9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent soup,very tasty,I purchased 1 celeriac which was not enough to make a creamy soup, so added 2 potatoes (diced) and then blended - the result was a great tasting soup, I used a whole red pepper, we like it hot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada October 24, 2003

This recipe should have won that contest (how did it do, BTW?). I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, and substituted cream for the milk. I've been growing my own coriander hand added a healthy handful. I also used a Moroccan hot pepper, scraping the seeds so the soup wasn't that "hot", more mellow. I love the different flavors of the celeriac and the coriander and the chili pepper, this is a great soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj September 22, 2003

i liked it, i definitely think that a roasted aneheim chili would be the better way to go flavor wise. next time that's what i'll do. DH did not care for it, but he wasn't sure why. yeah, that's what i deal with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenessa January 16, 2010

Awesome! I used coriander seed and veggie broth and it was still terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathleengp@windstream.net October 31, 2009

Yummy! This soup is great and has the benefit of being good for you too. Tastes hearty but is rather light. I used all chicken broth, half and half for the milk, and dried pepper for the fresh. I also agreed with one reviewer who suggested a little acid to round it out and I squeezed a little lemon juice on top. This took no time to prepare and is delish! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peacefulone March 03, 2009

This soup has a lovely texture, and is an excellent way to use up left-over celeriac. Tasted "nice" but I couldn't help feeling as I was eating it that it was missing something to brighten the flavor- don't know what, however. Something slightly acidic ? Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx February 24, 2009

This is an excellent soup for a cool fall supper. I used a jalapeno pepper instead of the red chile since that's what I had. I didn't remove any of the seeds but we like things a bit on the spicy side. I used a potato along with the celeriac since I didn't have quite enough and 4 cups of chicken broth to use up the box. I served it with cornbread. My husband loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edith T September 30, 2008

Really delicious. I added some single cream and sliced ham to make a substantial meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m0401614 January 21, 2007
Celeriac Soup with Coriander and Chilli