17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my kind of recipe-simple and delicious. I poured the batter in a cast iron skillet, and in 45 minutes at 350, it turned out wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Bob March 27, 2004

Excellent! This was a very different sort of soda bread altogether-it cooks in a large pan, cuts into squares, and it puffier and sweeter than the type I usually have eaten. We loved this recipe and will make it again often. Note: I assumed that the margarine should be melted and slightly cooled first in order for it to mix properly ino the batter and this worked out fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 22, 2003

Excellent!!! I have made this for the last three years for St.Patrick's Day. My mother in law ways takes some of the leftovers. But it does not last long! I have even converted to gluten free for my daughter. Still great! Will keep this recipe forever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yacookindog September 09, 2013

A winner! Have been making this for years. Easy and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oreosherriden March 17, 2012

I really enjoyed this version of Irish soda bread! So simple to make; mine baked in 45 minutes and had a nice crust on top with a nice tender inside. This was a bit sweeter than I've had before but I liked it that way :) Cut into small squares to serve and everyone enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof March 16, 2012

Wow!! This bread was so good, and so easy. It got rave reviews from my family. The leftovers even heat up for a good midnight snack!!! This was the perfect addition to my St. Patrick's Day dinner!! Thank you for adding the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NebraskaRN March 19, 2009

Good stuff! The wife said it was the best bread I ever made. As I only had about 8 or 10 ounces of sour cream, I added an 8oucne package of cream cheese to the batter. Took ten minutes longer but was hard outside and soft inside. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tugar357 March 16, 2008

This bread is similar to cornbread. It is moist and sweet. The kids enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 18, 2008

I really like this recipe, because it comes out CAKEY AND MOIST, not hard and chewy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacklyn Modery April 18, 2007

We enjoyed this bread. It's batter is more like cornbread batter and cooks like it. Thus we cut it into squares like we would cornbread. It was more moist and sweet than most other Irish soda breads I have tasted. I replaced part of the raisins with dried cranberries. It was easy. Thank you for a good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W September 20, 2006
Ceta's Irish Soda Bread