10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I prefer this cole slaw over the creamy type for two reasons. It has a sharp, sweet and tangy flavor and absolutely no fat! I added another half teaspoon of celery seed - because I just love the stuff and used raspberry vinegar. Excellent!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! July 07, 2002

Thank-you Inez for posting this recipe. I have been searching for this coleslaw recipe for years. I made this earlier in the day, and had it later for supper, it was still good and crisp. My husband really liked this too. I wish I could give you more than 5 stars for this recipe. "It's an all-star salad"!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess December 03, 2002

Mizznezz,two people I go to when I want a really best-outstanding recipe ,one is mandabears and the other is you.This recipe is so like julia childs and is so great,if I could give you a blue ribbbon ,i would.There is no heaviness or wilting here because of no heavy mayo,celery seeds is a must,and your measurements are impeccable,if there was a prize for the perfect cole slaw,you win it hands down.Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARTERWIFE July 25, 2007

Loved this! I have a penchant for sweet and sour salads, plus I had two cabbage halves in fridge (one red, one green), plus a few carrots and had recently purchased apple cider vinegar so this was perfect to make! I didn't have any celery seed but I did have celery salt so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of celery salt and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder instead. Extremely low in fat, flavorful and packed with vitamins A & C! Lovely recipe, thanks MizzNezz. P.S. used 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup sugar to cut back a bit on the sugar calories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 06, 2005

Very good cole slaw! I did add more celery seed because I really like the taste. A nice change from the creamy version and lowfat with some tang too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 30, 2005

Quick and easy but I thought I may have used too much vinegar for our taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 13, 2003

Very nice flavour. Sweet and tangy! I prefer this BY FAR to my usual recipe (made with regular vinegar, oil and sugar), but unfortunately my husband did not agree... so I'll compromise and give 4 stars instead of 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner April 21, 2003

Quick and easy, way better than the mayo kind. For personal preferences I left the sugar out; we like it tangy. Like others, I thought the celery seed was a star ingredient in this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 18, 2014

DH loves coleslaw and said this reminded him of the ones his grandmother used to make. This was our side for dinner tonight. Loved the ease and quickness of the preparation. The flavor is nice but there is A LOT of dressing and it is very soupy at the bottom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky January 08, 2010

oh.my.goodness. so wonderful, thank you so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow October 24, 2007
Celery Seed Coleslaw