Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ceta's Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ceta's Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2004

      This is my kind of recipe-simple and delicious. I poured the batter in a cast iron skillet, and in 45 minutes at 350, it turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      Excellent! This was a very different sort of soda bread altogether-it cooks in a large pan, cuts into squares, and it puffier and sweeter than the type I usually have eaten. We loved this recipe and will make it again often. Note: I assumed that the margarine should be melted and slightly cooled first in order for it to mix properly ino the batter and this worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Excellent!!! I have made this for the last three years for St.Patrick's Day. My mother in law ways takes some of the leftovers. But it does not last long! I have even converted to gluten free for my daughter. Still great! Will keep this recipe forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      A winner! Have been making this for years. Easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      I really enjoyed this version of Irish soda bread! So simple to make; mine baked in 45 minutes and had a nice crust on top with a nice tender inside. This was a bit sweeter than I've had before but I liked it that way :) Cut into small squares to serve and everyone enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wow!! This bread was so good, and so easy. It got rave reviews from my family. The leftovers even heat up for a good midnight snack!!! This was the perfect addition to my St. Patrick's Day dinner!! Thank you for adding the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Good stuff! The wife said it was the best bread I ever made. As I only had about 8 or 10 ounces of sour cream, I added an 8oucne package of cream cheese to the batter. Took ten minutes longer but was hard outside and soft inside. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This bread is similar to cornbread. It is moist and sweet. The kids enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I really like this recipe, because it comes out CAKEY AND MOIST, not hard and chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      We enjoyed this bread. It's batter is more like cornbread batter and cooks like it. Thus we cut it into squares like we would cornbread. It was more moist and sweet than most other Irish soda breads I have tasted. I replaced part of the raisins with dried cranberries. It was easy. Thank you for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I have been making this Irish Brad for a while now and it'S the only one I will make. Every ST.Patrick's Day I will make a mini Loaf for everyone I work with. Just this past Friday, I made 24 loaves of Irish Bread and everyone Loved IT.Thanks for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was delicious! I made this for our family's St. Patrick's Day dinner. Everyone loved it! It is tasty and moist and puffs up so nicely. A perfect quick bread! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      I made this for my child's school International Food Festival, being that we had the country Ireland. It was EXCELLENT IRISH SODA BREAD!(unlike the usual dry soda bread) The raisins added just enough sweetness, everyone thought it was a CAKE since I baked it for about 50 minutes at 350 deg.in an electric oven, in a 9x13 inch aluminum pan. I kept a constant watch on it after 45 minutes in oven, as it started to brown and I didn't want the appearance to look burned~so just watch out as I think 60 minutes is way too long and will burn. This went fast and was liked by everyone! Thanks for posting an EXCELLENT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I enjoyed the ease of this recipe and the texture of the bread as well. Not as dry as others I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      recipe was very easy to make. the bread came out delicious. i made it for 20 other people and they also thought it was the best soda bread they ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      I made this to go with our corned beef and cabbage last night. The flavor and texture was outstanding but I had trouble with it cooking properly. I cooked it at 350 deg. for 45 min in a cast iron skillet but when I inverted it onto a plate, the middle was not even close to being done even though when I tested it with a toothpick it apppeared to be done. So I cut out the middle and we ate the outer edges. I think I will try a scone pan next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I make soda bread all the time and I just loved how fluffy this turned out! Great flavor and texture. I've never melted the margarine before, I usually crumble it in. So, that was different for me. And my grocery store was out of buttermilk. I was going to do the milk & vinegar, but in the baking section, I found dried buttermilk - you add water. I followed the directions and I was very happy with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ceta's Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    10%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 32.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 498.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites