Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Celery Cream Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Celery Cream Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2007

      Lovely recipe! I've made it twice and everyone's loved it, even the non-celery lovers. The second time I made it, the brand-new carton of cream I bought was lumpy (dontcha hate that!) so I used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese (cubed)and just made sure it was all melted before I served. OMG! It was fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I made half portion today. Also added 2 carrots. For me personally, the soup would be better with milk instead of cream and then with grated strong cheddar on top. I use Scottish seriously mature white cheddar cheese. If you want to make it light, then - milk (maybe even skimmed) and no cheese. Thanks for the recipe, I was looking for a way to eat more celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      WOW! This is a great soup. I followed closely. Substituted where I needed to. I did not have 2 onions so I made up for it with more garlic. I happened to have had homemade chicken stalk, so that was a bonus. Another change I made to keep my low calorie low fat diet was to use no cream, but to add 1/2 cup fat free milk and then in the simmering stage I slowly stirred in 1/2 nonfat sour cream. I'm telling you'all this was the creamest dish I have allowed myself to have as much as I wanted. It turned out to be a go to vegetable for several days. I have a handheld blender thing that I used to blend in the pot, and mine looks just like the picture "Parsley" posted. Thank you. My Best Friends like it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Excellent. I added two cardoon stalks, two new potatoes, added a little thyme, left out the flour and used 2% milk instead of cream. Turned out great! We will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Very nice. I will use this recipe when I have a bunch of celery on hand. You wouldn't believe how much celery goes bad at our house. Now I have the perfect fix for that. We ate about half of this recipe and I froze 3 small containers for lunch or dinner later in the month. Next time, I would add some red pepper flakes because we like it hot. Thanks again, Lorac.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was really really good.I made Celery soup before and was not impessed. I did add 2 carrots(cleaning out my crisper.). I'm so happy I found your recipe. Loved it and will make it again;I added some Old Bay seasoning. Thanks for posting. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I was looking forward to it but was very disappointed. I found it very very bland - and that was before adding the cream. If I wanted to try again I would only put one onion, more celery, less stock and try to concentrate the flavour a bit more. Also definitely strain as it was indeed stringy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      Really not impressed. Considering the rating other people gave it, I was expecting a lot more. I did it twice, and the first time I assumed I made a mistake. So I redid it while following the recipe to the letter. Nope, still the same problem, it's a celery soup that tastes like chicken. Six cup of chicken broth? It would make anything taste like chicken. I guess that if you like your vegetables to taste like chicken, it's the recipe for you. As for me, I like my vegetable to taste like vegetable. I can understand how someone who doesn't like celery would like this soup, no one could guess there's celery in there. Even by adding a ton of pepper... nope; chicken. It's not a "bad" soup, only if a restaurant served me that, I wouldn't go there again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Really good. I've made this several times now as a way to use up my celery before it wilts. I've "bent" the recipe a bit because the butter cream were a bit too heavy, so I use instead olive oil and plain yoghurt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Amazing recipe! We loved Campbell's cream of celery soup but topped eating it because of how unhealthy it us. This recipe is even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This was excellent! I did change it a bit though. I didn't want all the fat from the cream, so I used a can of fat free condensed milk (undiluted). Also sub'd the bay leaf for a half bunch of fresh chopped dill (goes so nice with lemon & celery). Also, no hot sauce & added some cubed celery before simmering for last 5 mins. Even the kids loved it, so it's a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Wow! This is a tasty and fresh-tasting soup! I used 1 1/2 lbs of celery and included some leaves right in the soup. The addition of the lemon juice at the end makes the flavor really pop! I'll certainly make this again. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      This was delightfully warm and yummy on a cold winter's night. Very easy to prepare, and tasted wonderful even before we added the cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Not wonderful to me, but I'd never tried a celery soup before so I really have nothing to compare it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This is a surprisingly delicious soup! The hot sauce gives it the little extra zip that it needs. I didn't have chicken broth so I used vegetable broth, and I only put 4 cups in. It still gave a great taste and perfect consistency (not too thick or thin). I will be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I really liked the soup I made like you said but I think next time I will strain the soup before adding the cream and lemon juice. It was a great flavor but a little to stringy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Really tasty, easy to make soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This is an excellent...restaurant quality...soup. I added horseradish instead of garlic and I also added chopped carrot and dried parsley. Delicious! Thank you...for contributing to my collection of fabulous recipes. Sincerely, Sherry Belle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I thought I had already rated this soup - my mistake! I guess I was in a trance after having this for supper. This soup is excellent. I love the fact that if you want to spice it up a little you can. I like it just as it is - thank you for the recipe, Lorac

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Celery Cream Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (462 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.9
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    70%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 69.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 906.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites