. This is wonderful. I used Darjeeling tea, Splenda and skim milk. The spice amount isn't too strong and all things play beautifully together. Thanks so much Jean for this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      This was is so good! My 8 year old and I gave it 5 stars, and my 10 year old and my hubby gave it 3 stars, so we settled on 4 stars for the overall rating! I did make it diet friendly by using skim milk and Equalaftificial sweetener. I enjoyed the spices, very soothing, especially nice for my Springtime head cold! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Great Chai! I used Splenda (1/4 cup). Easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      According to my wife and daughter this delicious. They are the Chai tea drinkers, I'm not. So on their recommendation this gets 5 stars. Daughter says I can make this again, I gave her the recipe!! Made for ZWT7 and the Saucy Silverados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I'm a huge chai fan. this is delicious! i used whole cardamom that i bruised & 4 cinnamon sticks. I fought the urge to add a vanilla bean. ;) i used 1/4c sugar which made it sweet enough for me. i strained it directly into a pitcher & put it in the fridge! thank you! made for zwt7, Emerald City Shakers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      How delightful to be able to make my own Chai Tea and control the sugar amounts than to purchase store bought. This is creamy and flavorful. I used Lipton Green tea ( ihad this on hand), ground cardomon, evaporated milk, and splenda. Very tasty and will be made often. I did reduce to 2 servings as Dh is not a tea drinker but passed along this recipe to a friend who only drinks Chai Tea. She also said THANK YOU as she loves it! Simple to put together and the flavors make you feel sweet relaxation. Mde for Shady Ladies ZWT 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      Easy and tasty! I enjoyed the cinnamon and cardamom flavors. I use rice milk. Thank you Jean! Made for the Zaar World Tour by a Food.Commando!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chai, African Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.5
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    36%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 48.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black tea leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites