114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Scrumptious and much healthier than the coffee cake I made on the weekend! I cheated with grating the carrots, just chopped them up and dumped them in the mini food processor set to grind. I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice -- I imagine it's probably about the same. I used honey, buttermilk and applesauce. These made exactly 18 muffins and took exactly 15 minutes to cook. I could barely wait for them to cool to eat one. Yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 April 21, 2010

I just inhaled two of these, warm from the oven. So so good. I used gluten free flour, brown sugar Splenda, sour cream (instead of buttermilk), melted margarine, and dried cranberries (instead of raisins). This made 12 rounded muffins for me that were done after 18 minutes. They were moist without being goopy. I'd love to try this in a loaf pan as a quick bread - mostly so that there will be more surface area for me to slather butter on a warm slice. Thank you for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway February 11, 2011

Left out the raisins and they were still really delicious! Always looking for new things to make for breakfast, and this one was a winner with us!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annchase60 June 12, 2010

*oHmIgOd* . . . This is THE muffin recipe of choice! The ONLY thing I did was doubling the recipe. Worked like a dream! These are hands down THE single best muffins I've made in a long time and I've been looking for a good one to make forever it seems. They top my list and I'll be making them regularly! Note - the trick really is in mixing the dough JUST until it's all moistened. The texture was perfect, which has always been a prob. Thanks HUGE for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggen May 07, 2010

Quite tasty and very healthy. I used the brown sugar/oil/yogurt option, no raisins, and added some ground flax to the batter for health and tenderness. Since I don't have a smaller muffin pan, I made 12 small muffins (which were still not very big). This took 17 minutes to bake. Next time I think I will increase the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, or try the honey option

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny March 12, 2010

Tasty muffins! Made to bring for clinic this morning. Definitely took more than 10 minute prep b/c grating the carrots should probably be included in the prep time...Used half wheat/half white flour, used up some yogurt and sour cream and used the applesauce and brown sugar option. Left out raisins since we don't like them. Quite tasty and a healthier option than the doughnuts! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 06, 2010

these were disappointing...i followed the recipe exactly (just omitted the nuts and raisins due to allergies) and it tasted bland....it had that "health food taste"...i wont be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elana in New York January 09, 2012

Maybe we just don't like the healthy stuff. This tasted really bland. The kids won't eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes September 06, 2011

Yum! I didn't have enough raisins so i added a bit more sugar and doubled the vanilla. I used banana whole milk yogurt; half honey/brown sugar, and applesauce. Everyone loved them... even my "anti whole grain" mom.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan Michelle August 18, 2011

These were GREAT! Easy to adjust to your preferences and keep healthy. My 20 month just ate 3 mini muffins in a blink. Always looking for healthy muffin recipes for the family - THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neely_c March 31, 2011
Cha-ching! Carrot Spice Muffins