7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Spicy, delicious, and decadent! DH and I had this for dinner last night and halved the recipe for just the two of us with great results. We used a combination of wild mushrooms (oyster, shiitake, cremini), which were very tasty in the dish. The garlic and green onion proportions were perfect. I might even scale back on the cayenne next time (did I just say that???). I like my dishes pretty spicy and I found this to be a little hot. I know from experience, however, that I will never be disappointed by bland food in one of your recipes, cookiedog! Thanks for the great recipe. We will be making this again! Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny July 01, 2008

Holy Cayenne, Batman! This is spicy but oh so yummy! My lips are still feeling the heat and this recipe is EXCELLENT!!! I love the garlic and mushrooms paired with the creamy sauce and pasta. You've done it again, cd! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 March 15, 2008

Spicy and Fantastic, I made 2 weeks ago and my wife wants it again this week. I used mostacolli noodles instead and we love spicy so I dumped a little extra cayenne pepper with red pepper flakes.... EXCELLENT...QUICK AND EASY- 4/9/14-Another Mix on this awesome recipe to make it a little different and you can say it is something else-keep the family interested- I follow the recipe exactly -but I add fry 1/2 chopped red bell pepper in with the mushrooms and then when you get close to the end I throw in two jars of "Classico-Roasted Red Pepper Alfredo Sauce 15 oz.- and omit the pint of heavy whipping cream. Oh my gosh- WE can eat everything between 3 adults.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daddy'scookin April 09, 2014

I used a cajun blend seasoning instead of the cayan & salt. loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chugar63 April 28, 2010

Spicy and delicious. I had to leave out the mushrooms bc dh hates them. They would have been lovely in this dish. Love the heat and the garlic here. Perfect amounts! Thanks for a great recipe! *Made for ZWT 4 Italy*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 16, 2008

Hi cookiedog, how very delightful and spicy! Used red pepper flakes instead of the cayenne & added a few more mushrooms with the garlic and 2 chopped green onions - it was just marvelous!!! How I love cream sauces and this one is now on my list of favorites, I too omitted the salt - it wasn't necessary! Reviewed for "I Recommend ... A New Thread" from rickholic83's recommendation, Diane :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami June 05, 2008

I halved this recipe, which worked fine. I also left out the salt (personal taste) and fresh parsley (the supermarket was out of it) and added a bit of grated lemon zest. Don't worry about the amount of garlic, it's not overwhelming at all. This dish was not only very easy and quick to make (once the shrimp are deveined), but it's absolutely delicious. Very rich, though, not something I'd make on a regular basis with so much cream, but it would be great for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo December 05, 2006
Cayenne Shrimp Fettuccine